We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best goddamn chips ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Voetboogstraat 31-33, 1012 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 54787000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 2,314 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best goddamn chips ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013 via mobile

I can still taste these in my dreams. About 30 sauces to choose from, amazing Belgian frites. Amazing when you're hungry, mind blowing when you've got the munchies.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your 5 stars ranking ``the best goddamn chips ever´´´. We are happy to read that your enjoyed the fries and the sauce.

We are looking forward to see you again at Vleminckx.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    94
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
geneva
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Found the hidden treasure...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Well worth the time spent finding this place.amazing french fries with great sauces.
Take care of addiction.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Nice to read your review ``found the hidden treasure...``.

Hope to see you again at Vleminckx.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Highlight of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Seemed like we trekked up & down every alley way to find this chip shop but it was well worth it. Thanks to Trip Advisor recommendations we found this hidden gem of chip heaven.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your 5 stars ranking ``highlight of the day´´. Hope you enjoyed the fries and the sauce.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazingly good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I don't know if these are really the best fries in Amsterdam, but I'm pretty sure they were the best I had when I was there.
The prices might seem a bit high but it's worth it, because these fries taste absolutely amazing and they're just addicting. Crunchy on the outside, soft on the inside... I think I burned my tongue several times since I couldn't wait for them to cool a bit. The sauces are also really good, I had the mayo and curry, and they both went very well with the fries.
So, if you have some time and want to have a good snack in Amsterdam, I suggest you visit this place! It might be slightly crowded, though, since it is very popular.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your 5 stars ranking ``amazingly good.``. Nice to read that you enjoyed the fries and the mayo with curry.

We are looking forward to see you again.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BEST CHIPS EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of chips, but these were definitely worth queuing for! You can choose from 3 difference sizes and a whole range of toppings! We even went back to get more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your 5 stars review ``best chips ever``. Nice to read that you´ve come back.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.