We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location great price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Amsterdam City Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added NH Amsterdam City Centre to your Saves list
NH Amsterdam City Centre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #155 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great location great price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a destination wedding and couldn't have been happier. The rooms were of good size, the bathrooms small as is typical in Holland. The location is in the middle of everything. Blocks to Central Station, easy walk to every part of Utrecht.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    743
    341
    119
    46
See reviews for
223
579
60
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Our group of three spent two nights here, and generally enjoyed it. The room was spacious, and the beds were comfortable. There is no individual room control for temp, however, and we were left two towels for a triple room. There are a number of steps to climb upon arrival, but the location is terrific, near many sights and restaurants. Wi-fi is available for free throughout the hotel. They also allowed us to stow our luggage for about 8 hours after check-out, which was quite convenient. I would recommend this place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for a short trip to Amsterdam. The hotel is centrally located to all the sights of Amsterdam and right next to one of the channels. Our room was nice, but a bit dated, especially the bathroom. Nice breakfast offered as part of the room, served in the breakfast on the first floor. Overall this hotel is a good choice if you're looking for a nice and simple hotel, but don't expect much more, a 3+.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta Canada
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is well located for walking to museums, restaurants and shopping. It is also right across the street from transit buses which will take you everywhere. The first issue with the hotel was them trying to give us Queen beds when we had paid eight months ahead for King. They said they were sold out. After asking for a manager we were in a very terse unfriendly way provided with an upgraded room with a King. Reception staff were unfriendly and acted as if it were our error not theirs.

Room Tip: Be sure to confirm your room and bed size. My husband is very tall and we always pay extra for King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Having just come from Goor and Apeldoorn in the Netherlands, where we stayed in charming hotels..NH was a shocking disappointment. First of all, if you're used to the service afforded by three and four-star hotels in Asia, it will come as a shock that you have to carry your own bags..up the 14 stairs to the hotel lobby! No porter service at all...so if you have heavy bags, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. The front desk staff just shrugged this off since the hotel is three-star rated (but they claim four-star service!). Secondly, because of our complaint (about having to carry our own bags), they gave us a lousy room..after haggling..we were told to upgrade and pay more! In the first place we paid an exorbitant amount, without any breakfast, booking online. We found this out as people who were walking in were offered much lower prices! The front desk staff told us we should have just booked directly through NH's website, to be able to enjoy similar prices as the walk-ins! Anyway, we took a much larger room on a higher floor to enjoy views of the canals..plus the staff really pushed the higher priced rooms and it looked like they didn't want us to take the standard room. When we were leaving, we booked the shuttle bus to the airport but closer to the time the front desk staff couldn't confirm if the bus would arrive on time! It did and there were no hassles but why recommend something when you're not sure of it?! While the location is good, rooms are average and the staff really need to buck up..the hotel has a poster that says smile at your neighbour..unfortunately this is not practiced by its staff who seemed like as though they were doing us a favour all throughout our stay! On my previous visits to Amsterdam I have stayed in budget/boutique hotels and paid so much less but had adequate service. All in all, not a good experience and we did complain to the duty manager about the staff.

Room Tip: The rooms overlookjing the canals are refreshing and bright rather than the other rooms, but you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Right Here
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

First of all, i hope this helps travelers. It seems as though the property doesn't respond to reviews, whether they are positive or negative. I hope this speaks only this NH hotel, and not all NH hotels. (I will not be taking that chance with future stays)

This hotel is not a 4 star- even by European standards. I was extremely disappointed by the customer service, and found that each interaction, the valued guest was less important than you think.

I was in Amsterdam on a European vacation for my 5th wedding anniversary. The check-in process was fine, but lacked personal touches that travelers expect. My first night's experience was terrible. Doors slamming, thin walls (you can hear everything), screaming, etc. I know it's Amsterdam, but you expect at these rates, these issues would be monitored.

The next morning I asked if there was anything they could do- even asked if they would put me into a different room and i would pay the difference. All i cared about was less noise, and money wasn't the issue. The frontdesk agent handed me off to someone else- i expect a manager of some level. This manager turned the tables on me, and accused me of not doing enough to stem the noise issue. As a guest, i didn't think it was my role to get up at 3AM and ask other guests to quiet down. Apparently it's also my fault that i wasn't more pro-active communicating the issue- even though i spoke with them first thing the next morning They simply didn't understand that I was the guest. No action was taken, so i walked away very upset. To them I was just a reservation/room number, not a potential loyal guest.

My parting recommendation would be to find somewhere else. Pay the extra 50 bucks a night for a nicer place. My wife and I will not be staying at this hotel for our 10th anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

Soulless, tired, cramped rooms with paper thin walls, invisible and non-helpful reception staff, free wifi which is so slow you wish you could pay for a decent supplier... Avoid unless you want a backpacker hotel... Not a 4 star by any stretch of the imagination

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Amsterdam City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam City Centre

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad , Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Amsterdam City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH Amsterdam City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your NH Amsterdam City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Amsterdam City Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.