We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Room & Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Newport Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Room & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at the Dylan for a treat at the end of our trip. This was a splurge and it was worth every dollar. The hotel, staff and room were great!

2 Tips for thrifty travelers:
1- the bartender sometimes thinks your not worth waiting on if you are wearing jeans and a t-shirt. We were the only ones in the bar so we thought it would be nice to get a night cap before bed. He seem un-interested.
2- The breakfast staff was so great and meet our ever need. The breakfast was also open super early which was nice so we could eat before our flight. I wish someone would have told us prior that the continental breakfast would be $60 euros for 2.

We would return and just skip the in house bar and breakfast because everything else was great!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    68
    27
    18
    11
See reviews for
34
170
10
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed in the hotel for 2 nights for our honeymoon and it was a fantastic experience. The room is neat, tidy and stylish. The staff are helpful and nice. The hotel is well located in the city center which basically everything is within walking distance. Maybe the only flip side is breakfast is not included. But all in all, wonderful boutique hotel and the Dylan can ensure you can enjoy Amsterdam this lovely city.

Stayed October 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review! We are absolutely thrilled that you chose The Dylan as the place to stay during your honeymoon!

It was our pleasure taking care of you on this special occasion and we look forward to your return!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacogdoches, Texas, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hoping to return again to this very special boutique hotel that is centrally located on the Keizersgracht canal. Excellent and helpful staff along with contemporary décor within historic building. Interesting and safe neighborhood for walking and exploring Amsterdam.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Greetings from The Dylan team!

Thank you very much for your kind words. We would be thrilled to have you back!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you want to stay in a luxury, designer, boutique hotel, The Dylan might suit you. The front desk was a little stressed when we were there, but the concierge, Michael Wigman was MOST helpful. He was great for restaurant recommendations and reservations, coffee shop info, as well as nightlife... The BAR is fabulous at the hotel, the room with the fireplace.. Luscious wood carving, supple leather seating, rich tones of gold and honey. The drinks were great, as was the caviar we had. The Michelin Star Restaurant Vinkeles is a favorite of mine in Amsterdam, so it's great it's at the hotel. The location couldn't be better, Set within the “grachtengordel”, the city’s central canal-belt, as well as in Amsterdam’s chic shopping district, “The Nine Streets” (“De Negen straatjes”), The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam provides the ideal base for your stay in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had the loft suite or the Jacob van Campen Suite... It was the only 2 story room in the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great review here on Tripadvisor and for recommending The Dylan and its features!

We look very much forward welcoming you again soon in The Dylan and Restaurant Vinkeles!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Flawless - On our way home I asked my wife how would she describe the Dylan.
She replied - Flawless!
The Dylan is among the few real boutique hotels that can proudly carry this badge, and are worth their price. The design, look and feel of the hotel is relaxing and fashionable. The hotel's location is probably the best to be found in Amsterdam, situated between the 9 streets canals, with lots of stores, cafés and restaurants worth visiting. The hotel is also a 5 to 10 min walk from most of the popular and cultural sites in town (but not in the middle of the crowds of tourists). The bed in our room is one of the best we ever had and the room is cleaned a number of times a day (nice to come back to a number of times a day). To top it all the staff lead by a hands on GM Mr.Rene Bornmannare are very welcoming and helpful.
I have an issue with mini bars in hotels and there over prices goods, but other than that we have only great things to say about The Dylan and will return in a heart beat.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

What a great review! Many thanks for sharing your experience here on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for complementing our boutique style and location. We feel very blessed to be located here in the midst of the amazing 9 streets, Amsterdam's own little SOHO!

We hope you look back on an amazing stay in Amsterdam and look forward welcoming you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Best things first.The hotel is stunning. Its small but beautiful. The courtyard is lovely for a drink and the staff were very attentive and friendly. We loved the hotels bikes and found that this was the best way to enjoy such a fantastic city. We loved the hotels location.Infact I thought that it was the prettiest area in Amsterdam and we easily walked or cycled to the busier areas.

We paid extra for a room with two floors. Unfortunately the room was a little disappointing for the money spent. It was very small indeed and overlooked a roof and fire escape! We would have been just as happy in a regular room. Although small, the decor is nice, the bathroom and shower were lovely, My other small complaints were that the towels were very cheap and shredded!! I was very disappointed that there is no breakfast included in the price at all. I dont understand why they cant include at least a continental breakfast at those prices. Yes , do visit The Dylan, but just book a regular room and be prepared for a large bill.

Room Tip: Dont pay extra for the split level rooms, not worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,
A great thanks for taking the time to review your stay at The Dylan here on Tripadvisor, this is highly appreciated!
You are completely right, this beautiful canal district is best to be discovered on our Dylan Bikes! We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed Amsterdam this way!
We are very sorry to learn that you found the room to be disappointing and that the towels were not up to standard. We value our guest comments very much and will definitely discuss this with our housekeeping manager! We hope these issues did not make your stay in any way uncomfortable.
We are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our breakfast service. Please note that next to the Breakfast buffet we have a smaller a la carte breakfast menu available.
We hope to welcome you again and will definitely make note of your room preferences!

