We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interactive and enjoyable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum

Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum
Kattenburgerplein 1, 1018 KK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Netherlands Maritime Museum)
31 20 52 32 222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 303 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Specialty Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Het Scheepvaartmuseum, the National Maritime Museum, tells inspiring stories of how the sea is in our genes. Come and enjoy the stimulating, interactive exhibitions and the stunning 17th century building.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Interactive and enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was a wonderful place to visit. We spent time on the ship, explored the interactive displays and marvelled at the clever use of multimedia. The shop was well laid out and the food in the cafe was good solid fare. Overall, as good as I've seen anywhere and it does the Netherlands proud maritime history a great service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    362
    213
    79
    36
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Sailing ship is the star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

More modern than expected. The ship is a great attraction especially for the children. There is an exhibition on the Dutch slave trade which is quite informative. The restaurant is well frequented offering food to suit all budgets.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful experience. Beautifully designed interactive galleries kept the children fully engaged and interested. Lots of exhibits imaginatively displayed. Delightful, well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A must for complete Amsterdam trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Together with the canal museum, bible museum, this completes a good Amsterdam history. The city built on trade, and of course, the slave trade, and ongoing links with former colonies, Surinam and East Indies. Thought provoking interactive slave exhibition to rival Liverpool's excellent one.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

This was actually one of my favourite museums we visited while on holiday in amsterdam. The ship exhibit gives a lot of history of The Netherlands during it's seafaring era and there are great audio-visual displays throughout.

The whale exhibit was actually really fascinating but the best part of the museum is going onto their Tall Ship that's moored outside on the harbour. It was so surreal to be able to walk around the deck and to explore the hull and cabin quarters.

We left this part to the very end of our visit and actually ran out of time because the museum was closing so we had to rush through it. I would recommend seeing this first if you're short on time

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Het Scheepvaartmuseum National Maritime Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.