We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam's Most Beautiful Boutique Hotel On a Canal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Save Saved
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amsterdam's Most Beautiful Boutique Hotel On a Canal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2009

I spent five nights at the Dylan Hotel in October while visiting a daughter in graduate school in Amsterdam.
The Dylan is everything that a 5 star hotel should be.
Top service without the attitude, lovely rooms (perhaps needing a little touching up), with a highly rated and delicious restaurant, Vinkeles on the premises. The staff was always very friendly and accommodating. It is an extremely elegant hotel.
The location is central Amsterdam with the medieval canals, like the Singel within a five minute walk.
Two other restaurants stand out from that visit:
Balthazar's Keuken in the Jordaan neighborhood very close to
the Dylan Hotel. Book early. My daughter chose it for her next
birthday dinner with friends.
Amsterdam's finest fish restaurant, near the RAI Center and a cab ride away, Visandeschelde.
I booked a return to the Dylan for March and have already been contacted by a member of the staff welcoming me back.

  • Liked — The stunning decor in the public rooms and the people who work there.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    65
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
30
157
10
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

We just returned from a beautiful 3-night stay at the Dylan. The location could not possibly be better right in the heart of the 9 small streets, and the hotel has a perfect inspired dutch style - simply gorgeous. We were lucky to be traveling off season, and received a very good value in the "garden room" - with beautiful soft decor on the top floor overlooking the canals. The room was overly spacious. It is expensive but perfect for a splurge romantic weekend, and look for the off-season values. I agree that the bed could have been more comfortable and we asked for an extra duvet which helped a lot, but overall a very beautiful sexy place. For a great dinner, try Lust - right around the corner - right out of the hotel, right again - it books up on busy nights - really great atmosphere and food.

  • Liked — location, style
  • Disliked — expense
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2008

We stayed in Amsterdam for the weekend for a blend of business and pleasure. This hotel is wonderful and is in the authentic heart of Amsterdam - it was great to walk out of the hotel and feel the pulse of the city immediately.

The design of the hotel is just exquisite. It underlines the true sense of style that the Dutch are renowned for.

The size of the rooms and the comfort of the mattresses left a little to be desired... when you stay here you realise you're paying for the location and the fantastic design of the hotel - i sleep anywhere usually but found myself tossing and turning on both nights due to the mattress.

Our stay at the hotel felt like a real treat, but it has to be said an expensive one. We both left feeling we had shared a special experience and would recommend the Dylan to anyone who wants to splash out.

  • Liked — Design and location
  • Disliked — Beds and size of rooms
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Dylan is fantastic, so stylish and yet the atmosphere is friendly rather than stuffy...
Reception is very cool, and we were checked in straight away, no wait. The receptionist then brought us to our room - no. 13, on the second floor - and our bags were brought to us 5 minutes later.
Our room (standard) wasn't particularly big, but had 2 huge windows looking onto the neighbour's gardens, flat screen TV and Bose sound system. Well stocked minibar, safe and bathrobes standard. The bathroom was the same size of the room, with a lovely stone sink and bath / shower, and also had a huge window.
The bar and the restaurant are lovely, and so is the patio - although we didn't get to sit outside. The service is excellent!
The Dylan is located in a quiet, residential area, yet within easy walking distance from lovely restaurants, bars, cafes, museums, etc. The many little cafes and restaurants on Prinsengratch canal are wonderful for people watching.
We loved the Joordan area too for restaurants and nightlife. A lot nicer than Rembrandt square and Dam Square!

  • Liked — The general style of the place, and the location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2008

Just had a night in the Dylan on business, but stayed there all day having meetings. It manages to be cool and stylish but not up itself or trying to be something it isn't. Service was superb, the room (a garden view suite) was huge for a city like Amsterdam, and the food excellent. Seriously beautiful building, too, in an amazing location. OK, my room was 750 Euros for a night, so it's not cheap but if you want something special, go there. I go all over the world on business, this is one seriously world-class hotel.

Stayed September 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2008

We had the pleasure of spendning 3 night´s at The Dylan in May 01-04. We reserved two completely different roomcategories, one stadard duplex. The duplex has a minimalistic white design, spacious with bathroom on the second level. We also reserved the Manhattansuite, Hempels masterpiece and personal replica, 45 sqm. The Manhattan is a designersdream, black & gold with beautiful woodenfloor in dark Mahogany. The Suite is located on the second floor with 5 magnificent large windows facing the Zen garden, draped with hundreds of meters of tafted silk. A lot of heart and compassion was put in to the Manhattansuite when it was designed, no question about that. Recently FG Stilj made a fantastic job remodeling all public areas. Fantastic and very tastfully done. As the owner of TDG Design Group and with a lot of exerience in "hard" design, i will give The Dylan a 5 out of 5, this is without no doubt the best boutique hotel in Europe.

Finally, maybe the most important Dylan access:

The staff

Kind, helpfull and always one step a head.

We are looking forward staying at The Dylan soon again,


Best Regads

P.G. Toréus

(Sweden)

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

We stayed in the Dylan for two nights in May and I couldn't recommend this hotel more. It is very centrally located (close to main shopping, restaurants, sights) and the styling and decor are top class. The rooms are luxurious and spacious with a well equipped bathroom (although shower did have some hot/cold issues). The main positive I have about this hotel however is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. Great for a short stay, although its central location means it lacks some of the facilities you see in top hotels (pool, spa etc).

  • Liked — Location, service and decor
  • Disliked — Lack of extra facilities (good gym etc)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.