We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inspiring” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam

Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam
Museumplein 10, 1071 DJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
+31 20 573 2911
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #32 of 307 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Stedelijk Museum is an international institution in Amsterdam dedicated to modern and contemporary art and design. The Museum aims to provide a home for art, artists and a broad range of publics, where artistic production is actively fostered, presented, protected, reconsidered and renewed
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Best contemporary art museum I've ever been to.
It looks and feels modern inside and outside. Go and see Russian Avant-garde, Mondrian, Malevich, Pollock, german expressionism, and, which impressed me most of all, CoBrA group. Unforgettable abstract paintings of Constant and Karel Appel.
Contemporary exhibitions of design and photography were fun!
Plus, good coffee & wi-fi.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    287
    186
    73
    27
    16
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Modern and unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

If you are looking forward to more recent decades passed by and not just 18th century. this one is a refreshing change, where apple computers are as important as an ergonomically designed chair. The exhibits are eclectic, but interesting. worth a visit.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Interesting and informative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Well worth the visit - if you are seriously interested in 'modern' art. Perhaps ensure your companion is too! As were the other galleries, the paintings are well laid out and accompanied by excellent printed explanation. The gallery provides a follow on to the Rijksmuseum and van Gogh and for the history of art lover, is a definite must see.
Also - you can walk in without queuing!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, East Sussex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Really interesting, lots to see.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Really enjoyable museum lots of interesting art works to see. Good concessions available for student groups that book ahead of the visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiichita, KS
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Serendipitous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

What a gem. I was going to the Van Gogh museum and walked by this treasure (its half a block away). After being renovated for I believe 10 years it has recently reopened. My curiosity peeked, I stopped in for what I anticipated would be a brief visit. Not so. I was entranced by the exhibits The inventiveness and quality of the displays and the variety of the collection. Part mid 20th century and contemporary crafts - clay, furniture, book design and a lot more Plus fine art from the same era. Mostly Dutch oriented but influenced by European and U.S. culture too. I left by mid afternoon having been throughly enthralled. The Van Goghs had to wait until the next day.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.