Best wishes from Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from four nights at The Dylan with my wife for our 20th wedding anniversary. Obviously a special occasion, we wanted a special place and were prepared to pay for it. We have traveled pretty extensively in many major cities so I think I am able to put our experience at the Dylan in context.

Overall, the Dylan is a special place. The hotel is beautifully and tastefully appointed, very classy and even a bit understated. This is particularly evident in the common areas such as the courtyard, the bar and dining rooms, and open-air back garden area--all absolutely beautiful. The staff were really the same: well-mannered and courteous and highly professional. The location is in the middle of everything--fantastic shopping, access to the old town, museums, sights, etc.

Our room was a trifle disappointing. I believe we had a 540 sf Canal View room which they call a Junior Suite. I've been in overpriced rooms in London and Paris that were smaller, but not by a huge amount. The room had some beautiful features such as huge windows, and a very nice bed as well as a professional-looking espresso machine with so many buttons we didn't dare try it out. On the negative side the bathroom was fairly ordinary (definitely not up to London standards!) despite having a nice tub that we didn't use. Supplied amenities such as soap, shampoo, etc were sub par--an easy fix but still a bit annoying. In addition it was surprising that a Junior Suite offered nothing except a bed, two chairs and a small table. No desk or couch or anything.

A more serious drawback was the noise level. A Canal View sounds nice and I think they charged more for it (not certain) but Amsterdam in late September is a party town, with people on the street having fun, firing up their scooters, etc well past midnight. Additionally, we were woken up by people returning to neighboring rooms late. They weren't being particularly loud, there is just nothing in terms of a hallway or other buffer to keep the noise down.

We did not try the restaurant, mostly because it did not appear to be getting much business and we wanted something more lively. I suspect this was because of the prices (I noticed a couple of entrees over 50 Euros) not because of the quality which is reputed to be excellent. We did have breakfast every morning which I would rate a B. The included breakfast allowed us to order two eggs in addition to a modest buffet. Regrettably they slapped me with a 10 Euro bill when I ordered some French toast.

All of this is leading up to my conclusion that while the Dylan is a lovely place, what we received did not justify the 900 Euros a night we paid. You can call me trivial, but for 900 Euro I should get some French toast, decent soap and shampoo, maybe a desk to write on. The gym should not consist of a 12x6 room with a bike (broken), treadmill and elliptical and 1970's vintage universal weight machine. I should not be charged 15 euro per day for a bicycle. Etc, etc. Anyway, you get my point. I think the management needs to reassess the price point or at least how they price their amenities, in my opinion. I liked it, but I didn't love it.

Room Tip: Unless you sleep heavily (or it's winter) a courtyard or garden room will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a detailed review about your experiences during your stay in The Dylan Amsterdam. We take our guests’ comments very seriously and discuss this with our team. We always try to see if we can do things better and if there is a way to improve our services, therefore we thank you for sharing your findings and experiences.

Thank you for complimenting the special features of our hotel room! We are sorry that you were not able to try our delicious Illy Coffee maker in your room as this is a little feature not to be missed! For next time, please ask our front desk to give you a short explanation! We are sorry to hear that you experienced your bathroom as ordinary, as boutique hotel we boasts different style bathrooms, we hope our other bathrooms will be perhaps more to your liking.
We do want to address that their actually was a seating area consisting out of two luxury lounge chairs instead of a large couch and that all our rooms feature a desk with seating.
We have carefully selected our Miller Harris amenities as Miller Harris is a widely perceived luxury brand suitable for all guests and sensitive for irritation and allergies.

We can imagine the noise level from outside was very inconvenient. Maybe next time a room located in our secluded garden will suit you better, however we are of course located in the heart of Amsterdam and unfortunately cannot completely guarantee silence from outside. We also offer hotel rooms that are not located at the canal side where you will probably will have less nuisance from outside.

We believe that you referred to our Michelin Awarded Restaurnat Vinkeles in your review. This is indeed more expensive than for example our Brasserie. Please note that the prices are based on the complexity of the dishes and the high quality of the selected ingredients. We feel sorry that you did not get to experience Restaurant Vinkeles. Also we are very surprised to read that the Restaurant was quiet, as it has been fully booked over the last month.

We can imagine that you were surprised for the extra charge for the French toast and I would like hereby to apologize for that fact that this was not clearly communicated to you. Maybe for next time our new breakfast concept suits more your preferences. It is a fixed breakfast for €15,00 which exist out of different breakfast elements.

The gym is an extra service we offer towards our guests, it is a boutique gym that provides just the equipment you will need for a full body workout. Indeed the bike trainer was out of order for moment in September, we are sorry for the inconvenience. We are glad to inform you that the bike trainer is at the moment properly working again!

I hope you will decide to stay with us again when you will visit Amsterdam and you will experience our concept in value with our services.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.