We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

BB In the Jordaan

windows from 3 sides, high ceiling
windows from 3 sides, high ceiling
windows from 3 sides, high ceiling
diningtable and bedsofa
outside
same window from inside
fridge, cooker in background
Amsterdam
|
Condo/Apartment – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MilenaKr
Kiev, Ukraine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This apartment is the best place one can imagine for the weekend or a longer stay in Amsterdam. The atmosphere is very cozy with a smell of individuality. The location is convenient to reach most attraction. The apartment is very well equipped. A bottle of wine was waiting for us when we dropped in. The place also has a wonderful little inner yard. In general, the place is strongly recommended!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JodiBe
Montrose, BC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice, but not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My first impression of this apartment was that it looked nicer in the photos and that pretty much was my feeling after spending several days there in March.

The location was okay. If I were to do it again I'd try to be a little closer in to the centre of the canal area of town. It was a pretty long walk back and forth each day with no trains or buses stopping close to our location. There were lots of small coffee shops and restaurants close by, which was good.

The owner's daughter lives in the complex where the apartment is located, but I felt like any contact with her was at her convenience, not mine. There was a bottle of wine for us when we arrived, which was nice.

Overall I found the condition of the unit to be disappointing. It was rather grimy and a little rundown. That I can manage with, but the beds were both quite uncomfortable. My 18-year-old son and I traveled together and we both felt like it wasn't a place to relax together when we weren't exploring.

There was also construction in the courtyard right outside our window the whole time we were there. It was never mentioned to us prior to renting and I would have liked to have known.

Although the location did have wireless internet it was terrible and we had to use our own data connections to get online.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
3 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
2 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
3 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 2 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The anticipation of the place - the reality was a let down. Having two rooms with beds even if one was a pull-out.
Liked least: Overall condition of the place. It wasn't horrible, but it felt neglected and wasn't worth the money.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 2, 2012
Thanks for the tip to point out more clearly to my guests where exactly around the corner they can find a busstop with 4 lines to all possible directions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
IsabelLub...
South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect stay in heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
3
people found this review helpful

We were welcomed at the apartment when we arrived and everything we needed to know was explained to us. The apartment is beautiful, airy and light and had absolutely everything we could wish for. The location was perfect for wandering around in the area - not so touristy and with grocery shops just a few hundred meters away, you really feel like a local! With public transport stops (trams and buses) just a short walk away, it was very easy to get to the rest of Amsterdam - and with the long summer days we could use them till late at night. We adored our apartment and if we were ever to return to Amsterdam, this is the place we would stay!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Appearance, location, really no complaints!
Liked least: We travel a lot and most times it is easy to find a few things that niggle, but not here. Great place.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anna B
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Cosy, friendly and tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

During September 2011 my family and I spent four splendid days in Amsterdam. We enjoyed museums and architecture (both my husband and I are art historians) but we also had the opportunity to feel ourself somehow insiders of the true citylife thanks to the exquisite hospitality of Julia Nouwens. The apartment is located in a quite and lovely courtyard, has plenty of light, and it combines the qualities of an historical building with linear and tasteful modern design. Our two years old daughter loved it from the first moment (even if she was not allowed to climb alone the stairs to the upper bedroom). Fresh flowers and a bottle of wine welcomed us as well as a baby chair, a baby bad and all the equipments for a confortable and pleasant stay. We also extremely enjoyed the Jordaan, a quarter where family like us use to live. Ten minuts walk from the chanals bell, we could shop vegetables and fruits at the local market, sit in cosy little cafès, explore with our kid all the playgrounds of the neighbourhoods. I can warmly recommend this BB to anyone, not last because of the polite, cultivated and correct person of the owner.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the style of the furnishing, the green courtyard, the location
Liked least: the staircase with little protection
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$151
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Julia N
Speaks English, French, German, Dutch
Listed since : May 2010
Response Rate: 70 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 12 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing