We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel near the shopping center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
LOOKING FOR BETTER DEAL?
Ranked #168 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best hotel near the shopping center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We stayed 6 days in this hotel , it was very close to the shopping center and Dam square and far enough for resting in silent but the only problem was the walls of the rooms are so thin and you can hear the noise of other rooms , but every thing was perfect free wifi in lobby , great coffee shop near the hotel and you can find any brands in shopping street near the hotel .

Room Tip: ask for the canal view rooms for quiet rooms with brilliant view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    939
    449
    151
    68
See reviews for
326
762
77
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weehawken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
409 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

I hope my title caught your attention. You'll see the commentary on the toilets in the cons section.

Pros:
1. The location is great. This hotel is walking distance (within reason) of the majority of the main attractions in Amsterdam.
2. The rooms are quite nice. The showers are a bit small, but good enough. There are plenty of power outlets for all your electronics. They provide a sponge as a loofah, which does a good job.
3. The lobby has free wifi that is fast enough for VoIP calling.
4. The front desk staff was generally helpful, especially when arranging transportation to the airport.
5. There is a parking garage (for a fee) if you need it.
6. Much better price than anything comparable nearby.

Cons:
1. We arrived via a rental car that we were returning right away (thankfully, considering Amsterdam is one of the scariest cities I have ever driven in, and I am used to NYC traffic) but trying to find a place to park was nearly impossible. We ended up parking in a taxi pickup stop, we think, with my wife staying in the car until all the luggage was in the hotel room. Then we swapped places and I returned the car. In short, no parking on the street.
2. Toilets. Ok, this is a first for me, I do not think I have ever had a need to review a toilet on Tripadvisor, but these were so weird that I have to. This is a little gross, but the toilets had a shelf that all your business went on until the flush pushes it off and away. The problem is when one has to take a #2, it just sits on this shelf with no water to take away the smell or anything. I had a normal bathroom experience and had to constantly flush the toilet because I started gagging. I do not why anyone would design a toilet like this, but the better question is why anyone buy toilets like this? So gross.

Even though I spent most my review describing poor parking and an odd toilet, I do recommend this hotel. The location, price and nice rooms make this a good choice.

Room Tip: You really have two choices to request, canal side or street side. We did not ask and got street si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed one night in this hotel. Friendly and helpful employees at the reception. A very nice and clean room. Excellent breakfast. Free parking inside. This is an advantage due to the fact that Amsterdam's parking rates are sky high. The hotel is situated in de center of the city. We are sure to visit this hotel again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 29. Large room with broad bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

I was there in October for business and booked 1 night. It is about 10 to 15 minutes walk from Amsterdam Centraal. The receptionist is kind and is well-informed to give you the most practical advise for dinner outside, as the hotel is not providing dinner in-house. The room was clean but small and a bit noisy. For one night only it is giving you the elementary comfort, but i wouldn't be happy with it if i would visite Amsterdam for 3 days or so.
Breakfast is pretty expensive and the breakfast area can use some renovation.
Globally, it's a good hotel for a short stay for business purposes, and perhaps for weekendtrips if you have another room then the one i had.

Room Tip: Be aware that if you ask for a 'smoking allowed' room you probably get a room with less qual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

The rooms at this hotel are very varied. The first room we were given was very very very small and had no fridge, although it did have lovely view of the canal. We asked to move and were given a very grotty room with a tiny tiny window. So, we asked to move again. This room was wonderfully quiet and a decent size but the bed was terrible as the mattress dipped in the middle. Finally, the fourth room was ok and I got a good night sleep on a decent mattress.

Staff at this hotel were very accommodating but I would not stay here again, even though the
Location is very good. The hotel needs an upgrade urgently.

It's a shame really because it used to be good several years ago.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

After our unsuccessful booking to another hotel in Amsterdam we managed to get a room in NH City Center Hotel. The location was excellent very close to the centre of Amsterdam. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room was clean, cozy and silent. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel ad we can recommend it to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

Have stayed at hotel for business over many years and recently returned after a 2 year gap.

Firstly the receptionist recognised me after after the 2 year break, which is a good detail.

The hotel is an average 3-4 star hotel, rooms vary from small to spacious and it is hit and miss what you get. The rooms are clean and can get warm in the summer as well as noise from the street late at night. This is a central hotel so expect this. What the hotel has going for it, is location, you can easily to walk to tourist attractions and bars from the hotel.

Breakfast is typically expensive though there are plenty of options close by, if you eat on the move, I highly recommend the pastry shop to the left of the front entrance on the corner.

The hotel is a good 10-15 minutes walk from central station. I would recommend the hotel for a cheap long weekend get away and want convenience and clean rooms. If you want something more upmarket then you need to look elsewhere. I have no problems staying at the NH and have organised weekends for my parents at the same hotel.

Room Tip: Higher the better as street noise during summer can be an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
NH Amsterdam Centre
NH Amsterdam Centre
#83 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,598 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#98 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Carlton Amsterdam
NH Carlton Amsterdam
#231 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
NH Amsterdam Grand Hotel Krasnapolsky
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
NH Amsterdam Caransa
NH Amsterdam Caransa
#128 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 563 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#139 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 3,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat 288-292, 1012 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH City Centre Amsterdam)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 209
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre Amsterdam Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, NHHotels, Odigeo, Otel, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.