We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid room 452 dreadful! No really!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #148 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Avoid room 452 dreadful! No really!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

As others have stated this was a hugely disappointing room. Really, disappointing 452 was wedge shaped. Nothing like the pictures, tiny window and vastly overpriced. I can't begin to imagine what it would be like on a hot day. Other rooms looked nice maybe they just pick on jet lagged North Americans for the crap rooms? Location is good if you are on vacation do not consider if on business - too loud. Whether for business or pleasure do not select the cheaper rooms unless you get a sub 79 Euro (June 2014) rate.

Room Tip: Find somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the time and effort taken to react on your stay in NH City Centre.

I would like to appologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay in our hotel and that you were not happy with the room we assigned for your. I would like to point out that we do not assign certain rooms to certain guest. Everybody is treated the same way, no matter origin, gender or lenght of stay.

I hope to meet you again in Amsterdam!

kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    636
    290
    97
    41
See reviews for
167
510
51
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I Was there for 9 nights June 2 to 11.....the room is beyond small...and so stuffy, hot and musty smelling that I had to wash my clothes twice when I returned home.
Housekeeping left a lot to be desired.....barely cleaned bathroom every day...I ended up cleaning the counters and sink myself......... our view was of the garbage they had piles up on the partial roof.....sucked!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
copdam, General Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, 5 weeks ago
Dear Lynn H,

I am very greatfull that you took the time to react on your stay at NH City Centre Amsterdam.

I regret that we could not fulfill your expectations and that you left unsatisfied, since guest experience is of our major interest.

As a follow up on your comments I have discussed this matter with our Housekeeping departement in order to prevent these incidents in the future.

Feel free to contact me in person if I can assist you in any kind.

regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed for one night on a hot and humid day in Amsterdam.

Room was very small on the corner of the second floor overlooking Spuistraat. There was no air conditioning and only the top third of the single window opened. However, the noise from the street below throughout the night made it impossible to sleep.

Shower was up a step in the bathroom, which was difficult to manoeuvre without slipping.

Room looked tired and scruffy as did the hotel in general.

Only thing going for the hotel was its central location, otherwise avoid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal, but you will be charged extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear cuillin2010,

thank you for your review of our hotel following your stay in NH City Centre in Amsterdam.

Obviously I am not happy to read your expereince as it was not a positive one. However, I am happy to be able to tell you that we are renovating approximately 50 rooms in our hotel. After the renovation I am sure the rooms will have a whole new and fresh look and feel again.

I hope meeting you again in Amsterdam!

Kind regards,

Rick van Schijndel
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Just come back from a 2 night stay here with my boyfriend. June 9th-June 11th. I found the hotel was in a good location, close to a little square with a number of bars and restaurants. The hotel was nice, i wouldn't say anything particularly special. The room we stayed in was very small and extremely hot in the fabulous weather we had. The heat of the room made it almost unbearable to sleep in as we did not have air conditioning.

I would recommend staying here in terms of location and close proximity to bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RickvanSchijndel, Manager at NH City Centre Amsterdam, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Katie,

Thank you for positing a comment about your stay in our hotel. I like the fact that you had a good time in Amsterdam and appreciated the location of our hotel.

I hope to see you again in Amsterdam and if I can help you with any further matters, please contact me directly.

Kind regards

Rick van Schijndel
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have spend there 5 nights. Location of the hotel is great, and all mayor tourist locations are not far away. For a 4 star hotel I expected a little bigger rooms. Problematic was also no conditioning in bathroom.

I was rather surprised to see employees regularly sitting on steps an smoking on second entrance to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MrHotel2315
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Wanted to have a central location hotel and found this to be just that. Did not expect a city centre to have a large room and that met our expectation. Very easy to get into town and was a simple taxi from the train station in. Modern designed room that I enjoyed!

Staff at the front desk were extremely helpful. All around enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lohja, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in a comfortable and clean room "with a view" (towards the Singel-canal). We booked (several months ago) and paid for a superior room, but in fact the room appeared to be a standard room ("with a view") less than 20 m2 and lacking a refrigerator ("minbar"). Some days before we arrived, we informed the hotel that we will arrive later in the evening (due to the flight), but when we complained about the room, we were told that all superior rooms were already occupied when we checked in. This explanation is a little bit odd because we booked the room months before we arrived, and also informed the hotel of our late arrival.

However; the hotel is a good one. I can recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #148 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Comfortable Hotel housed in five Art Deco-style buildings dating from 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.