We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Boutique Hotel in Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
The Dylan
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 354 Hotels in Amsterdam
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Boutique Hotel in Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Dylan is well located and the staff are excellent. The hotel is well appointed with a nice bar and nice decor. We were able to walk to almost everything. What really makes this place is the staff. They are all friendly and professional. The only drawback is that some of the bathrooms do not have a walk in shower (is a soaking tub that you must shower in - not so easy to get in and out of and good luck getting the water on without a good soaking). So, I would totally recommend the hotel, just be sure to request a bathroom with a separate shower!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.
Your comments are much appriciated.

We hope to welcome you here on your next Amsterdam visit.

Kind Regards,


The Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    82
    29
    20
    11
See reviews for
46
209
13
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is the third time we've stayed at the Dylan, and it won't be the last.
The hotel is charming - great location - easy to walk everywhere and its just a stones throw from the lovely boutique shopping area and yet close enough to walk to the more hustle and bustle parts of the city too. The historical building is wonderful.
We had a canal view suite - and was spacious and airy. We had breakfast in the room, which was excellent.
The additions of the new coffee machines and complimentary high speed wi-fi were great.
The staff are friendly and welcoming - and the hotel bar has a convivial feel to it.
We enjoyed a superb meal at Vinkeles during our stay which was incredible.
All in all, another wonderful experience - a very welcoming place with a great atmosphere - utterly professional but without any stuffiness. Hope to be back soon.

Room Tip: Canal suites are superb - light and airy with wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your third visit with us!
It is much appriciated that you shared your very thoughful review!

We are looking forward welcoming you next time!

Kind regards,

The Dylan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

A lovely hotel in an old historical building. The room is a bit small though and bathroom is not particularly comfotable either. The hotel has its charm indeed. Good service, great location. Vinkeles restaurand is just outstanding and selection of wines if perfect too..Vinkeles is definitely the place to come back to. A bartender in a downstairs bar is quite creative - his daikiri based on spiced rum was awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for sharing your experiences with us!
We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us an hope to
see you next time around.

If you are interested? News about of latest cocktails is often shared via our Facebook page.

The Dylan Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We loved our stay at this charming boutique hotel. Location is fantastic - right on the Keizersgracht canal near the "hip" Jordan area. Wonderful service. Historic old building. We had breakfast included without room and the food was great. Also had dinner in their gourmet restaurant Vinkeles - incredible meal. We would definitely stay here again when returning to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your very thougful feedback.

We are looking forward welcoming you here on your next Amsterdam visit.

The Dylan Amsterdam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I love this location, so that's a good start. The staff were attentive. It is a lovely hotel building, but I didn't eat here. Really nice room with some very good touches - robes, iPhone speakers, etc. tiny loo though.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank your for sharing your enthusiastic experiences with us.

Your comments regarding our facilities are much appreciated and will be reviewed with care.

Thank you for staying and for sharing your feedback.

Kind regards,


René Bormann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I was very happy with this hotel. It is boutique, with old narrow stairs and a clunky lift, but at the same time very polished and comfortable. I loved the fireplace and the courtyard downstairs and the exposed wooden beams and general dark decor of the rooms.

The great shower, bed, coffee machine and windows you can open made it very homely. The staff were lovely and helpful and the food delicious.

I have soft spot for Amsterdam, but this hotel was one of the best travel experiences I have ever had. I loved it and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your experiences at The Dylan Amsterdam.

As hotel we truly cherish our history and its uniqueness and value your comments for embracing exactly that.

It has been our pleasure hosting you and we sincerely hope that we'll be your first choice property on your next Amsterdam visit.


Kind regards,


René Bornmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This is a quite the oasis in the middle of the best part of old Amsterdam. Beautiful rooms. First rate service. The restaurant in the hotel, Vinkles, is absolutely top notch. Great service and food. Highly recommended in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
René B, General Manager at The Dylan, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing this wonderful and very delighted review regarding your stay at The Dylan Amsterdam. We are thrilled to hear you had an amazing stay and that you really enjoyed your room and the experience with us.

We are delighted you really appreciated the quality of service provided by the team, as well as your culinary experience at restaurant Vinkeles. It will be our great pleasure to share your feedback with the rest of the team.

Thank you once more for sharing your review and for recommending the hotel to other travellers. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind regards,
René Bornmann
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
Hotel Pulitzer Amsterdam
#49 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 2,173 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 910 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Seven one Seven
Hotel Seven one Seven
#21 of 354 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dylan 5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.