We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish science at school had been like this place.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Science Center NEMO

Science Center NEMO
Oosterdok 2, 1011 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))
+31 900 9191100
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$55*
and up
I amsterdam Card - City Pass for Amsterdam
Ranked #78 of 576 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This unique and dramatic green copper building houses Amsterdam's science and technology center, where visitors are actively engaged in hands-on displays, computer simulations and various kinds of experiments.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wish science at school had been like this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We have been here twice and had a fab time on both visits.Each floor has a different theme and you can watch,play and use the displays to see how or why things work.The building is ship shaped and from the top you get a wonderful view of the dam.Take a picnic as food expensive and basic or none at all if you get there late.If you are interested in the sciences it is a full day of fun,and if not so interested in science just enjoy it.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    503
    393
    183
    66
    27
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Szombathely, Hungary
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Science with fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We were there 2 weeks ago, it was really fun, as an adult too. You can learn and read a lot of cleverness and also try them. For kids can be amazing. From the terrace unfold a really good sight for Amsterdam.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullamore, Ireland
2 reviews
“Only good for kids”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I spent a Monday morning here (1hr actually) in March 2014. As an avid science fan, I was looking forward to spending my morning here and I was disappointed to learn that this is really only for young kids. It feels very "Nickelodeon", bright colours and displays everywhere. There were some interesting items at it, and had I been young, or not know anything about science, I would have been much more amused. I can't really fault them as there was nothing wrong with it, but maybe it really should be advertised as a Science Center for kids

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Unstructured and therefore hard to comprehend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I went there with my husband specifically to look at exhibits as we are starting a childrens museum in another country. Although the place was full of kids who seemed to have fun, we thought the layout of the museum is not carefully planned, kids jump from one subject to another which makes it hard to comprehend and to structure the knowledge obtained.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sur, Oman
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Architecture and place for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This place was amazing for both kids and teenagers. Has lot of interactive science stuff for kids to play with. The architecture is also amazing! Is a must visit if you're with kids

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Science Center NEMO also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Science Center NEMO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Science Center NEMO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.