We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky Charm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
Ko Samui, Thailand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quirky Charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Member of Small Luxury Hotel, you can't go wrong with Dylan. No one room shares similar design, which mine was unfortunately smallish. However, the bar, courtyard and the Michelin-stared restaurant are the highlights of this amazing place for me. Would be returning to stay again on my next visit to Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words, we are excited to read that you experienced The Dylan Amsterdam as an amazing place and consider Bar Barbou, the Courtyard and Michelin awarded restaurant Vinkeles as our highlights.

We look forward to welcoming you again at The Dylan!

René Bornman
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    253
    80
    29
    19
    11
See reviews for
43
205
12
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We have really enjoyed our stay at The Dylan. The staff is amazing and will help with any need. The room, a suite overlooking the canal, is wonderful. I would highly recommend this hotel for travelers with small children. The hotel gave our daughter a small toy bear on check in and set up a nice bed for her in the corner of the room. Location is great, an easy walk to all we wanted to see.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a small luxury hotel on one of the main canals. The staff is very nice and accommodating. Although we didn't get the early check-in we had requested (and check-in isn't until 4 pm), we did get upgraded to a pretty spectacular room under the gabled roof. It's not for everyone, though, because you had to walk up 10 narrow and winding stairs to get there (and that's after we opened our door!) It was one large room, with two sofas and a TV at one end, the bed in the middle, and the bath facilities at the other end. Lots of skylights let in lots of light and although they had shades, it's still hard to avoid the 4 a.m. sunrise. The bed was comfy and the amenities were good, but the vanity area was too dark and a full-length mirror would have been nice. There are several short sets of narrow stairs throughout the hotel, so if that's a problem for you, don't stay here. Breakfast food and service were very good.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read that liked our staff and the upgraded hotel room.

Thank you for your feedback about the full-length mirror and about the light as in the vanity area and the shades , it is always very helpful for The Dylan Amsterdam to receive feedback of our guests about the things we can improve. We hope any of this, did not make your stay in any way uncomfortable.

We hope to welcome you soon again at The Dylan Amsterdam.

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stayed in room 46, a serendipity styled room and it was everything we wanted. The room was clean and styled and was a perfect place to relax. It was really quiet too. It was the perfect 5 star boutique experience even though it is only 4 star? I think the room is comparable to that of a Shangri la type hotel except it is boutique and a much smaller hotel. Amsterdam was beautiful and I was glad we stayed in the nine streets area where everything was close and it was easy to wander along the canals. The staff was friendly and inviting on arrival. The turndown service every night was also great-loved the cookies left by our bed one night. There is quality coffee and tea in the room, and room service is available 24 hours a day though we did not take advantage of that. Just wished there could have been more access to drinkable water. We were given one bottle of water per night and it just seems drinking water should be freely accessible in a hotel like this. The room was a good size for a double and the bathroom was designed perfectly, separate compartmentalized spaces for everything and all the amenities one could want. The room is also air conditioned. The bed was really comfortable. The concierge was helpful: they arranged a taxi to take us to the Airport and also gave us information on local bars, and when to get in line for the Anne Frank House, etc. The lounge bar at the hotel was really nice and beautiful as well. We ate at Vinkeles and the meal was unique and delicious. Unlike many Michelin starred restaurants, we left feeling full. Overall, this is one of my favorite hotels I've stayed at. I will return to Amsterdam for sure and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your great and comprehensive review about your stay in room #46 at The Dylan. We appreciate to read that we belong to one of your favorite hotels!

We look forward welcoming you again at The Dylan Amsterdam!

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed with a colleague in two rooms for one night while on business in the city. Very relaxed ambience and lots of character in the downstairs restaurant / bar areas. There was an outside patio but this was booked for a private function so looked nice but didn't try. Also didn't try the restaurant at the rear but looked interesting if you are there for a few days and highly rated.
Reception staff very pleasant and efficient and everyone seemed friendly.
There is a lift and also lots of curious and winding stairs / corridors to find your room but this gives the hotel an interesting twist. There were 2 ways to reach both of our rooms with one meaning climbing some very narrow and winding stairs. In fact my colleague who's room was at the very top in the eaves needed to negotiate a seriously steep climb to his very large superior room. Not recommended if you have any reason to be a little dizzy or with reduced mobility or even if you have had one drink too many in the town. We however found it added to the character of the place and provided a good talking point while we enjoyed a beer in the comfortable bar.
Hotel is well located within a few hundred yards walk of some good restaurants / bars and the floating flower market if you like that type of thing.
Expensive hotel but very comfortable and in a quiet location, rooms a good standard and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate to read that you would definitely stay again at hotel the Dylan Amsterdam.

