We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, well located hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful, well located hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

A gem of a place situated in the heart of Amsterdam, The Dylan is quite a beautiful - but not large - well appointed hotel. The common areas and restaurants were quite tastefully done. I stayed at The Dylan during the peak period - when the IBC conference was on - but the service was exceptional. The front desk staff, as well as the staff serving breakfast were pleasant. And would highly recommend the eggs benedict. Sinful, but a must try. My only qualm was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities in my room, and being an early riser, that would have been a nice touch.

Will definitely stay at the Dylan the next time I'm in Amsterdam

Room Tip: If you're staying during conference season, avoid rooms that overlook the rear open air space as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing such thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are very pleased to read that you liked the areas of the hotel and we are happy we could provide you with pleasant service.

You are always welcome to stay for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    83
    29
    21
    11
See reviews for
48
209
13
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Sublime mix of old and new. Great service. Very nice food. Nice common areas.

Room 9 - very stylish with nice gadget features. Room 24 (suite) - so nice I could live there.

Some of the stairways are narrow with some level changes that could take you by surprise but overall - a very nice stay and whilst not cheap, I thought it good value for the high quality and exclusive feel.

Room Tip: Room 9 was nice. Room 24 was awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in room 9 and 24.

We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

These three days at The Dylan, in the romantic heart of Amsterdam, overacheived my expectations in all aspects. Forgotten the grand hotels you can find in any capital city with their somehow overdone efforts to shout "luxury". Here, everything, service, decoration, lightnings, temperature, food, silence seem so natural that you get no direct clue of their presence. Only the outcome makes you conscious of the thorough quality of this hotel : you simply feel perfect, night and day.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that your stay overachieved your expectations and we would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I have been coming to Amsterdam since 1978 and l can say my stay at the Dylan has been the most impressive and memorable. The attention to detail is exceptional the atmosphere enchanting and the Staff like family. I was entertaining Dutch friends at the Vinkeles which was just amazing. They loved it !!

Well Done !

Andy Lloyd

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharign your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great to read that you had a pleasant stay and that you and your friends enjoyed dinner in restaurant Vinkeles.

We would be happy to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingscourt
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

Had a wonderful few days, just over a week ago in The Dylan Hotel in Amsterdam. A most charming hotel situated in a very quiet area on one of the many canals that make up this beautiful city. Relaxing, understated, with discreet lounges, wonderful dining facilities, including Vinkles their award winning Restaurant, very relaxing, beautifully appointed bedrooms and above all the most friendly and helpful Staff.
The food was delicious and we ate in the Hotel every evening. Another bonus to this fab Hotel is that it is only a 6 or 7 minute walk to the main shopping area. A little expensive to stay but well worth treating yourself. Go on save up and have yourself a terrific Hotel experience.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughtful words about The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that your stay was so pleasant and that you enjoyed dinner in the hotel every evening. It would be great to be welcoming you for a next time.

On behalve of the team, we wish you happy holidays!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

It's hard to decide what to add to the positive reviews below, but we absolutely loved this hotel when we stayed here last year for new years eve...so much so that we are coming back to Amsterdam because we want to stay here for NYE again this year! The location is excellent and the building itself is a perfect integration of old and new luxury. The best part was that we booked through the Amex Fine Hotels and Resorts program and got an upgrade to this insane multi level suite. It really blew us away. Breakfast was great too. At midnight on NYE they pour veuve cliquot while setting off fireworks. So fun and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great review.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed The Dylan last year and the suite you were staying in.
We are really looking forward to welcoming you again for New Year's Eve!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very well centrally located, great service. It is in front of the water surrounded by beautiful houses.
Top service, you cannot get any better. Rooms are very comfortable. Very good Wifi all around the premises.

Room Tip: If you have problems with stairs make sure you get the right room with easy access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about The Dylan Amsterdam!
It is great to read that you enjoyed the location of our site and that you were pleased with the service from our staff.

We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#50 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,181 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.