We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location and value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #162 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
birmingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great location and value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel was great, good location right in the centre. The room was basic but more then enough. The staff were very helpful with checking in/out and any enquiries. Recommend the bakery on the corner 20 seconds away, very tasty and ideal for quick breakfast. Perfect stay for a short budget break.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the reaction your wrote following your stay in our hotel.

I am glad to read you enjoyed your time in the city of Amsterdam.

hope seeing you again!

kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    787
    369
    126
    53
See reviews for
242
618
64
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Excellent location, good breakfast, major shopping streets nearby, aswell as all the major sights and museums. A little bit tired look in the furnishing, but clean and comfortable. We got brand new pillows during our stay, and the old ones were good too, beds were good to sleep. I'd ask canal side room next time. Lots of restaurants and cafes in the area, we did not take the breakfast in the hotel every day as there are options...if you are athlete, the buffet breakfast is the option to take, but if you prefer just a cup of coffee with a toast, look for a Café.

Room Tip: Canal side is more peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your reaction.

How nice to read that you enjoyed your time in Amsterdam and liked our hotel.

I sure hope to greet you as our guest in the future.

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fripp Island, South Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The hotel is in the perfect location for getting around Amsterdam and it sits on a very pretty canal. We could not have picked a better place to stay for our 3 day visit. Everyone was very helpful and made our visit very pleasant.

Room Tip: We chose the superior room facing the canal and it was a bit more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind reaction following your stay in NH City Centre.

I am happy to read that you had a great time in our city and you find NH City Centre the ideal hotel for a short break. I will pas your comment to the staff who are always happy to read comments like yours.

kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponoka, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

the bed was a bit hard for my liking. staff was exceptionally helpful. hotel is nicely located near lots of shopping and restaurants. room was cleaned everyday and had all the amenities provided in bathroom. WiFi worked sufficiently and was free. we had a room facing the canal and it did have a little noise from boats on the canal in the night time but it was manageable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for you reaction!

I am happy to read that you had a good time in our hotel.

Thank you very much for staying with us and I do hope to see you again in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked a superior room here at the last minute when our other pre booked accommodation didn't pan out.
We arrived at the hotel at 8am to leave our luggage, but we're told our room was ready, so we checked in straight away. We were thrilled (as we were going on almost no sleep)
The staff were super friendly and helped us out with everything from restaurant recommendations, tram line advice, where to find things etc.
Also, the breakfast is great, and had everything from bacon and eggs, yogurt, fruit to bread and pastries.
Only downside is that the internet was a bit slow in our room (it was great downstairs, and there was a lot of space down there to work so wasn't too much of a problem.)
We had a really nice stay.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review!

I really enjoy reading that you had such a great time in our hotel. Fortunately we were able to give you a room that early. Sometimes other guests check out early so we can clean the rooms for early arrivals.

I will pass on your comment regarding the breakfast to the teams involved. both in the kitchen and service. they will be happy to hear about your experience with our breakfast product.

thank you for the nice comments an I do hope to see you again in Amsterdam one day!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I was visiting Amsterdam university as a guest lecturer and stayed for one night. I had hopes that NH would be in between Ibis and Novotel, as the price indicates. This is luckily true. The bathroom has no bath, but it's comfortable for a quick shower. My annoyances mainly result from simple issues that could be improved at no cost if you respect your guests.

- Nr. 1. Standard internet is unusable (as in: 5 minutes struggle to get to your mailbox). You need to pay the premium only to get the speediness of a coffee bar or hostel. When I told this at the desk, no compensation was suggested.
- Your welcoming card is a warning you shouldn't use drugs and a card with all penalties you have to accept. That's a bit unrespectful towards travellers that do not come for the spices.
- I was asked to pay for an already paid booking, and the host did not mention my credit card would be used for charging the tourist tax.
- There was vinegar in the water cooker, which had not been rinsed.
- The host addressed me in English, only switching to Dutch (her mother tongue) after I had insisted twice.
- There weren't a lot of guests, yet the room offered was not on the riverside.
- The lighting in the room is not bright, so unsuitable for working.
- The flat screen television is of a bad make. They might as well take it away and improve wifi.

Because prices in Amsterdam are rather high and comfort is often bad, this hotel might be considered. It is well located between the railway station and the city center. It's not a particularly cozy or nice building, but some of us don't mind. The lack of hospitality however will keep me away from NH in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment!

I am sorry to read that there where some simple issues, as you call them, which were not up to standard.

The issue regarding the internet has been escalated to Swisscom, our internet provider, who will investigate what has happened in order to prevent issues from occuring again.

We indeed do use vinegar to clean our waterboilers from lime. Obviously it is necesary to rinse te boiler once it had been cleaned with vinegar, which was not done in this occasion.

NH is improving its products and I am happy to tell you that we are going to change all the TV sets in our rooms. New 40 inch LCD screens will be installed shortly in order for our guests to enjoy the ammusement sytem to a higher level as possible today.

I would like to offer my appologies for the "simple issues" which did not go well during your last visit. Also I would like to thank you for comments because they help us to get our service to a better level.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The NH Hotel is superbly situated close enough to be within walking distance of Dam Square and all it's bars yet far enough away to not suffer with late night noise. Staff were very friendly and english speaking and nothing was too much trouble for them.Rooms were clean and tidy and beds comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your reaction regarding your stay in NH City Centre Amsterdam.

I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to see you again in Amsterdam one day!

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #162 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.