We are delighted to read that you experienced our winding and small stairs in the corridors and rooms as an interesting twist of our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again at the Dylan Amsterdam

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We took two nights at the Dylan to be close to the 9 streets area and within walking distance of the galleries and so the Dylan is as good as it gets. The arched entry courtyard is a nice refuge from the mad cyclists of Amsterdam who rule the pavements and roads and you are some distance from the mass tourist meccas. So the location as everyone writes is perfect. What is important then in this review is about value and comfort. The hotel has several mistakes like the shower doors that slide on the outside so the water is waiting for you as you walk out onto the tiles, the too small basin area and the closet with shelves in the middle so you don't have enough depth to hang a dress or suit pants. Minor details but still they could be fixed. When you stay in a hotel, its nice to feel where you are and so many boutiques have good libraries and relaxing areas - there were no books in the entire hotel other than the private guide books we borrowed from the Concierge. When asked, we were told that guests steal books. We gave our room number and instead borrowed them. I bought a few fabulous books on the Canal homes and the history of Amsterdam but if the room rate wasn't so high, I would have donated them. In terms of value, the room rate in excess of Eur 320 per night did not include a breakfast but how costly to the hotel is a continental breakfast of bread, jam and a coffee. It should be included in the room rate. The nightly free bottle of water arrived on one night but the next night we were missed as they did not have enough refillable bottles, so its tap water after all. The minibar large bottle cost Eur 9. Remember this is positioning itself as one of the true luxury boutique hotels in Amsterdam, but at times it was tired with distanced staff and miserly. Lastly excellent beds, quiet rooms, but I never felt that I really stayed at this hotel compared to some other truly boutique luxury hotels where for a few days, you feel it is your hotel in all areas to relax, have a drink, read a book or talk. The Concierge saved the staff as he was truly generous and had empathy with the guests as we experienced and saw with other guests.

Room Tip: Usual advice, higher level room at the back, Avoid looking over the courtyard although it is quiet i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
We have responded to your comments per email.

We do hope to welcome you back soon at The Dylan.

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed at The Dylan in June 2014 (me, my wife, and our 9 year old son). I was debating until the last minute between this hotel and the Andaz down the street. When I checked the rooms I had booked based on size, the Junior Suite at the Dylan was bigger by about 200 sq ft and looked very new on the online pictures. When we got to the hotel, I knew we had made the right choice.

What a lovely building! You walk through this very old entrance, through a cobblestone patio, into a very elegant and extremely-well maintained reception area. The check in process was great, we were shown to our fantastic room (BIG!) which already had the extra bed for our son. It was a very comfortable-sized room overlooking the canal (if at all possible, stay on the canal side, no matter what hotel you go to - it's a different experience).

The common areas are just as great - the bar (intimate and with great bartenders!) where we watched the World Cup games, the breakfast room, and the lounge with a fire place. This hotel made our Amsterdam experience very unique. It is not inexpensive, but worth every Euro and if you go off-season you can get more reasonable rates. I think that if we had stayed anywhere else, our first time in Amsterdam would have been different.

The concierges were also top-notch. Always ready to answer any questions, show us where to go on a map, and booking last-minute dinner reservations.

Just one very minor recommendation to the hotel for improving this already amazing experience: allow your guests to just check out the bikes (with a deposit to your room perhaps) instead of having to pay 15 Euro for the day per bike. I wanted to just cruise around for a little bit in the morning before the streets got crowded, but didn't want to have to pay 15 Euro for 15 minutes, and wasn't offered any other option. I know it's not a large amount compared to what you're paying for the room, but feels a bit strange. I understand it may be some supply/demand way to control usage, but there were tons of bikes any time of the day sitting there.

Overall, a MAGICAL stay, looking forward to coming back to this hotel!

Room Tip: Stayed in a Junior Suite - with 3 of us in the room, it was very comfortable and spacious. The Junio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. We are delighted to read that you had a magical stay in the Junior Suite and also enjoyed the public areas of The Dylan Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcome you, your wife and son the next time you will visit Amsterdam.

René Bornman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#24 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Splendia, Odigeo, Otel, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.