We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samurai sauce baby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Voetboogstraat 31-33, 1012 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 6 54787000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 3,029 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Samurai sauce baby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Frittes,chips,French fries,fries,whatever you call it,wherever you've eaten it,there is no chips in the world that taste like this.buy a large put a combo of spicy and mayo or samurai.get in early as queues are long all day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mojay1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your 5 stars review ``samurai sauce baby``. We are very happy to read that no chips in the world taste like the chips of Vleminckx Fries.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Really really good fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I like my fries. And I really liked these fries a lot. Regarding the hype and so on, well, where do fries go on from very good or excellent?
You will enjoy the fries, certainly so.
Except for that, it is nothing more to it.
Will certainly pop by again when in Amsterdam

Helpful?
Thank Dharmaboy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Nice to read your review ``really really good fries``.
We are looking forward to see you again next time.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Always a party! Best fries ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

When in Amsterdam, do as the Amsterdammers do: at least I never manage to be in town without visiting this place. Simple and straightforward, no hassle, just taste fries as they should be.

Helpful?
Thank Koen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 stars ranking ``Always a party! Best fries ever``. we are happy that you enjoy the fries by Vleminckx.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best fries in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I tried loads but these are surely the best! The place can be hard to find but u`ll be rewarded! Get the medium size for 2,70+0,60(sauce)€!

Helpful?
Thank Pheego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your review ``best fries in Amsterdam``. We are happy to know that you enjoy the fries and say it´s the best.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The best fries in town, served from a window( hole in the wall) in the Voetboogsteeg. The fries are tasty and crisp. The sauces come in 25 varities, from the standard mayo to spicy sambal. I prefer the jopie saus.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rien A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your review ``hole in the wall´´. Like to read that your enjoy the fries with jopie sauce.

Hope to see you again at Vleminckx.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing