We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More interesting than I'd expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum

Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum
Kattenburgerplein 1, 1018 KK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Netherlands Maritime Museum)
31 20 52 32 222
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$72*
and up
Ranked #34 of 307 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Het Scheepvaartmuseum, the National Maritime Museum, tells inspiring stories of how the sea is in our genes. Come and enjoy the stimulating, interactive exhibitions and the stunning 17th century building.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“More interesting than I'd expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014 NEW

I wentto see this museum mainly because I wanted to see the replica East Indiaman. This is a well worth while visit in its own right though the interpretation info on-board is rather limited. It would probably appeal to children too as it has the feel of a 'pirate ship' and there are places to play in the hold. The cabins and gun deck are well recreated thought perhaps a little too obviously 'replica' but I enjoyed my visit. There is another small ship by it but you can't go on it. Inside the impressive museum building are a number of displays on whaling, the golden age of Dutch trade, the modern port, nautical instruments, maps etc and a play area for kids. There is also a 25 min audio-visual 'virtual sea voyage' which was not quite as good as it sounds but ok and should not be missed (every hour on the hour). Allow 2 hours for a visit. It is not cheap (15 euros) but there is quite a bit to see.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    380
    226
    85
    38
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not much history”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014 NEW

Based on the maritime history of the Netherlands I expected more. Relatively small size museum spread around a large open courtyard. A nice display of boat models, atlases were in such a dark room little to see of the actual maps, a display of nautical instruments and a full sized replica of an armed sailing boat that sank off of Hastings on its first trip to the far east. Best section was the hall of paintings of various ages but for the earlier centuries those in the Riksmuseum are far more extensive and interesting. As we had a Museum Card no entry fee was necessary or else we would have considered it relatively poor value for money. Perhaps I have just been spoilt by being a Londoner and brought up with the excellent fare on offer in Greenwich.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent museum making good use of technology”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Based in the old arsenal in Amsterdam, this museum has many of the features you'd expect in a maritime museum, but makes really good use of technology. Unusually, this isn't used in a gimmicky or distracting way, but adds to the experience - e.g. tablets that can be moved around display cabinets to provide more information, 'books' projected onto blank pages that change as you turn them, and comfortable armchairs one can relax in and listen to first-hand accounts (in Dutch and English).

As others have said, the building itself is interesting, impressive, and very well restored. The new roof over the central courtyard has been designed to replicate the lines on a sea chart, which is a nice touch.

Due to limited time, we only had around 90 minutes in the museum. While it's not enormous, I'd definitely allow more time than that as we weren't able to visit every gallery nor to join the 'Voyage at Sea' activity which looked quite interesting.

Overall, highly recommended for all ages.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Interactive and Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2014 via mobile

This museum was fantastic ,It presented the maritime history in an interesting and engaging way. The Sea Voyage is a must.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Absolutely brilliant museum, a must visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2014

This was, personally, the best attraction at Amsterdam. Het Scheepvaartmuseum is basically a national maritime museum which displays a lot regarding Dutch history in shipping, navigation and whale hunting. The highlight of the museum is the full scale replica of the East Indiaman Amsterdam, an almost three-century old ship. You can explore the entire ship, right from the upper deck to the captain's quarters and the hold. Another major highlight of the museum is the "Voyage at Sea" experience, which gives a very good feel of the Dutch ships. There are of course a lot of art in the form of paintings of the ships, and also many yacht models right from 3 centuries back to the most modern ones. Also one major part of the museum not to be missed is the display of the methods and instruments of navigation used by the early Dutch mariners. All in all, an excellent museum to visit, do not miss this, even if you are not interested in ships and history! Our visit was even better due to the fact that we had to pay half the ticket cost because of a student discount, so it was totally worth it.

Visited November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.