We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #155 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Surrey, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I picked this hotel because of its location and I was glad I did. It is an easy walk (or short tram ride) from the central station and all of the major attractions that Amsterdam has to offer. The room was extremely clean and well appointed. Free tea and coffee was provided along with a small fridge. A room safe was also fitted that was large enough to accommodate a number of cameras etc. The staff were extremely helpful at all times - I had an incident whilst there and the desk staff did all they could to help. I have never used a NH hotel before but if this is an example of their service I will definitely look at them in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    741
    340
    119
    46
See reviews for
221
577
60
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights from the 6th May onwards. Upon arrival we were charged the city tax which I was expecting and a further deposit of €50 to cover the mini Bar etc. We upgraded when we arrived due to reading the reviews about the rooms being small. Our room was a average size, needed a new carpet and over looked walls.
It was however very clean, the bed was lovely, the shower was great and we slept well, that was all we needed.
The location was fab, walking distance from everything, don't bother paying for the city tour bus it takes longer to get to the attractions then it does to walk.
This is my 5th time in Amsterdam and this is my fav hotel so far, I will happily come back.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati, ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

The Hotel certainly needs to be updated. Rooms are a nice size but simple. I was told I would have a canal view, but they were working on the outside of the building. The city view is actually a view of a street full of resturants, not very appealing. The bathroom had a very bad smell but they did fix that. There are many quaint canal houses that have similar prices, we stayed there because we needed an elevator. The staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

There are numerous hotels to choose from in Amsterdam. Many are quaint canal houses. NH City Centre is not in the quaint category. It is housed in an ugly former office building and from the outside does not look very appealing, with steps going up to the hotel. It more than makes up though with very comfortable beds in clean and (for Amsterdam) spacious rooms. The location is perfect for a city visit.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lobby floor are very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

the location is good, breakfast is very good, but the hotel dont have an aircondition. very hot in the room. the portion of the window that can be open is very small. two of the three sun shade of te window were missing. slow internet. looks old. the part that face the street is very noise even when the windows are close. expensive.

Room Tip: dont go in the sumer, request room facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel while touring the Netherlands. It is in a perfect location and within walking distance of the Rijksmuseum which has only recently reopened. The room was comfortable and quiet. The breakfasts were amazing and we enjoyed one very nice dinner.
If you have never been to Amsterdam be aware of the bicycle lanes. In this city they are red paved, large lanes as part of the sidewalk, not the street. Bicycles definitely have the right of way so be careful.
The wifi was really iffy here but overall I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Visited for 3 nights Fri - Mon. Hotel is well situated with a canal on one side and a small road the other (with plenty of bars and restaurants on it). The hotel is well appointed with very friendly and efficient staff. Our bedroom was small and the wardrobe space was limited, but the shower was excellent (with good sized towels). The view was disappointing as the windows looked into a central well with other bedroom windows approx. 20 feet away. Nevertheless the beds were comfortable and we both slept well.

We opted to order breakfast the night before at a cost of 15 euros (20 if you don't pre-book) which was excellent. Good choice of hot and cold food, juices, fresh fruit etc. long queues for coffee machine at busy times.

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this well run hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.