We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Luck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dylan

Save Saved
You added The Dylan to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Dylan
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 384, Amsterdam 1016 GB, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Waterloo, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad Luck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

The hotel is perfectly located, however parking is a problem and expensive.
We got room 21, which on the first glance looked spacious, comfortable and design. Unfortunatelly we discovered rapidly that too much design can become impracticalble. Washing basin in the middle of the room, bathtube only accessible to young sportspeople, bed under a roof frame, with no place to put your head, japanese wardroben, nice looking and painted in whit, but too small to put a suite. We were told that other rooms are better.
The restaurant was a compensation and worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    54
    29
    17
    12
See reviews for
25
135
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

What a fabulous hotel. Excellent location. The layout is a bit quirky as it is 2 buildings together, but that just adds to the charm. The lounge, bar area is so comfy and welcoming. And fairly popular. We stayed in the smaller part, only 4 rooms on a floor. The rooms were well appointed and comfortable. Big windows let in a lot of light. Bathrooms were modern and had a bath and shower. US outlet at the desk was very nice, but they also had a box of all kinds of chargers in case you lost or forgot yours. Staff was friendly and helpful. Great location. And the ever-popular free wifi. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

If you visit Amsterdam, you mus stay at the Dylan, the rooms are superb, I recently stayed their on a business trip and even though i arrived late in the evening the welcome and the attention to detail from the staff was second to none.

the newly refurbished courtyard suites are superb, the restaurant whether it is the Michelin starred or the new bistro, the food is amazing.

The Dylan the best in Amsterdam!!!!

Room Tip: the courtyard suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

A perfect choice for a romantic Valentine's weekend. We had booked a weekend including a boat tour of the canal on Sunday but this was cancelled because the canal was frozen for the first time in 15 years. Far from being a disappointment, this really enhanced the weekend allowing us to walk through Amsterdam on top of the water, with people skating past us. Wonderful! The hotel was well appointed and the staff were friendly and helpful. We booked a canal suite and this was lovely, on two floors with the Zensation white theme which was very relaxing and had every amenity you could think of including a sophisticated AV centre with DVD, iPod docking etc which was more than enough for anyone. The bed was huge and the view of the frozen canal was spectacular. On Saturday we dined in the Vinckles restaurant which is widely regarded as the best in Amsterdam and we find it hard to disagree, with the most sumptuous menu and an excellent accompanying wine list. We would definitely go there again. On Sunday we tried the 'high wine' evening, which was also well chosen and very enjoyable. Throughout both evenings the staff were friendly and courteous. The limo transfer from the airport was well worth it, with a friendly driver giving us a historical tour of Amsterdam on the way to the hotel. The hotel is sited just on the edge of the nine streets so perfect for shopping and coffee houses, and was about 20 minutes by car from Schiphol, so great for the quick weekend getaway. Overall we would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone wanting to enjoy a quiet and romantic weekend in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room overlooking the canal - some people might find it noisy (particularly at night) beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry v, Director of Sales at The Dylan, responded to this review, March 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review here on Tripadvisor!
You definitely have chosen the perfect weekend to visit Amsterdam and see the frozen canals, which are pretty exceptional!
We hope you look back on a memorable weekend and we'd love to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012 via mobile

the hotel is beautiful and has a great location. even if you don't stay here, stop by and check it out. the staff was helpfull... our room was very cool... the bathroom was upstairs! it was very nice, but i could understand some might find it impractical, plus there is no door to the toillet! many hotels are doing this and i'm really not sure why haha... my husband and i don't find it sexy haha. it is a bit expensive, but we got a good rate plus an upgrade.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry v, Director of Sales at The Dylan, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review! We'd love to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night.

Great location and very nice and helpful staff. They do not help with luggage but guess that is normal in Amsterdam

The duplex room was nice at Eur 275 but there is no door to the toilet! A bit too modern for my taste.

only the great service and superb consierge would make me come back

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Audry v, Director of Sales at The Dylan, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind review.
We appologize that our concierge was not there to assist you with your luggage.
We hope we may welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
den bosch
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

My husband and I spent one night in the Dylan in Amsterdam. We live not too far from Amsterdam so normally we don't see the 'need' to spend the night there. We've only stayed in the Hotel de l'Europe before. This time we had something to celebrate so we decided to stay a night and I chose the Dylan. We like the location better than for example hotel de l'Europe. We really like the part of Amsterdam where the Dylan is located.
I booked a Loxura room and we were surprised how beautiful it was and so was the bathroom. All the furniture is very stylish and fashionable. I also booked a 'romantic package' (as a surprise for my husband) with the rose-leaves all over the room, the bed and the bath and a nice candle light was on when we came back from dinner. We really enjoyed that. Furthermore we liked the lobby with the nice places to sit and the chimney and all. The service is absolutely super in the whole hotel. We also went to dinner at Vinkeles which was great too. The food was really very good (beautifully served) and the service top. I really recommend this hotel. It is fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Dylan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dylan

Also Known As:
The Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
The Dylan Hotel
Dylan Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Keizersgracht 384, Amsterdam 1016 GB, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#57 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dylan 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel along the Keizersgracht canal is situated in the heart of Amsterdam. The Dam Square is a short walk away. The Dylan offers rooms and suites with special themes. All have luxurious bathrooms, a bathrobe and slippers. There is free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelsNL, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Dylan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dylan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.