We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fries in Amsterdam!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx

Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx
Voetboogstraat 31-33, 1012 XK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 6 54787000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Vleminckx the Sausmeester (sauce master) is located in Amsterdam since 1957. Vleminckx sells Belgium fries and is specialized in 25 types of sauces. For over 55 years the Sauce master stands for quality, sells home-made fries and that nowadays is unique. Many locals and tourist visit this spot in the city centre of Amsterdam. We are known for the many different sauces which can be chosen at the paper cornet Belgium fries.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“The best fries in Amsterdam!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I heard about Vleminckx Fries before I left for Amsterdam and knew it was somewhere I just had to try.

The fries are out of this world! Awesome! I went back three times while I was there. Having fries with mayonnaise is a Dutch treat. They come hot from the fryer and include a cute wooden pick to eat them with. Don’t miss this great snack while you’re in Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    95
    26
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best Fries In The World.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Every time I visit Amsterdam, I have to get me some fries from Vleminckx.

Crispy and Delicious. The best in the World. Can't recommend them enough!

Usually take my fries with plain mayo, but the green pepper mayo is delicious as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, WI
1 review
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The fries, incredible. The sauces, even better. My wife and I shared a large order. I asked the young man for a recommendation since there were many topping choices. He asked if we like spicy....we do. He added a spicy curry sauce. Unbelievable ! Highly recommended. Make the trip. We walked over a mile to get them.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Katy, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fries and sauce were good, but did not warrant the long walk.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I walked from my hotel near the train station to try the fries at Vleminckx. They were definitely good fries, and the peanut satay sauce was good, but it was not worth a trip to get them. If you are near the museums and want fries, this place is probably as good or better than any other.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Fries”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great fries. Light and crispy and a range of sauces. Very tasty. Very popular. Not much more to say really!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vlaams Friteshuis Vleminckx, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;