We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breakfast was good and canal view outstanding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #165 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tijeras, New Mexico
Level Contributor
123 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Breakfast was good and canal view outstanding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We spend 3 days here and the room is small and ours was very oddly shaped. The "green" lighting is very dark for reading or writing. Canal view was charming and breakfast had plenty of food and variety for even picky eaters. Reception staff was very knowledgeable about Amsterdam and getting around. Great location for restaurants. Surprising how crowded Amsterdam tourist sights were in October on Monday and Tuesday. House of Bols was a standout experience!

Room Tip: Try for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    897
    435
    143
    62
See reviews for
295
729
73
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel was very well placed for our needs. Room clean but the view wasn't, the back of the hotel was disappointing. The breakfast was good plenty of choice but the hot food was cold. The service in the restaurant was excellent. The main downside of this hotel for me is that there was no bar, no place to purchase a cup of coffee, it did have these facilities close by but it would have been nice to relax in the hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
258 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The hotel is very well located, central, close to many restaurants, the rooms are very small, if you have heavy luggage, you cannot turn around the bed! the doors although being thick and heavy, don’t stop the hallway noises! the bathroom is correct, and the breakfast very expensive (20 €), but very good. The reception staff is uneven, the free internet malfunctioning ... I'm sure it’s possible to find a better place in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed in this large hotel for 3 nights as part of a city break with a friend. The location is pretty ideal, with a few minutes walk to Dam Square, the Flower Market and located between a main tram route and the Singel Canal. A five minute tram ride from Central Station. There are many bars and restaurants very near by.

Our standard twin room was on the fifth floor and much smaller than you will see on their advertising photos. I guess this is pretty much par for the course in European centres, but my biggest complaint about the room and the hotel as a whole was that it was so dark - low energy light bulbs which barely lit the room and dark coloured fabrics, paint and decorations everywhere. Having said this the single bed was extremely comfortable. Wardrobe space was tiny but in all honesty it would be difficult to fit anything bigger into the room. There was a free large safe in the room with a powerpoint inside to charge the phone and a minibar and TV which could receive BBC1 and 2 and the BBC News channel - which is a bonus as many European hotels don't provide this - even though many of their visitors are from the UK and do not want to watch CNN as their only source of English speaking TV. The bathroom was again smallish but adequate and a surprisingly large shower with ample hot water.

The view from the window looked inwards across a small closed in area, looking directly into other rooms opposite - so the nets needed to be drawn all the time, adding to the dark feel.

We didn't have breakfast as we thought 20 euros was a bit steep and all the local bars did breakfast - we paid 13 euros 2 minute walk away for eggs, cheese, croissant, toast roll, coffee and orange juice.

Reception were efficient, helpful and ordered us a taxi to the airport (48 euros) as we overslept!

All in all I would recommend this hotel as a worry free place to stay - clean efficient but it was a bit soulless and quite dark everywhere - if you want somewhere with more character do not choose this, but hey - you are in Amsterdam and you're not going to spend much time in a hotel as there is so much to see out there. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with an external view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Just spent 4 days staying at this hotel. Excellent cleanliness, service and good positioning for all city attractions. Good idea to book the breakfast in advance as there is then a considerable saving.

Only 1 suggestion - find your own taxi as they use a private company and the cost is considerably more.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a business trip this week - as other reviewers have commented it is all about the location which is fantastic. That said, the hotel isn't bad at all - I stayed in a basic room - which was plenty big enough (although might not be for 2 people staying for more than a day or 2) on the fifth floor with a great view (on check-in they asked me if I'd like a room with a view or a quiet room) I opted for the view (even as a very light sleeper) but the room with a view has no noise whatsoever - I think they just try and sell the internal facing rooms as being quieter! Really pleased with the choice of hotel - would stay again if needed to be in the area again..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An average hotel in a great part of the city, thats all I have to say. Our room was simple, clean and did the job. Since we barely spent anytime there it was fine. We got the superior room which i assume is somewhat bigger then the regular room. For 2 people it was perfect. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. There are some great restaurants and bars right on the block so you do not have far to go. Overall I would stay here again...the only bumber was we had no view. Since we booked through expedia I am assuming we get the crappy views and people that book through them directly get the nice canal views. Overall 4 stars for location and 3 stars for hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#87 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#218 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#140 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.