We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great city.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SUMMER PROMO
Ranked #165 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great city.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I had always wanted to visit Amsterdam, so it had a lot to live up to!
We arrived at the airport (only just over half an hour from Manston, Kent) and then discovered that there wasn't a laid on shuttle hotel bus service as expected. We managed to find a private company running a hotel service, so coughed up our 32 euros (for the two of us) and were delivered at the NH City Centre in around 40 minutes. Reception were helpful, but "didn't know anything" about the supposed pick up (I'd emailed twice to confirm) Then we were informed that this service just did not exist. Ho Hum. However, they were very helpful otherwise. Gave me the canal view room I'd requested and mentioned about breakfast being 15 euro if we ordered the day before, but 20 euro if we left it till the morning. We thought about it and then said we would like to have it. Nothing else was said and we went up to our room. Room 407 was an excellent choice. Very large indeed. Double aspect with large windows (that opened) and a king size bed. Although a little hard, the bed proved comfortable. No complaints about the room at all, and the views were simply lovely from the canal side of the room. Had a couple of drunk neighbours arrive home about 2am, but the hotel couldn't be held to blame for that.
The TV was good and I managed to watch the Wimbledon Final and the whole of the hotel must have heard my screams of delight, but nothing was said (!)
The shower was great in the morning and didn't lack power, especially as so many people using water like mad, at that time I should imagine. We went down to breakfast and were asked for a voucher that Reception were supposed to have given us the evening before, when we booked breakfast. Obviously the Receptionist hadn't understood that we had indeed booked. However, after a call to Reception, the matter was cleared up and we were allowed to have our breakfast at the discounted price of 15 euros each. Great "help yourself at a machine" coffee, so we could have as much as we liked. The cooked breakfast wasn't exactly up to much, but they had a good stab at decent enough bacon and scrambled egg. The sausages were spicy, so a little scary for us first thing in the morning! Lots to chose from: cereals, juices and all the continental breakfast menu too. Everyone seems to speak English and they all were very friendly.
We stayed for two nights and found that just about all the sights could be seen on foot from the hotel. Although the Rijks and Van Gogh museums did take about 40 minutes to walk there, and not the optimistic 20 minutes that we had been told! Anne Frank's house was only about 15 minutes away and the canal boat station about half an hour. Flower Market 20 minutes. So really well situated.
We thought we would eat at the restaurant next door, until we looked at the board outside and decided we didn't want to take out another mortgage! Looked great though. However, lots of cafes, restaurants, etc around, so we were spoilt for choice.
All in all a nice hotel and worth the money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    897
    435
    143
    63
See reviews for
295
729
73
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Having looked through the other reviews for this hotel before travelling we were a bit concerned but everything was excellent. The reception staff were polite and friendly. One of the receptionists offered to print out my online boarding pass rather than having to wait for a computer and nothing was too much trouble. The room was a good size with a lovely view over the Single canal. As others have said there is no air conditioning and the weather was exceptionally hot so the room was stuffy particularly as they requested you didnt open the windows so the 'comfort cooling' (their term) would work. The room did cool during the night.
We didnt have the breakfast as it was excessively expensive and found a local cafe instead. In all we would stay at this hotel again. In the past Ive stayed near Leidseplein an whilst it was cheaper getting the tram was annoying it was great to just walk out of the door and be near everthing.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just arrived back from a three-night stay booked as part of a cheap city break which included the airfare. The positives first: central location right on a canal in walking distance of museums, the flower market, good range of restaurants and bars and good shopping. The staff at the hotel were courteous and helpful and our room was clean and well prepared each day. The room was small and faced inwards - so no view - but we were only in it to sleep and for the price we paid for the holiday it was absolutely fine.....we certainly didn't expect five star accommodation. The only negative was the lack of air conditioning, which wouldn't have been a problem if the weather had not been unusually hot. However, we had a note in the room asking us to keep the widows and curtains closed during the day to keep the heat out - it was very hot at night though.
They have better rooms at the hotel, but at the price we paid we were more interested in cleanliness and location and were more than satisfied with both.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We stayed in the NH City Centre Amsterdam in June 2013 door the second time. The hotel is quite large with key card access to the room and front door for use at night. The rooms are quite clean (some dust observed on top of wardrobe). The rooms have a TV and unlike most hotels - TV signal quality is good with a variety of channels (no music channels though) which was a but of a shame. The hotel is located in the city centre on Spuistraat which is a nice little district close to the flower market and about 10 minutes stroll to the Leidseplein and central station. Also located virtually within the main shopping district. staff have been extremely pleasant and helpful on both occasions. Staff are happy to help with anything that they are able to assist with. The hotel has ice cube machines on several of the floors which also have vending machines next to them. This is very useful and a welcome extra. The breakfast is very impressive and I should imagine other meals at the hotel are of excellent quality too. Breakfast is an additional €15 pp and I feel it is well worth it. Large variety of freshly baked croissants Danishes bread etc. bacon sausages eggs (boiled/scrambled) etc. cheese hams and cereals, fruit juices and water, coffee teas etc. one would find it difficult to complain about this breakfast! Some rooms have both a bath and a shower, some have just a shower. Plenty of hot water and good quality water pressure. Plenty of electricity sockets in the rooms and good quality electronic safes which are easy to use. Beds are also comfortable and clean ! The hotel can be quite pricey, but I feel this is in line with the overall cost of staying in Amsterdam which has increased greatly in my opinion over the last 6 years or so. This hotel is also near a nice supermarket with a wine shop located underneath it. So it is not much hassle to go there and stroll back to the hotel. The staff will happily store ur luggage for you in a locked room if you need to store it there in the event of having a night time flight for example. Staff will also give you a receipt for this. I feel you get what you pay for with this hotel. I would rather stay in a hotel like this as opposed to a cheaper hotel where quality of service and room furniture etc is not as good. Overall a good quality hotel and friendly staff. Good breakfast and comprehensive facilities in rooms with wi-if access with daily access codes which can be collected from the concierge desk. Would recommend to anybody who does not wish to spend their time in Amsterdam on a very tight budget

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Well presented and good value for money, the hotel is ideally located within the central canals and close to many attractions.
Small but clean rooms augmented with a great breakfast that sets you up for the day.Staff were helpful and I would recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveller.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

You need to either take a cab or bus 1 or 5 from the railway station. If you know where you are going and have no luggage its in walking distance of the train station. We had to wait for an hour before we could get into the room which was the only bummer. The hotel is between Spuis and Singel . In a good area. The room was good, clean and had a bar fridge. Thank goodness. The aircon worked just fine and the buffet breakfast more than adequate. Its near enough to walk around the area and just around the corner from the tram stop. Easy to pick up the Hop on Hop off bus which stops outside the hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We booked the hotel via internet, we booked 3 nights, and we missed the first night due to travelling problems so we arrived a day late and they wouldn't lwt us in the rooms that we PAYED for!!!!! And the reciptionest refused to call the manager and they didn't let us in the rooms for the remaining time we had!! Its the most agriviating thing and we were really angry the hotel may be in a good location but they dont deserve to be visted by anyone cause of their treatment. They didn't even refund the remainig nights. So I basically payed for the hotel and never went in the room I payed a lot for very poor reception and I will definitly never make that same mistake again! 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#79 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,550 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#87 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#221 of 355 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#124 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#138 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, NHHotels, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.