We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, great canal views, perfect base to explore Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of NH City Centre Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added NH City Centre Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
NH City Centre Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, Binnenstad, Jordaan, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Buffet Breakfast
Ranked #151 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, great canal views, perfect base to explore Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

We loved the location, it's right in the centre of everything, close to all the attractions, the Red Lights district, Dam square and overlooking a beautiful canal. There are lots of coffee shops around and plenty of really good bars and restaurants, though Dutch food might not be to everyone's liking! In my opinion its the best location you can possibly wish for when visiting Amsterdam

The hotel itself is not the prettiest of buildings, but quite modern and definitely what you would expect from a 3 star hotel. I was delighted that the receptionist could offer us a smoking room with a double bed and canal view. Exactly what we wanted! The view is to die for, the windows are really big and even if you stay inside for a few hours resting your tired feet, you still feel a part of the city life. The room was also warm, with a good shower and well stocked up.

Of course the hotel is not perfect, as the rooms are not the largest or quietest in the world but you get what you paid for. I've also heard that more upmarket hotels charge an extra 50 euros a night for a canal view, so it's a massive advantage to get it for 'free' here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    652
    298
    101
    44
See reviews for
182
528
51
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2011

This was my first time to Amsterdam and I got this hotel by naming my own priceline so it was a great deal for me! I was impressed with how cool and modern the room was. Although, the television was a bit dated for the room. The bathroom is pretty cool! It was big and spacious!

Having internet access is very important to me and this hotel however did not make it easy to access the internet. It is "free" but they give you a voucher which has a code and password on it and it is valid for 30 mins. If you ask me, kind of annoying when you have to keep going down to the lobby to ask for more time!

The #1 tram is located right outside the hotel and is very convenient. The #1 Tram also takes you to Amsterdam Central if you are going to catch a train out of the country. Within walking distance is a great bakery in the morning! It has a green awning and is past the McDonalds and is on the corner.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2011

I think my one sentence review sums it up. But, more on the internet. It sucks.
They give you 30 minute tickets to use the internet for free in the lobby but it is slow, slow like dial up slow. Then they'll charge you an arm and a leg for an upgrade which you can get in your room and is faster (so they say). True you can get free wireless at cafe's all over town but when you're rockin a laptop you don't want to lug that thing around.

Oh yeah, and the breakfast is insanely expensive (19-21 euro I think). But then again everything is expensive in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2011

Centrally located to everything, this hotel was a great find. 1 block from the tram and just minutes from any attraction or place you could imagine. On the same block, there was a great bakery, a restaurant that served authentic dutch cuisine and several cafes and pubs. Hotel was clean, staff was very helpful and friendly. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

Our four night stay here started by leaving the car at the park and ride at the World Fashion Centre out to the west of the city, getting the number 1 tram to the nearest stop to the hotel and pleasantly dicovering it to be a two minute walk.
Check in was friendly, we'd booked a superior room and were given a choice of rooms on arrival, we chose a ground floor one with a great view through a large window of the canal and a bridge.
The room was spacious and a radiator kept us warm - I didn't notice any air-con. It had a few chairs and a desk, also some tea and coffee making facilities. A large, confortable bed ensured a good night's sleep. The bathroom was acceptable, nothing exciting. The toilet was separate and one of those curious contraptions one occasionally encounters with a shelf - probably my only real criticism! Overall, the room gets the thumbs up for the view and the sense of space and airy feel it lent to the room.
Breakfast was included in the rate (€19 p/p approx) for a full hot and cold buffet.
The hotel appears to have been built in the 1920's and has art deco touches which I liked.
The location is superb, right by the canal belt, it's very close to the main shopping street and the flower market, loads of restaurants. If you want central Amsterdam, a good basic hotel with interesting decor, this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

I Had read a previous post about being overbooked and bumped to another NH hotel with caution. Sure enough, when we arrived the hotel said they had no rooms and gave us an "Upgrade" LOL to the Barbizon Palace by the train station. They provided a taxi for us at no cost to the other hotel. While tellling us we were upgraded, I doubt very seriously it was much of an upgrade at all. So be wary of not having a room when you get to this particular hotel

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2011

I just spent about two weeks at the City Centre and was very pleased. No problems recommending the hotel to others and I plan to stay there again the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

I was given a small but comfortable room facing a canal. Other than the occasional late-night singers (this is Amsterdam, after all), the room and surroundings were blissfully quiet. The room was spotless and everything worked properly. Just a couple quick notes:

--Pretty quick Internet service is available in the rooms at typical high prices. WiFi is free if you work in the lobby (there's a nice lounge off the main lobby where you can work)
--Watch out if you bend over in the shower. If you have a big behind like me, you're likely to turn off the water or set it to scalding hot (the voice of experience here)
--Note that there's another hotel just a few blocks closer to Centraal Station also called City Center. Make sure you go to the NH one.
--Unless it's included in your package, you need to pay extra for breakfast. it's no great shakes -- you'll do better dining at one of the local hangouts close by
--Unlike other European hotels, the staff really does read do Not Disturb signs on doors. You won't be pestered with maids shuttling in and out of your room if you want to work during the day. If you don't want service, the front desk will call to make sure you're not dead but they won't pound on your door.

As for location, it's great. Lots of restaurants and the American Bookstore just to the south. Go east a couple blocks and you're smack in the middle of the shopping district. Walk north a couple blocks and you're at the Palace and Red Light district. Took me about 30 minutes to walk to the Rijksmuesum (the flower market is on your way). The tram is one block east and is (I think) three stops from Centraal Station on the 1, 2 or 5 lines.

All in all, definitely a good value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH City Centre Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH City Centre Amsterdam

Address: Spuistraat, 288-292 | City Center, Binnenstad, Jordaan, 1012VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #151 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — NH City Centre Amsterdam 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The NH City Centre offers guests a gateway to the historic and beautiful Amsterdam. Located in the heart of the city and overlooking the Singel Canal, the hotel is only a very brief walk to the famous floating flower market, the powerfully moving Anne Frank House, and the bustling shops of Dam Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your NH City Centre Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Amsterdam City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Nh Hotels Amsterdam
Nh Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH City Centre Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.