We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hip Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Dylan was recommended to my husband and I by a friend who said we must stay there. We booked the duplex room, which had the bedroom on the first floor and on the second floor was the private bathroom and shower and tub. The Dylan is conveniently located to explore the Nine Streets area and can walk to Anne Frank's house as well as the Van Gogh Museum. My favorite part of the hotel was the historical facade, absolutely gorgeous! I would highly recommend this hotel to couples.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to read your experience at The Dylan Amsterdam.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our historical façade.
We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    84
    29
    21
    11
See reviews for
50
211
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Great location, wonderful building and spacious rooms. The whole building is a discovery with great authentic places to have a coffee at the fireplace, dinner at one of the cozy restaurants, or drinks in the bar. The room was spacious with a wonderful canal view, very well decorated. You step out of the hotel and you're in walking distance from all the fantastic places to visit in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts about the Dylan Amsterdam.
It is delighted to read that you enjoyed the spaces in our hotel and that you were satisfied with the room with the canal view.
We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very beautiful, opulent hotel and very close to everything. Easy to get around from this location. Rooms are a large size and fabulous beds. Service and concierge were amazing.
Would definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Canal facing rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review.
We are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the Dylan and that you were pleased with the service from our staff and concierge.
We will be delighted to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel staff from check in to check out was terrific, accomodating and a pleasure to deal with. I was up very early in the morning (jet lag) and hanging out in the lobby and a coffee showed up. The lobby, bar area, restaurant and breakfast rooms are super cool, aesthetically interesting and pleasant to spend time in. Food at breakfast was very good and server super pleasant. The hotel is located in an ideal part of the city for walking and site seeing. As with many hotels in an old building in Europe, you can end up in a very, very small room. Unfortunately, that was the case on my trip tthis time (room 37). While perfectly fine, it was small enough that I felt a bit claustrophobic -- including the tiny elevator or stairs you take to get to the room. It was the last room available when I booked - so may just be an anomaly. Becasue of the staff, I would come back to the hotel, but make sure I had a bigger room. The workout room is small enough and sparse enough, that probably not worth having.

Room Tip: Ideally, you want to be on the canal. Room 37 was very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Dylan Amsterdam.
We are delighted to read that you were pleased with our staff and the different areas of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you for a next time.

The Dylan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

spent the morning at this lovely hotel right on the canal in July.
Bride and groom entered via a lovely shaded courtyard.
Wedding ceremony was conducted in a light airy room decorated tastefully.
Fantastic nibbles served before the ceremony.
Fantastic location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Dylan Amsterdam.
It is great to read that you had such a nice morning during this wedding at our hotel.
We will be happy to welcome you again.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Great hotel. Little boutique hotel that has generous sized rooms, great finishings.
Lots of little things that helped make my stay enjoyable. 2 things that improve include - increasing variety of hot food of breakfast buffet and improving stability of wifi - every now and then it will drop out (no problems with speed). overall, still highly recommended. easy to walk to most places in Amsterdam. I think they also have bikes to lend/use in this bike-mad city.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Dylan Amsterdam.
We are happy to read that your overall stay was pleasant and we indeed offer bikes to our guests.
It will be great to welcome you for a next time.

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Ive been to Amsterdam about 20 times on business over the years. Ive stayed mostly at luxury flats and another nice hotel (Hotel Estherea). The Dylan Amsterdam hits every mark perfectly. The location literally could not be better. The personalized attention by the Dylan staff is excellent. The physical hotel itself is very well done. A perfect, luxurious spot. I Highly recommend this hotel to any traveller looking for an high end boutique hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great review.
It is delightful to read that you were satsified with the service of our staff and your experience at The Dylan.
We will be happy to welcome you for a next time!

René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#48 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,213 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 957 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#20 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#26 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel, Splendia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.