We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice authentic thai food, great selection, great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Na Siam

Na Siam
kerkstraat 332 | 1017 JA, 1017JA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020-4210505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #146 of 2,323 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Tel 020 421 0505
Restaurant details
Description: Tel 020 421 0505
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“nice authentic thai food, great selection, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

it's a rather small venue but the food was quite authentic compared to what it was like in Thailand. I had a green curry with chicken which was very good. The springrolls tasted less authentic but they were nevertheless good. My colleague really enjoyed his chicken satay (was quite good, I tried one as well) and then the massaman curry with chicken. The guys that work there are extremely nice, can only recommend the place!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    18
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Thai in Amsterdam since 1998!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Though there used to be a terrific place (sadly no longer in business) just south of Damstraat on the Oudezijds Achterburgwal, for the past 15 years Na Siam has without fail been the go-to place for authentic Thai food, for me, my wife, and a growing circle of friends and neighbors. The Thai + Dutch couple who run it have always been exceptionally gracious, and the soups and curries consistently delicious. The atmosphere is a unique blend of Dutch gezelligheid (which remains tangible in the traditional Amsterdam Brown Bar decor) and Thai hospitality. Convenient to busy Utrechtsestraat but quiet enough to chill out with a Singha and a shrimp green curry. (A favorite not on the official menu that I always get them to make.) A couple of years ago, they were asked to cater for a combination of Dutch and Thai royalty, so there's a high level imprimatur for you!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have been eating at this place for eight years nog and it has never ever been a disappointing experience. No matter if you go here with a large group (ask the owner Bart to recommend some dishes and he will make a choice you will not regret), a romantic dinner, late take-away or enjoy the catering service, the highly stable quality is outstanding, The staff are highly client friendly and they will always find you a table and make you feel at home. If you are traveling for business, this is a place where you easily can go by yourself and you will be welcomed as a friend by the staff. Try the mixed starters to get a feel for the quality and what else is on the menu. I had not been here for a while and came back this week, nothing has changed, still as perfect as ever. Worth a visit!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice food and very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place was recommended to me from the owner of the Hotel I stayed in. I visited Na Siam very late in the evening, it must have been nearly 22:00 with two of my colleagues. It was the best food I had in Amsterdam. And the owner, I guess it's the owner, was very friendly and funny too. The price was also very affordable. If you don't like the hustle and bustle of typical tourist places, then this place is just right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best Thai food since Thailand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

You must go to Na Siam if you enjoy Thai and especially if you enjoy authentic tasting Thai. The Massaman curry was a real treat to have since many Thai places don't have it on the menu and it was exactly as we remembered it back in Thailand, if not even better! Also very friendly and comfortable setting, with very affordable prices. If we lived here we would be ordering weekly!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Na Siam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Na Siam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Na Siam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.