We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hotel in the heart of Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Save Saved
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 343 hotels in Amsterdam
Milan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a hotel in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Fabulous hotel. The courtyard is amazing. The rooms luxurious. The service impeccable. The place is very expensive but if you want to spoil yourself, this is the place to go. The breakfast was great. We skipped the dinner at the Michelin starred restaurant. Bikes in front of hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    189
    63
    30
    17
    12
See reviews for
30
153
10
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at the Dylan in October 2012. We had a superior room on the 2nd floor overlooking the courtyard, it was comfortable with a good sized bath and shower. As the hotel is set back from the canal it is very quiet and the only noise in the hotel was from fellow guests on the wooden floors. The staff were attentive, friendly and helped us with anything we asked. The main restaurant is excellent, quiet adventurous food, we had a celery desert! I haven't given the hotel 5 stars as breakfast was ordinary and expensive and the rooms could be a bit bigger for the price, although very difficult in amsterdam. The location cannot be faulted so a great choice if like us you want to explore by foot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for a night at this hotel at the end of our vacation, before flying home the next day. It's in a really great location - close to the "9 streets" with boutique shopping and little cafes and restaurants, and close to the city center. Several outdoor cafes are really close but away from the busy areas. We had a charming room right under the rafters, with plenty of space for a rollaway for our daughter. Breakfast had a great selection of food. We'd love to stay here again next time we're spending time in or passing through Amsterdam.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Beautiful boutique hotel in a quiet neighborhood. Rooms were beautifully styled with lush amenities. Great for a romantic getaway. They could use a little bit friendlier front desk/ concierge. Not the service we are used to at a 5 star property. The restaurant Vinkeles was amazing! Great food ,wines and service! Overall, a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Outstanding from start to finish. Staff were incredibly helpful, facilities are excellent.Our room was quietly serviced each day to a five star standard, breakfast time was always a pleasure with a wide choice and variety. The experience was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

we celebrated our 7 yr wedding anniversary at the Dylan and truly loved it.

The location is beautiful with a rich history, the staff is impeccable and high quality.
The Rooms and suites are beautifuly styled and really give a special touch to the whole experience!
After our welcome drink we had a sunday afternoon High wine,which was actually really nice.
We wanted to go for dinner at Vinkeles but learned that they are always closed on Sundays,that was actually a little disappointing.After a stroll down the canals we decided to try the Brasserie where the High Wine was served and although the choices are limited the food and service is really solid and definitely worth a try even if you do not stay at the Dylan.
overall a treat to Hidewayfor a few days in beautiful Amsterdam,highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I am hardly the type of person to give anything high marks but this hotel deserves it.

(This is my first review of anything ever)

Me and my girlfriend stayed here in Jul/Aug 2010 and we stayed in a Kinomo Style Std Duplex Room.

Staff - this was the most impressive aspect. Young and very enthusiastic. You don't even have to move/lift so much as a finger and you will have their attention (no exaggeration). After a few instances I felt guilty simply turning my head their way as the poor souls would come running to us in an instant....i was just looking around admiring the decor rather than asking for their service! Kind and humble staff too. The concierge seemed very experienced/knowledgeable and guided us towards some very nice hip restaurants. 

Decor - again, impressive. You won't be disappointed. Having the bath and bed split on two different floors was different (in a good way). It made the rooms more spacious. The Kinomo styling did represent the pics on their website. Moving on from the room, the decor of the rest if the building was just me. A mix of contemporary and classical touches.....similar to how I'd decorate my house if I ever own such a large building. The open courtyard/garden is a must to sit in to have brunch/lunch/snacks/tea.

Food - again, excellent. We were unfortunate not to have been able to try their main restaurant (it was very popular and fully booked for 2/3 nights in a row). However, the lunches/snacks were great. The serving of the tea was nice in its own way.....lovely cast iron pots served with delicious biscuits.

Location - very convenient yet nice, quiet and away from the hustle bustle. Seemed like an affluent area

Other Facilities - we didn't get much time to try anything else. All we did was hire bikes from them (they were perfectly fine but didn't have small enough ones for my girlfriend so we had to abandon these after a day). They were probably a bit more expensive than the bike rental places outside the hotel.

To wrap it up, I have never received service like this in Europe, SouthEast Asia certainly, but not Europe. I didn't think it existed as it seems us Europeans have let businesses get away with murder and spoilt them by not raising our voices/concerns. This hotel changes all that.

Why 4 stars rather than 5. I've been fortunate to stay at a place tha had equivalent service but for a cheaper price (not in Amsterdam).

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#23 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.