We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a Truly Grand Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Still a Truly Grand Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2010

I have stayed at the Amstel three times in the last year and a half and the property merits its price and reputation. If you are on a budget, if your hotel is only a place to sleep and is not part of the romance of travel, if you burst from your lodgings at 8:30 map in hand and a list of seven things to see beofre dinner (nothing wrong with that) then perhaps you should look elsewhere. If you want a historic property run by an efficient staff, if an ornamented dormer window, or a majestic double staircase and late sun and river light through the windows spark your imagination of other times and places, you will be well served here.
I have never found the staff to be cold at all (as some have written here). This last stay I had a few problems with the room (main one was a lack of hot water from a wayward shower) and was offered a suite next door, since the water problem could not be fixed without outside help. Things break, life is short, if a solution is immediately and kindly offered, what more can you want.
I did not eat at La Rive this time, but I was able to once (they do not always have a table for one, understandably) and it was a fine experience.
Yes, there is only one restaurant (more like a pub) in the immediate vicinty of the hotel (I believe there are a couple of snack bars towards the tram stop) but I think if you cross the bridge (the one on the right as you leave, not the one under construction) and turn left, there are a few places to eat in that area-- not that far. (There is a supermarket there, too.) There is also a pub just by the highway on your right as you leave (have not been there). There are also a couple of places down the Amstel towards the Hermitage. Just ask the concierge and all will be explained.
Room service is efficient and the food is quite good. And if the wireless is down, there are three computers with a printer behind the desk that are available. Coffee machines in the room are helpful to have. There is tea as well and a very fast-to-boil tea-pot. The exercise room is small but very useful. The pool looks like a romantic place to spend an afternoon (I saw a couple doing just that one sunny late afternoon, blissfully ignoring everyone else). People watching when the hotel has an event in one of its public rooms is also fun, as dressed up Amsterdam arrives, coats are checked in the lobby and the ladies sweep across the lobby. Lingering over a drink on the hotel's terrace on the river would be relaxing, weather permitting.
The night staff even kindly let me play the lobby piano for a few minutes on my last night, which, given how bad I am, was very nice of them. Since I had heard a real pianist that evening at the Concertgebouw, and had come a long way to hear him, it meant something to me.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, January 14, 2011
Thank you so much for your many kind words. It felt like reading a true lovestory.
We look forward to hearing you play the piano again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    312
    67
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
61
181
33
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

booked and paid 2 nites here. 2 hrs after checking in late at nite left hotel for the marriot never mind room paid for. its bad eneough the hotel is out of the way and next to major road construction but this is meant to be a business hotel but sadly there was no internet access (manager admitted they were having problems so wonder why they didnt tell people beforehand) and room was really shabby with dirty carpets and mirror in clothes wardrobe hanging from its nail (surely housekeeping check these things??). clearly it needs new management and a refurbishment. the marriot on the other hand was great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LScholten, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, December 1, 2010
Dear valued guest,

We hope you have enjoyed your time in Amsterdam. We are very sorry to learn that we have not been able to live up to your expectations. System errors can unfortunately occur but we agree that your room should have been immaculate upon your arrival. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience. With kind regards, the Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, NY
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Wanted a luxury hotel for a special occasion, so we went on the recommendation of 2 well known travel sources, instead of listening to the gripes people had about this hotel on tripadvisor. Did not live up to a 5 star hotel, paid 420 Euros/night for 5 nights for an executive river view room on the 4th floor. Room was large, but very dimly lit in all areas, river view was not that impressive. 2 windows overlooking the river, but one was in the bathroom, well actually in the shower stall. Very nice, large bathroom with huge shower and separate tub.

Hotel was quiet overall, except whenever anyone walked down the hallway, the sound/vibration of their footsteps disrupted our sleep, especially early in the morning. Many early riser business people and maids up and down the hallway. The head of our bed was against the hallway wall, never seen this in a hotel before. No coffee maker in our room. We were offered 2 glasses of complimentary champagne (by the woman who checked us in) that never came; don't offer anything you can't deliver. I should have known service would be questionable when I emailed the hotel a question before my stay, and never heard back from them. After waiting 14 days for a response, I sent a follow-up email entitled "2nd request", then I received a response.

