We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samurai sauce baby” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Voetboogstraat 31-33, 1012 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 54787000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 2,414 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
Penang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Samurai sauce baby”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Frittes,chips,French fries,fries,whatever you call it,wherever you've eaten it,there is no chips in the world that taste like this.buy a large put a combo of spicy and mayo or samurai.get in early as queues are long all day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your 5 stars review ``samurai sauce baby``. We are very happy to read that no chips in the world taste like the chips of Vleminckx Fries.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    104
    27
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Really really good fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I like my fries. And I really liked these fries a lot. Regarding the hype and so on, well, where do fries go on from very good or excellent?
You will enjoy the fries, certainly so.
Except for that, it is nothing more to it.
Will certainly pop by again when in Amsterdam

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Nice to read your review ``really really good fries``.
We are looking forward to see you again next time.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Always a party! Best fries ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

When in Amsterdam, do as the Amsterdammers do: at least I never manage to be in town without visiting this place. Simple and straightforward, no hassle, just taste fries as they should be.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 stars ranking ``Always a party! Best fries ever``. we are happy that you enjoy the fries by Vleminckx.

Hope to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best fries in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I tried loads but these are surely the best! The place can be hard to find but u`ll be rewarded! Get the medium size for 2,70+0,60(sauce)€!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your review ``best fries in Amsterdam``. We are happy to know that you enjoy the fries and say it´s the best.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hole in the wall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

The best fries in town, served from a window( hole in the wall) in the Voetboogsteeg. The fries are tasty and crisp. The sauces come in 25 varities, from the standard mayo to spicy sambal. I prefer the jopie saus.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your review ``hole in the wall´´. Like to read that your enjoy the fries with jopie sauce.

Hope to see you again at Vleminckx.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.