We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #158 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
new york
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

An average hotel in a great part of the city, thats all I have to say. Our room was simple, clean and did the job. Since we barely spent anytime there it was fine. We got the superior room which i assume is somewhat bigger then the regular room. For 2 people it was perfect. I have nothing negative to say about this hotel. There are some great restaurants and bars right on the block so you do not have far to go. Overall I would stay here again...the only bumber was we had no view. Since we booked through expedia I am assuming we get the crappy views and people that book through them directly get the nice canal views. Overall 4 stars for location and 3 stars for hotel

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    773
    358
    123
    49
See reviews for
238
605
61
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

The hotel has a great location for a stay in Amsterdam! Nice and good service for business and pleasure. Very quiet with a good night sleep ready for the next day. Good breakfast that suites me for a great start from the morning!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

A surprisingly good hotel for the price and the location.
Small clean room, great view from the fifth floor and great service at reception. Nh concept is to provide small semi-luxurious room for a good price. And they do it well.
Not a no-frill hotel: the rooms are perfectly comparable to more luxury chains except the size.
Wifi is not great (even the paying one), no personal iron (but a ironing room) were the only downsides for a business stay.
Will go back there again for holidays.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lower Gwynedd, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The best thing about this hotel is the location. The room was tiny, probably the smallest room I've ever stayed in. Walking in felt like a prison sentence. The bed was only a twin with one small pillow and although the room had windows, they were too high to see out of. There were exposed pipes along the wall and the paper was peeling. The bathroom products were substandard and the bathroom itself was quite dated. No air conditioning and with the window open, it was quite noisy.

The staff was very condescending and seemed almost glad to say things weren't available. They were also woefully uninformed, not even knowing where to get a late evening meal (two doors down). When I asked how to get to an area for shopping, the desk person didn't know saying she was only a trainee. A trainee at the desk by herself?? Still better than when I came down one evening and there was no one at the desk. Even the cleaning staff looked like they were in on the joke. Terrible terrible service.

The Internet connection was extremely slow and made it near impossible to do work.


The hotel was very pricey -- not worth the money at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

NH City Center is a located in a great part of town, 5 minutes to Dam Square and 5 minutes to Jordaan on foot. It was a quiet hotel in the middle of everything. Our room was small but functional. The only downside to the rooms was the smell of cigarette smoke that sometime wafted into the room from smoking rooms. The staff did a great job in accommodating me and my company needs - in terms of booking rooms, switching credit cards etc. In addition, I had to change hotels one night - they agreed to hold my luggage. Note that the wifi is slow for anything other than minor web browsing - document sharing, video conference sessions etc, was impossible - even with the paid hotel wifi service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krum, Texas, USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Wow this was not at all what I expected. Not sure what part of the hotel other reviewers stayed in but this was actually one of the worst hotels I have stayed in. First off NO AIR-CONDITIONING !!! We were on fourth floor, when we got out of elevator started getting worried,hallways had that out dated look and smell. Opened room door and yea, not good. Did not have a clean feel. Our view of Amsterdam was of a wall. Bathroom door would not stay open so had to prop open because it was SO hot and uncomfortable. This was when the outside temp was only in the 70s,Can not imagine in the hot months. We had to ask for a fan because we could not get any sleep with no air. The in room coffee was a electric tea kettle and packets of instant coffee and powdered creamer. Towels rough and felt dirty. Usually have great luck, do my research but this one did not pan out. The location only good thing to say.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This NH hotel is in a great location for any one visiting Amsterdam and wish for a central location for a walk about or using other forms of transportation to experience the city..
The morning breakfast service was excellent and provided a good selection.


  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, NHHotels, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.