Housekeeping was not stellar, we had to complain to housekeeping that our rug had not been vaccuumed in 3 days and one of our trash cans was not emptied after morning maid service. It was cleaned though after turn-down service. I suppose they didn't see that the rug needed vacuuming due to the bad lighting. Rather than using a vacuum to clean up crumbs, housekeeping deemed it more appropriate to cover the crumbs with the floor mat and slippers left during turndown service. This is 5 star service? Hardly. Sometimes our robes were hung up, and other times not. Sometimes our slippers were laid out bedside with turn-down service and sometimes not. Small things, but things that should be mastered by a 5 star hotel.

The concierge, his name was Aad, was outstanding. He was a pleasure and always helpful. On our first day we sat down for breakfast and waited a long time before we were approached by staff. We had omelettes that were delicious. We asked for 2 glasses of water which were brought out from the kitchen already poured, so we were very surprised when we were charged 9 Euros for the 2 glasses. It was our first meal in Amsterdam, so we were not aware that most places only have bottled water. Not many restaurants/ cafes close by to grab breakfast, would have preferred a hotel with a more central location, but we opted for the Amstel river view. We didn't feel the hotel was a value for the price we paid. The rooms need some updating too. Permanent furniture indentations in many spots of the rug where furniture previously was, crack in the ceiling over the bed, mismatched paint to cover another repair on the ceiling.

Prepaid for a better price 3 months in advance, so don't understand why there is a pending credit card charge for almost $2000 plus another misc amount. All extras that were charged to our room were paid upon check-out.

If you really love Van Gogh, go to the Kroeller Muller museum in Otterlo, it's actually better than the Van Gogh museum! Would not recommend hotel based on value and location.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seacoast N.H.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010

No one made us feel welcome. From the front desk reception to the breakfast waitress to the room service staff member who never showed up with a bucket of ice. Very cold, cool staff with an attitude. However, the concierge was terrific!! and recommended a great Thai restaurant nearby....since we were very put off to walk in to the hotel dining room.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Lets begin with the service...amazing. Everyone was extremely nice and helpful and even provided a couple extra umbrellas for our friends who came to visit (we of course returned the umbrellas afterward). There is a very lovely man who we went to for any concierge need and I'm sad to say I didn't get his name because he was fantastic! We would even let pick restaurants for us...we just trusted his judgment. The rooms were very clean, cozy and always happy to give us any extra toiletries if needed (we were three girls traveling overall). It's obviously not for the traveler on a budget but the money spent was definitely worth it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

For my second trip to Amsterdam, I decided to stay in the famous InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I am thrilled I made this decision, as it was an excellent experience from beginning to end. I booked a standard city-view room and, as an InterContinental Ambassador, was upgraded to an executive river-view room. The room was beautifully laid-out in a classical style and was well-serviced. The carpet was a bit worn in some areas, but this was not to the overall detriment of the room. The hotel's fitness centre was well-stocked, including a beautiful 15m swimming pool at river level. Complimentary coffee, juice and snacks were available in the pool bar.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet area approximately 15-minutes stroll along the river to the city centre. For those not willing to make the walk, there is a stylish cafe/bar just opposite the hotel.

Staff were extremely helpful throughout the stay. The only minor problem was that there was no one to greet us and take our bags at check-in. The receptionist had to take our bags to our room for us.

I will certainly be staying at the Amstel Amsterdam again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

We had a nice stay - staff attentive & friendly-enough (not super helpful however). Don't pay extra for the river view - they neglected to tell/show you in their photos that construction is occurring at the bridge right on the river in front of the hotel - a view of construction cranes was not what we had in mind. The rooms were nice, but sparse and strangely poorly lit. Very comfortable beds, with more than enough pillows. The bathrooms were wonderful - rain showers, deep soaking tubs, separate water closets, luxurious towels - terrific! Perfect after all that walking. Room service was also great - prompt & delicious. The hotel was quiet (now we were not there during the day, so I can't comment on any river/construction noise) Overall, a little far from all the main attractions & just didn't seem quite worth all the money/hype.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.