We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 346 Hotels in Amsterdam
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“My oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is my little beautiful courtyard oasis in Amsterdam for both coffee and cocktails. Try their house cocktails, simply amazing! Not even talking about the service, the cozy rooms and the two restaurants ;-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your considerate words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great you consider The Dylan as your little oasis.

Thank you for sharing this review with us and we are looking forward to welcome you again for a next visit.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    76
    28
    19
    11
See reviews for
43
195
11
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Reading the reviews below, I can just concur - great location, great service and a very nice breakfast.
one point to note - our room had the bathroom in a second floor within the room so requires steps up and down. Not a big issue, still worth noting while reserving a room.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay at The Dylan Amsterdam.

We are looking forward to welcome you for a next stay and we would be more than happy to take into consideration your preference for a room on one floor.


Moreover we would like to thank you for sharing this review with us.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Beautiful property with impeccable service in Amsterdam. Sober elegance in the middle of Amsterdam, with fantastic food in its restaurants. Rooms are on the smaller side, in typical European form, but the uber comfortable beds and bathrooms more than make up for it. Recommended.

Room Tip: We loved the quiet atmosphere of our interior-courtyard-view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are happy to read you had a pleasant stay at The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great that you enjoyed our restaurants.

We looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Hard to fault the Dylan. Quiet, luxurious rooms in a historic setting but very close to all the action with great bars, restaurants and shops all near by. Excellent friendly professional service from the staff in a great setting. On a sunny day the terrace inside must be Amsterdam's best kept secret.

We took the hotel boat for a tour with dinner which was one of the best city trips I have ever done, all so convenient and without fuss. Will be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this review about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed our secluded garden and that you had a good experience having dinner on the saloon boat.

We are looking forward to welcoming you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

I chose The Dylan based on other reviews and we weren't disappointed - the location is excellent - on one of the 3 historic canals and right next to the chic and interesting "9 Streets" shopping and restaurant area. Walking distance to the major museums. We had terrible weather for our weekend but the Dylan was very warm and cozy - both the room and the downstairs bar and restaurants. The great location meant we could stop by and warm up/get dry before heading out again to see something else.There was always a fire going in the lounge/bar area which was very welcome and the room temperature was great. Our room was very small but the bathroom was large and had a tub and good shower. Nice amenities. It had a "design" sink that was very cool looking (but slightly awkward for washing your face). Free good wifi, great plugs and very comfortable bed - just one upright chair though. Our room looked over the inner courtyard which was fine but if I went again i would request a room looking out over the canal. Very friendly staff. There are 2 restaurants - the first is just up off the lounge and is the more informal Occa and at the end down some stairs and in a separate room there is a Michelin starred more expensive restaurant. Breakfast was not included and seemed pretty expensive so we went over to the 9 streets area and had a great simple breakfast. There are hardly any breakfast places between the Dylan and the Rijksmuseum though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up and facing onto the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to read your comments on The Dylan Amsterdam and we are happy that you enjoyed the warm and cozy atmosphere.

Thank you for sharing this review and we are looking forward to welcoming you for a next visit and we can take into consideration your preference for a room with a Canal view.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

We stayed at the Dylan one night pre.cruise. We arrived early to find out we had been upgraded to a deluxe suite.
As we had some errands to run while in Amsterdam we arrived back at the hotel at approx 1400. We were given personal tour of the hotel and the huge suite.
The staff was very attentive and accommodating. These outstanding people truly knows the true meaning of excellent service. They went out of their way to make us feel welcome.
The suite had all the comforts and amenities fit a hotel of this standard. The bed was exquisite. The bathroom and shower very comfortable.
We enjoyed a wonderful meal in Occo. We do not eat much for breakfast so had a continental in the lounge.
I can not wait to return for a longer stay than just one night.
To those looking for a small unique gem of hotel with highly personalized service should give The Dylan a try.

Room Tip: The Klassbol style suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is lovely to read your review about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are very happy we could provide you with an excellent service and that you enjoyed a dinner in Brasserie OCCO.

Thank you for sharing this with us and we are looking forward to welcome you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
213 helpful votes 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

The Dylan has the best location on any hotel in Amsterdam. It is on a quiet canal in the interesting 9 streets area. Hotel is understated but very stylish and Cate Blanchett's identical twin sister is one of the receptionists.

The only thing the hotel misses is a swimming pool. We stayed a week, and the hotel was peaceful and enjoyable and calm and over time we were one over completely by this unobtrusive but responsive little haven.

We checked out the new Andaz and Hotel D' Europe briefly but the Dylan won hands down.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your considerate words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you liked the location of our property and it is great that you enjoyed this week of your stay with us.

We are happy to welcoming you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Splendia, Despegar.com, Otel, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.