We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #149 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice hotel. clean, large rooms. really friendly and helpful staff.
breakfast (€12) was very good ! all you can eat with a large selection, constantly being replenished or replaced with fresh stuff.
Good location. probably a 2-3 minute walk from dam square on a quieter street.
room was nice and spacious. Had a mini bar, safe, tv, clean bathroom. Beds were very comfortable - even though they were two singles pushed together and would push apart sometimes.
And everything was in english :)
Would stay there again. No problems at all. Got all my deposit back and city tax was only €3 ish

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,323 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    256
    637
    291
    97
    42
See reviews for
168
512
51
182
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This hotel has a great location, very near the centre of town and a lot of bars, restaurants and other attractions. Breakfast was included with our stay and it was excellent. The staff were very helpful and we couldn't fault them. Our room was nice, the only slight complaints were the shower - which was a little unwieldy and we ended up with a lot of water on the floor! Also, although noise from outside was barely noticeable, you can hear people moving around in other rooms and coming down the corridor so perhaps this place is not so good for a light sleeper. There is free wi-fi but it is very slow, ok for checking emails but that's about it.
Overall we had a great stay and you can't get much better for the price in this location.
TIP: We went to 3 restaurants very close to the hotel, Dante, Luden and Kantjil & De Tijger, all were excellent and fairly cheap.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Amsterdam is great,the hotel is secondary.We stayed NY 2012.(not 2013!!)
But it is still nice to put your head down in a room that makes you relaxed,this one did not at times(usually at night and in morning,when you're in room most!!)Most hotels charge extra for a room with a view and this hotel is no exception.
It is very centrally located,on Spui Straat and relatively quiet,as in road traffic.Our room was near lift so at busiest location on floor.
The room itself had a fridge/kettle/tv/safe,all the things you want in a room.The view was crap,an internal court yard and other rooms surrounding.
Also it was expensive,but that is to be expected for New Years.Stay there any other time of year and it is half price practically!!
But if you are looking for a hotel close to CS and city centre and all amenities,then this is the place for you.
We did'nt have breakfast as it was extra and we did'nt wanna get up too early,hence why fridge /kettle in room is handy...Girlfriend loved the shower...
Ask for a quiet room,not near lifts.
I'd stay here again ,but not New Years as it is too expensive for a 3 star hotel.

Room Tip: No need for extra cost of breakfast,bring your own food in and ask for room not near lifts and a vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed here for one night after flying for about 26 hours from Australia. On our arrival we were greeted by a very friendly and efficient receptionist who informed us that our room was ready at 6.30 in the morning- music to our ears after such a long flight. Our room- a corner room on the fourth floor -was quite large with a king sized bed, comfortable armchairs but with the most beautiful views of the canal and neighbouring streets. The bathroom is small but perfectly formed and the toiletries provided were more than adequate. The location is amazing. So close to everything -9 streets is literally a minute's walk across the Bridge over the Singel canal. This area is filled with interesting shops, bookstores, antiques and great restaurants and cafés. if you are coming from the airport it is a quick train trip then a tram ride on a number 1,2,or 5 tram for three stops. The hotel is just around the corner from the Spui tram stop- an easy way to get into Amsterdam if you don't want a cab. Our only concern was that there were very few people working when we checked out. A rather harried person was on the desk at the time and we felt that she could have had more help. She did explain that someone had called in sick but we had a few anxious moments waiting in a long queue as we had a plane to catch.
The front steps are also a little tacky looking but all in all good value for money and a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlooking the canal. Room 407 was a beauty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We had a nice time , a real plus was the central location, our room was ready when we arrived 3 hours early, it was clean , basic, and quiet! Ok it may not be luxurious but hey value for money was great. Our son and daughter in law had a room on the top floor with a great view, we would return here if we visit again.

Room Tip: Be specific in your request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We walked everywhere so it was conveniently located.
A cot was provided for our toddler as well as special toiletries. We had 2 rooms booked and they made sure they were on the same floor.
There are steps into the hotel so we had lift the pushchair up and down.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is brilliantly located to be within easy access to most of the main Amsterdam features without being right in the hustle & bustle. However, the service around Christmas was not what we expected. We arrived very early and didn't expect an early checking in but could eventually only move in after 3pm. The heating in the room wasn't switched on and just a quick intro into the relative old heater system would have been appreciated.

They did provided us with a single room around 9am for an interim arrangement which we appreciated because of the red eye flight. Cleaning of the rooms around Christmas and the days there after was late. It was not uncommon for the rooms still not attended to at 16h00 and the level of cleaning can improve. The mini bar was also not replenished.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #149 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Comfortable Hotel housed in five Art Deco-style buildings dating from 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda and Venere so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.