We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Save Saved
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I loved our stay at the Dylan. Everyone was very nice and helpful. I love boutique hotels that still offer luxury which the Dylan provides. There is a charm about the Dylan that you don't get at a chain hotel; therefore, we got a better feel for the city. I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for luxury that isn't generic. This hotel has character and charm. We will stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kimono Style room which was very cute but they have three other options I believe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very delighted to read your considerate words about The Dylan.
Thank you for staying with us and we would be happy to welcome you for your next stay.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    188
    63
    30
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
152
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

This was my second stay for business at the Dylan and I absolutely love this hotel. Beautiful, comfortable rooms, excellent location, and impeccable, personalized service. The breakfast is particularly nice, and the restaurant and bar are wonderful. I highly recommend the Dylan and will certainly return the next time I'm in Amsterdam.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very enthusiastic to read your considerate words about The Dylan. It is a real motivator for us and therefore we would like to thank you for this review.

We would be very pleased to welcome you for your next stay in Amsterdam.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

This was my fourth stay at The Dylan, always for business and always for one / max two nights. In terms of position, this hotel is slap bang on one of the most beautiful and scenic old canals and has outstanding views. It is close for the tourist attractions but not terribly close for business and the traffic can be tricky at times. But in terms of location it is an A. The hotel is made up of a number of joined up old houses which gives it an authentic old Dutch feel. At the same time, this is a very recently refurbished hotel, so everything is beautifully modern, in a muted dark palette. I particularly love the winter garden (heated outside bar/garden) and the cosy bar / public lounge rooms, which have genuinely retained the feel and layout of the original houses. Breakfast was good and the lunch bar / snack foods were good. Turning to the rooms - well, they are extremely individual. I have stayed in two of the duplex rooms and they are not for the faint hearted as the bathrooms in both were up very steep stairs. That said, once up there, they are spacious and extremely well appointed - far superior for example to the Pullitzer. The decor is funky but restrained - nice touches that retain the character. If I had a few minor moans, it would be that the rooms have a tendency to be a bit dark and also there are occasional peculiar wardrobe door configurations .... Service was good - lots of enthusiastic young Dutchmen - and not offhand as it can sometimes be. All in all, I would stay here for comfort, the character of the place and the location. I prefer it personally to the Europe, Amstel and Pullitzer. (I haven't tried the Andaz).

Room Tip: The rooms are very different. I have never had a noisy one, but I did once have one which seemed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing these thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stays at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the spacious bathsrooms and the decor of the Duplex rooms.
Our staff is always very pleased to serve you and you are very welcome to stay again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A gem of a place situated in the heart of Amsterdam, The Dylan is quite a beautiful - but not large - well appointed hotel. The common areas and restaurants were quite tastefully done. I stayed at The Dylan during the peak period - when the IBC conference was on - but the service was exceptional. The front desk staff, as well as the staff serving breakfast were pleasant. And would highly recommend the eggs benedict. Sinful, but a must try. My only qualm was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in my room, and being an early riser, that would have been a nice touch.

Will definitely stay at the Dylan the next time I'm in Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you're staying during conference season, avoid rooms that overlook the rear open air space as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are very pleased to read that you liked the areas of the hotel and we are happy we could provide you with pleasant service.

You are always welcome to stay for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Sublime mix of old and new. Great service. Very nice food. Nice common areas.

Room 9 - very stylish with nice gadget features. Room 24 (suite) - so nice I could live there.

Some of the stairways are narrow with some level changes that could take you by surprise but overall - a very nice stay and whilst not cheap, I thought it good value for the high quality and exclusive feel.

Room Tip: Room 9 was nice. Room 24 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in room 9 and 24.

We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

These three days at The Dylan, in the romantic heart of Amsterdam, overacheived my expectations in all aspects. Forgotten the grand hotels you can find in any capital city with their somehow overdone efforts to shout "luxury". Here, everything, service, decoration, lightnings, temperature, food, silence seem so natural that you get no direct clue of their presence. Only the outcome makes you conscious of the thorough quality of this hotel : you simply feel perfect, night and day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that your stay overachieved your expectations and we would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been coming to Amsterdam since 1978 and l can say my stay at the Dylan has been the most impressive and memorable. The attention to detail is exceptional the atmosphere enchanting and the Staff like family. I was entertaining Dutch friends at the Vinkeles which was just amazing. They loved it !!

Well Done !

Andy Lloyd

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharign your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you and your friends enjoyed dinner in restaurant Vinkeles.

We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsNL, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.