We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel on the river.......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #27 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Jewel on the river.......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I was naturally concerned about past reviews, but my family and I were treated as special guests. My first commendation goes out to the concierge who was such a patient and helpful gentlemen. I wish I had remembered his name to mention for this review. He really fine-tuned sightseeing plans as well as gave thoughtful suggestions for dining. The hotel was so quiet especially for deep sleeping and wonderful bedlinens as well. Nearby restaurants,bars and liitle bistros were all within walking distance. The pool was beautiful and a nice respite from a full day of walking and sightseeing. Amsterdam I found to be a young,spirited and easily accessible city and the hotel fits the bill as a jewel on the river........

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    74
    33
    9
    14
See reviews for
66
200
34
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

I am a very frequent traveler and have stayed at the Amstel a number of times. It is, without a doubt, one of the finest hotels in Europe. Staff is always friendly and helpful. Rooms are immaculate. The health club and pool are wonderful. The bar is a scene at night, and the restaurant is one of the finest in Amsterdam. If you can afford it, it’s the only place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

This was the fifth time I have stayed at the Amstel, and frankly I will probably never stay anyplace else in Amsterdam. It's a beautiful hotel, conveniently located, with very comfortable rooms. The beds are very cosy and the bathrooms are wonderful - full tubs and a separate large walk-in shower. Breakfast is served in the dining room of La Rive (the hotel's Michelin star restaurant) and is the standard luxury hotel fare. We ate dinner one night at La Rive, which was fabulous (see my separate review). One thorn in this rose is the charge for valet parking - 65 euros per day! It's hard to imagine how the hotel can justify such an outrageously high price, particularly when they park cars on the street in front of the hotel. If you are watching your pennies, this is one service you might want to avoid.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

The hotel still the grand dame of Amsterdam. We had an upgraded corner suite and from the welcome to the check-out a fantastic stay. The beers in the library are expensive as is breakfast, but worth the view sitting beside the Amstel. I concur with some of the reviewers on limited bar/dining options in an immediate walk except for the bar across the street, however, in a 5-10 inute walk there are hundreds of options. The tram is a two minute walk, and the underground 4 minutes. Get the day pass from the underground station and save a lot of euro if you tramming. Get your Rijksmuseum tickets from the concierge and you can walk up to the door and avoid the long lines. The pool, sauna and steam room are top notch, and there is a tanning bed. The bridge work was not a problem for us over the week-end. Free lower speed wifi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Amstel hotel for 2 nights for a city break in Amsterdam. The building is very impressive and has a good, quiet location on the river. We stayed in a city view room, the view was nothing to shout about but the room itself was lovely. The bathroom was the best equipped I have ever seen, with a lovely rainfall shower and large bath. The only disadvantage of this hotel is that it is about a 30 minute walk from the centre of Amsterdam, although there are metro and tram stations nearby. Could also have done with some additional pillows in the room. We also used the fitness club at the hotel, the pool looks out over the river and is a nice way to relax with some complimentary coffee and juice. Would recommend this hotel for a romantic break. Could also have done with some additional pillows in the room.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Dear valued guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review and taking the time and effort to give your feedback. It is possible to contact our Housekeeping department and ask for our pillow menu if you wish for additional pillows. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

We checked in very early in the morning with two children and the hotel told us that our reservation that we made through their central reservation office was not vaid. we had a reservation for a junior suite and they told me it would accommodate two adults and two children , now at 7am as we traveled from NYC , the manager Neekrisa was rude and unprofessional for this level of a hotel. we were forced to take two rooms and they never even tried to call their central booking to fine out what went wrong not a great location, far from everything.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 27, 2011
Dear valued guest,

We are very sorry to learn that we have not been able to live up to your expectations due to miscommunications regarding your reservation. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and hope you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam.

With kind regards, the Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

To be fair, the Amstel was not our first choice of hotel in Amsterdam as we prefer boutique style hotels. However, due to fire damage in our original choice of hotel we were moved to the Amstel at the last minute. I'm so pleased that we were !!

The Amstel is a fantastic hotel and the staff are just delightful - they couldn't do enough for us. The concierge was particularly helpful and recommended a gorgeous restaurant that was not a 'tourist trap'. The girls on reception welcomed us with a smile and every morning when we came down they always said good morning.

We were upgraded from an Executive City View room to an Executive River view room and it was great. As it so happens, the fireworks display the Amstel held on New Years Eve took place right outside our bedroom window so we had the most spectacular view ! The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

It is a shame that some of the reviews on here were so negative as they made me feel a bit worried about staying at the Amstel. However, having visited there myself now I feel that a lot of the reviews are a bit harsh and I would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone and if we ever visit Amsterdam again the Amstel would be our first choice.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Public Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your wonderful compliments and taking the time and effort to give your feedback. The fire was indeed very unfortunate for the other hotel but as we understand they are almost up and running again. It was our pleasure to accommodate you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Amsterdam!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.