We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel that would satisfy the most discerning tastes!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel that would satisfy the most discerning tastes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Dylan last weekend and had a wonderful time. This classy and very elegant hotel beguiled us with its beautiful rooms, subtle and excellent service, wonderful food and extensive wine list. It is definitely for someone who is discerning and has elegant tastes. Their attention to detail and helpfulness is unsurpassed.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review, thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor!

We are thrilled to read you have enjoyed our hotel rooms and our food and beverage facilities. Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    71
    27
    18
    11
See reviews for
39
179
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

I stayed in The Dylan in May. Excellent in every aspect, more than a hotel is just a treasure in the heart of the city. We have dinner in Occo: Professional service and both, food and champagne, were extremely satisfactory. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your great review and for your kind words!
We are delighted to read that you experienced excellence in every aspect of our hotel and that you would highly recommend us.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at The Dylan Amsterdam!

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Member of Small Luxury Hotel, you can't go wrong with Dylan. No one room shares similar design, which mine was unfortunately smallish. However, the bar, courtyard and the Michelin-stared restaurant are the highlights of this amazing place for me. Would be returning to stay again on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are excited to read that you experienced The Dylan Amsterdam as an amazing place and consider Bar Barbou, the Courtyard and Michelin awarded restaurant Vinkeles as our highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Dylan!

René Bornman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have really enjoyed our stay at The Dylan. The staff is amazing and will help with any need. The room, a suite overlooking the canal, is wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel for travelers with small children. The hotel gave our daughter a small toy bear on check in and set up a nice bed for her in the corner of the room. Location is great, an easy walk to all we wanted to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a small luxury hotel on one of the main canals. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Although we didn't get the early check-in we had requested (and check-in isn't until 4 pm), we did get upgraded to a pretty spectacular room under the gabled roof. It's not for everyone, though, because you had to walk up 10 narrow and winding stairs to get there (and that's after we opened our door!) It was one large room, with two sofas and a TV at one end, the bed in the middle, and the bath facilities at the other end. Lots of skylights let in lots of light and although they had shades, it's still hard to avoid the 4 a.m. sunrise. The bed was comfy and the amenities were good, but the vanity area was too dark and a full-length mirror would have been nice. There are several short sets of narrow stairs throughout the hotel, so if that's a problem for you, don't stay here. Breakfast food and service were very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that liked our staff and the upgraded hotel room.

Thank you for your feedback about the full-length mirror and about the light as in the vanity area and the shades , it is always very helpful for The Dylan Amsterdam to receive feedback of our guests about the things we can improve. We hope any of this, did not make your stay in any way uncomfortable.

We hope to welcome you soon again at The Dylan Amsterdam.

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in room 46, a serendipity styled room and it was everything we wanted. The room was clean and styled and was a perfect place to relax. It was really quiet too. It was the perfect 5 star boutique experience even though it is only 4 star? I think the room is comparable to that of a Shangri la type hotel except it is boutique and a much smaller hotel. Amsterdam was beautiful and I was glad we stayed in the nine streets area where everything was close and it was easy to wander along the canals. The staff was friendly and inviting on arrival. The turndown service every night was also great-loved the cookies left by our bed one night. There is quality coffee and tea in the room, and room service is available 24 hours a day though we did not take advantage of that. Just wished there could have been more access to drinkable water. We were given one bottle of water per night and it just seems drinking water should be freely accessible in a hotel like this. The room was a good size for a double and the bathroom was designed perfectly, separate compartmentalized spaces for everything and all the amenities one could want. The room is also air conditioned. The bed was really comfortable. The concierge was helpful: they arranged a taxi to take us to the Airport and also gave us information on local bars, and when to get in line for the Anne Frank House, etc. The lounge bar at the hotel was really nice and beautiful as well. We ate at Vinkeles and the meal was unique and delicious. Unlike many Michelin starred restaurants, we left feeling full. Overall, this is one of my favorite hotels I've stayed at. I will return to Amsterdam for sure and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great and comprehensive review about your stay in room #46 at The Dylan. We appreciate to read that we belong to one of your favorite hotels!

We look forward welcoming you again at The Dylan Amsterdam!

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed with a colleague in two rooms for one night while on business in the city. Very relaxed ambience and lots of character in the downstairs restaurant / bar areas. There was an outside patio but this was booked for a private function so looked nice but didn't try. Also didn't try the restaurant at the rear but looked interesting if you are there for a few days and highly rated.
Reception staff very pleasant and efficient and everyone seemed friendly.
There is a lift and also lots of curious and winding stairs / corridors to find your room but this gives the hotel an interesting twist. There were 2 ways to reach both of our rooms with one meaning climbing some very narrow and winding stairs. In fact my colleague who's room was at the very top in the eaves needed to negotiate a seriously steep climb to his very large superior room. Not recommended if you have any reason to be a little dizzy or with reduced mobility or even if you have had one drink too many in the town. We however found it added to the character of the place and provided a good talking point while we enjoyed a beer in the comfortable bar.
Hotel is well located within a few hundred yards walk of some good restaurants / bars and the floating flower market if you like that type of thing.
Expensive hotel but very comfortable and in a quiet location, rooms a good standard and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate to read that you would definitely stay again at hotel the Dylan Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you experienced our winding and small stairs in the corridors and rooms as an interesting twist of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Dylan Amsterdam

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, T4B, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.