We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly first class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Panama City
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Truly first class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2010

A beautiful hotel with exceptional service! From the minute we walked in we felt a higher level of class in this grand hotel. Check in was extremely pleasant and the woman who checked us in even walked us up to our room and pointed out the little extras and features of the room (including the bath tub that fills up in 2 minutes!)

The staff were extremely polite and helpful and nothing was a problem. Because we were on a different time clock we found ourselves hungry at 3:30am - which is usually a problem in Amsterdam (since things close early). We called down to room service looking for some kind of sweet snack...and within 10 minutes they delivered us a beautiful hot chocolate, biscuits, cakes and chocolate truffles. All was delicious and served promptly and politely with a smile. Not to mention they gave it to us complimentary because what we asked for was not on the menu.

Our room was beautiful and had a lovely view of the river. It was spacious and very nicely decorated. The TV/speaker system is extremely high quality, but might be a little complicated to use for some people (lucky for me, my husband is an IT wizard), but even he found it a little complicated initially. He realized that it was not wired in the best, most efficient way and spoke to the manager about offering to help them make it easier for their guests. We gave them our contact information, so we'll see if they call!

In winter this hotel is a little out of the way and is a bit of a walk or taxi ride to most things, but overall the service and staff outweigh it's slightly inconvenient location.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone with a budget! I should mention that we booked on points and it worked out to be a great value for us! They did not "Points Discriminate" like some other Intercontinental properties.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    74
    33
    9
    14
See reviews for
67
200
35
95
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2009

Had pleasure of staying here in one of the suites for 3 nights, and must say probably one of the best Intercontis I have had the pleasure to stay at, service allround was impeccable, everything about the hotel was 1st Class from check in to check out was excellent.
Worth a visit for any occassion, either business or something special hard to be dispointed here.
Only fault encountered in my 3 night stay was concierge recommended a local Italian restaurant, which was very very poor, surprised such a 1st class hotel sends its clients there! but other then that hard to find fault.

Give it a go. but not the Italian!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caledonia, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

This hotel is amazing! Great service and location.
The food is great. The bar on the lower level is very friendly with great service.

Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2009

a first rate plus hotel on the water, One is led to their room and there is a fruit basket and the room is very unhotel-like. The bathroom was terrific. Everything about the room was first rate. It is a perfect hotel. Only one complaint: The restaurant is not geared for American tastes but that makes sense. I love this place.

Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Stayed here three times now and this time splurged on a River view suite which was enormous.

This hotel is very expensive and has to be the best in Amsterdam. Its a classic Grand Hotel, that attracts an older, wealthy customer base. Its a 20 min walk at least from the centre and thats no bad thing these days. Got ripped off twice by taxi drivers changing the price once they knew where your staying. So get the hotel to book taxi's etc if you can

Service is impeccable, and linens, towels etc top class. If we are being ultra picky, I think its time for a decoration. Some of the wall papers are starting to look a tiny bit shabby.

All in all a fine, grand traditional hotel. Expensive, but you get what you pay for in life.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2009

This hotel was wonderful- got a very early check in from the airport and very considerate service. We had the beautiful honeymoon suite and loved the private, secret balcony on the 2nd floor. Perfect service, a spotless room with great amenities. Yes, outside the city center so if this is a problem, reconsider- a most comfortable bed-very impressed!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
183 hotel reviews
Reviews in 161 cities Reviews in 161 cities
583 helpful votes 583 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

We stayed for two nights at Intercontinental Amstel Hotel, hotel being situated on the Amstel River not in the centre of the city but ideally placed for transport links and not too long a walk to the centre.

On arrival we were directed to a receptionist to check-in and asked to sit down while a room was found for us. We were given an upgrade due to being Platinum Ambassador status and given a room with a river view. The room was not ready so we went for a coffee in the Amstel Lounge. When the room was ready, the lady came and give us our room cards.

The room was luxuriously appointed with a sitting area, large TV with DVD player and radio tuner. We were given a welcome gift of a delft ornament. The view from the room was delightful. As it was a very warm weekend we used the aircon - it worked fairly well but could be an issue on a hot day.

Fresh fruit was delivered to the room on numerous occaisions and a turndown service each night chocolates and a weather forecast card placed on the bed.

We had breakfast on one occaision, the staff were attentive, The large continental breakfast was nicely laid out and we were given a table overlooking the river. Other breakfast options were available at extra cost.

The pool area was well maintained with large pool, steam room, sauna, jacuzzi. There were sun loungers outside which I made use of as the weather was pleasant. The staff came out at regular intervals to take drink orders.

A refined hotel and would definately visit again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#28 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.