We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #164 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
UK
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quiet and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We walked everywhere so it was conveniently located.
A cot was provided for our toddler as well as special toiletries. We had 2 rooms booked and they made sure they were on the same floor.
There are steps into the hotel so we had lift the pushchair up and down.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    896
    435
    141
    62
See reviews for
293
729
72
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laos
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is brilliantly located to be within easy access to most of the main Amsterdam features without being right in the hustle & bustle. However, the service around Christmas was not what we expected. We arrived very early and didn't expect an early checking in but could eventually only move in after 3pm. The heating in the room wasn't switched on and just a quick intro into the relative old heater system would have been appreciated.

They did provided us with a single room around 9am for an interim arrangement which we appreciated because of the red eye flight. Cleaning of the rooms around Christmas and the days there after was late. It was not uncommon for the rooms still not attended to at 16h00 and the level of cleaning can improve. The mini bar was also not replenished.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Situated in the centre of Amsterdam 2 minutes by walk to the Dam square!
Comfortable, clean, very gentle personnel! Wi fi free included!
It seems more a 3 stars italian hotel than a 4 stars.
We liked it and we suggest it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We loved the service of the hotel staff, the size of the room, hot water. We loved the daily room cleaning. The Pacific Hotel. Excellent location. We would be happy to stay in this hotel our next visit. And will definitely be back. Many thanks for a great weekend and we had a wonderful thank

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Good service and good location. The street outside gives you a vary nice taste of Amsterdam and its not more than five minutes to the very center.
The rooms was in good standard even though the bathroom was not the newest. Recommend!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

I've stayed at NH City Centre hotel on several occasions in the past. It has an exceptional location: within walking distance of central station, the major museums and sights, and Amsterdam's main shopping street, the Kalverstraat. However, it has clearly seen better days. Although I was given a nice, spacious room on a corner overlooking a canal, the walls could have done with a lick of paint and the general decor and furniture is desperately in need of updating. One of my pet hates in hotel rooms are artificial flowers and this one had a vase full of particularly repugnant examples. The bathroom also had an aged appearance with marks on the walls. In addition, the surface around the sink had not been cleared after the last occupant. I stayed two nights and I returned to the room on the second day at around 4.30 pm to discover that it had not been cleaned or tidied in my absence. Housekeeping knocked on the door some time later, but by that stage I was tired and did not want to leave the room, so I just accepted some new towels. My bad experience was accentuated on the final night when I was awoken at 2 am by a fire alarm. We had to evacuate until the city fire service arrived and checked out the building. Some time previously I had heard some guests running in the corridor and throwing food at each other and I wondered if they had triggered the alarm system. It may not have been the hotel's fault, but I do think that there is great need for improvement both in the appearance and running of this establishment. I will not be recommending it to friends. One final irritant. The hotel advertises that it has "free wifi". In reality the free service is low quality (slow, inability to download large images, or to stream movies on netflix, etc.). I found it so frustrating that eventually I had no option but to upgrade to a better service (at a cost of 9 Euro per 24-hour period). There is really no reason any more for hotels not to provide their customers with inclusive, high grade, and dependable wifi.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This hotel was all we needed for our holiday- somewhere to sleep and it satisfied it's purpose well. Personally i don't feel the need to fork out for somewhere this nice, but my friend booked the holiday and chose this place. For the price you pay everything is excellent! The maids do an impeccable job and the receptionists are very helpful. The free wifi is a bonus as well!
We never had breakfast here, mainly due to the price, as you can get delicious food from may places close by.
I would recomend this hotel to some people, but it depends what they are wanting. If you are wanting a nice, well done out hotel then this is probably the place for you!

Room Tip: If you want a view request one- we had the view of another persons room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#81 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,548 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#86 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#219 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#126 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 535 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #164 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.