We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Save Saved
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at the Dylan during a business trip to Amsterdam. Now this is not an option for the faint of heart as it is quite pricey even for a luxury hotel. Having said that, the hotel is truly first class. I stayed in a duplex style suite which i have to say was architecturally very interesting. The room was as luxurious as the price would imply and the room service food was very good. The hotel staff was extremely professional and helpful and the bartender was quite an engaging and interesting fellow. The hotel is located along a canal in a truly beautiful area of the city. I would definitely stay there again on any further Amsterdam trips.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    65
    25
    18
    11
See reviews for
30
158
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

An amazing hotel. To be honest I'm used to way cheaper hotels but we seriously splashed out this time! And sooo worth it. I've never really wanted to go somewhere just for their hotel but here I do. Amazing bed. The bathroom was spectacular. A tv by the huge bath tub. The shower was amazing. One of those rain showers. The staff did look at us a bit like we didn't belong but sure maybe we didn't. And they were still always very helpful. Oh well. Fantastic stuff.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Wife surprised me with a trip to Amsterdam for my birthday. We stayed at The Dylan and what a great choice she made!
Our room (number 2) was in the courtyard - we were concerned about noise but needn't have worried as we hardly heard a peep!
Nice touch was the "romantic turn down" one night - I won't go into detail, but it was so nice to come back to the room after dinner at see the things they had done.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 2 which is a duplex with the bathroom downstairs - its very nice indeed and I woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here several times because its a great place. Unfortunately it has become to pricey. If you get a good rate, book it! You will love the place

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Atypical, different, modern, understated, cool...

Over the years I have stayed in several different rooms at The Dylan. The keyword is different - Canal front duplex loft with 24 foot ceilings, penthouse loft with slant roof, small but comfortable deluxe queen, and this time a courtyard duplex loft. What never changes is my love for this hotel.

Its very quiet. Far from the madding crowd, but not by much. Midway between the Dam, and Leidseplein, and very close to the cool 9 Straatjes, a short cobblestoned walk to everything in the Centrum.

Good design conquers all.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

Love this place, I travelled with three girlfriends and we stayed for four nights, we each had our own room and each room was just amazing. My room was overlooking the courtyrad which was a treat. The Staff were very friendly but not "in your face". The interiors of the hotel were so stylish and beautiful. Everything from the bed linen to the salmon at breakfast was 100% luxury.

We all loved getting back to the Dylan after a few hours out and about in Amsterdam.
We loved hanging about in the courtyard under the heaters and blankets that were provided.

Although the rooms are pricey, it was worth it! Staying here totally made our trip. Very central and quite. Ill go back in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: I love the courtyard facing room with the coffee machine ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Wonderfully friendly greeting, and a double upgrade on arrival at the Dylan in central Amsterdam.
On hearing we were there to celebrate thirty years after meeting my husband on a houseboat in Amsterdam, the staff worked very hard to make it memorable. They even managed to get us a dinner booking in their restaurant which had been fully booked. We asked for a lot of information which they researched for us, and even arranged packing of large items we bought to be brought back to the uk.
We used the limo collection and airport return which is expensive, but added to the overall experience. Would I go back? You bet I would! Thank you and apologies we left so quickly, we forgot to tip the concierge . A huge mistake, and bitterly regretted once we realised.

Room Tip: Top floor is quietest, we had canal facing room, wonderful views. Not telling you the number as may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Address: Keizersgracht 384, 1016 GB Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#22 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Tingo, Otel, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, HotelsClick, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.