We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam

Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam
Museumplein 10, 1071 DJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))
+31 20 573 2911
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$32*
and up
Amsterdam Canal Cruise and Stedelijk Museum
Ranked #47 of 405 things to do in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Stedelijk Museum is an international institution in Amsterdam dedicated to modern and contemporary art and design. The Museum aims to provide a home for art, artists and a broad range of publics, where artistic production is actively fostered, presented, protected, reconsidered and renewed
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Best contemporary art museum I've ever been to.
It looks and feels modern inside and outside. Go and see Russian Avant-garde, Mondrian, Malevich, Pollock, german expressionism, and, which impressed me most of all, CoBrA group. Unforgettable abstract paintings of Constant and Karel Appel.
Contemporary exhibitions of design and photography were fun!
Plus, good coffee & wi-fi.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Polina_Dyachkina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Modern and unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you are looking forward to more recent decades passed by and not just 18th century. this one is a refreshing change, where apple computers are as important as an ergonomically designed chair. The exhibits are eclectic, but interesting. worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank monsezyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Well worth the visit - if you are seriously interested in 'modern' art. Perhaps ensure your companion is too! As were the other galleries, the paintings are well laid out and accompanied by excellent printed explanation. The gallery provides a follow on to the Rijksmuseum and van Gogh and for the history of art lover, is a definite must see.
Also - you can walk in without queuing!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really interesting, lots to see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Really enjoyable museum lots of interesting art works to see. Good concessions available for student groups that book ahead of the visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank yumscrumdiddly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiichita, KS
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Serendipitous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a gem. I was going to the Van Gogh museum and walked by this treasure (its half a block away). After being renovated for I believe 10 years it has recently reopened. My curiosity peeked, I stopped in for what I anticipated would be a brief visit. Not so. I was entranced by the exhibits The inventiveness and quality of the displays and the variety of the collection. Part mid 20th century and contemporary crafts - clay, furniture, book design and a lot more Plus fine art from the same era. Mostly Dutch oriented but influenced by European and U.S. culture too. I left by mid afternoon having been throughly enthralled. The Van Goghs had to wait until the next day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueHighwaysTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing