We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very functional hotel in Central Amsterdam for business travelers” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, Amsterdam 1012 VX, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #152 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very functional hotel in Central Amsterdam for business travelers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The hotel is clean and functional and well situated in the heart of Amsterdam a few blocks from the Centraal Station and quite accessible from the heart of the old city. The corridors have seen better days and the carpets maybe due for a change sometime soon, but the rooms are okay - nothing fancy but clean and livable. The staff in the restaurant was actually quite welcoming and friendly, but then Amsterdam is a friendly city.There is an option for free internet or a faster paid version (Euro 9.90 per day) and both seem to function quite alright. All in all a very normal 'Goldilocks' kind of place - nothing too bad and nothing too good either.

Room Tip: It seems that the rooms do not have any view at all, but given that the building is in the historic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,336 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    648
    287
    100
    40
See reviews for
165
500
50
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Not impressed, on arrival men sitting about in reception about like a half way house. Room was small with no view other than three walls.
Breakfast, save your money, very basic and not worth the 15 euros. go out an find a cafe.

With all that said not the worse I have ever stayed in but falls a long way short of a recomandation to stay here. there are better

Room Tip: Try a different hotal
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

One thing about being a tourist; make sure you know what you're visiting the place for. NH City Centre serves its purpose. Location wise, nothing can beat it; thus its name, right? ALthough it is a little bit old and some of the staff tend to frown a little bit, it doesn't claim to be a 5 star hotel so dont treat it as such.

As a traveller I tend to treat hotels as simply a place where i relieve myself, sleep, and shower. Sometimes i tend to dilly dally in my hotel/hostel and thats when i look for the comforts similar to my home; This hotel has that. Nice comfy beds, big rooms, of course it comes with a price. As a business hotel i'd give it 3.5 stars but as an HQ from where i stage and plan my debaucheries this gets my 5 star stamp of approval.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We forgot how expensive parking space is in Amsterdam and went by car to this hotel. Next to that, great location and nearby all things to see. Everything can be done by foot, the museums, canals, Anne Franks house,.... The hotel does not have a restaurant of its own but has a deal with the restaurant next door. Breakfast is ok and staff there is extremely friendly and helpful. We and our daughter appreciated this very much. In the evening we went out just at the other side of the street where you can find numerous good restaurants where you can eat for a good price.
Our room was large and tidy. Seems almost the hotel has been refurnished for are arrival. View on Amsterdam canals out of our rooms window was great. Price of the rooms are reasonable knowing that you are staying right at the hart of the city. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Location is good, in the centre. Hotel is a little worn. Internet kept kicking me off. It's free, but it doesn't work properly. Printing out my boarding pass cost me 3€. Also, lots of small service lapses. Printer paper depleted, breakfast not quite ready at opening time, that kind of thing. Stay here for the location, not much else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was surprised at just how nice NH City Centre hotel was!
I booked this hotel as my budget would only stretch to a 3* hotel. I looked at lots of hotels but tripadvisor photos showed that most 3* hotels were really shabby and beaten.
I decided to settle on NH City Centre as it was a chain hotel.
I was so pleased to walk into a grand reception area similar to 5* London hotels!

Room was fantastically clean and the BED WAS HEAVEN! It was a gorgeous night's sleep.
Hotel is fairly easy to navigate back from and they supply a map to direct you back to the hotel.
Staff were friendly and couldn't do enough to help.
Room was a little on the small side as the bathroom is built into the room, but not uncomfortably small. Me and my boyfriend tend to elbow eachother when trying to get ready at the same time but we managed ok for a change! Bathroom is a good standard with a power shower

Red Light district is a stones throw away and worth going to just because you're in Amsterdam!
When we stayed there was a circus up in the main square but when that came down there was street artists ect.

We went to the Rikimuseum and Madame Tussards (Madame Tussards is a waste of money) but the museum was interesting.. we just wasn't in the mood for it!

I would definitely recommend the NH chain!

Room Tip: Our room faced the canal Upgrade to 'superior room' is only 25euro
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. The staff is friendly and helpful. It is very well located to access many tourist attractions. There are many good restaurants close by. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, Amsterdam 1012 VX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, Comfortable Hotel housed in five Art Deco-style buildings dating from 1920. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.