We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST CHIPS EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Voetboogstraat 31-33, 1012 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
+31 6 54787000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 3,030 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Cash Only, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Centrum
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“BEST CHIPS EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I'm not a huge fan of chips, but these were definitely worth queuing for! You can choose from 3 difference sizes and a whole range of toppings! We even went back to get more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your 5 stars review ``best chips ever``. Nice to read that you´ve come back.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
San Francisco
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Spot for Fries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I had this idea that in Amsterdam there would be a frites shop on every corner with an endless variety of sauces. Apparently not- this is really the only one that has variety beyond the sauces you will get at Febo. My favorite so far is green peppercorn.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rocklobstaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your 5 stars ranking ´´The spot for Fries´´. We are happy to read that you enjoy the fries with th green peppercorn sauce.

Hope to see you again at Vleminckx.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Not sure what all the fuss is about, pretty average chips in all honesty. Certainly not worth making a detour to visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 0smudger0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very good fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Very good fries and a huge selection of sauces.
The service is very fast (but friendly).
If I have to be entirely honest I've eaten fries in other places in Amsterdam and they were as delicious but I guess that if you want to experiment with sauces this is the place for you!
No seating

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bri00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

nice to read your review ``very good fries``. Happy to read that you enjoy the fries and your stay in Amsterdam.
Hope to see you next time.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The chips are wonderful because they're really homemade and they have a varieties of sauces. I loved the curry one!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vleminckx, Manager at Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your 5 stars ranking ``Delish!``. We are happy to read that you enjoy the fries with curry sauce.
Hope to see you again at Vleminckx.

Best regards,

Vleminckx Fries
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing