We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Leeds
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Second visit to this hotel, and will go again. Staff a helpful, the rooms are comfortable and the health club is very good. It's only a 20 minute walk up to Dam square or de Waag and 15 minutes to the Heineken museum.

Room Tip: Ask to get a room overlooking the river if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to learn that your stay was in Amsterdam was a success and that you enjoyed our Health Club again. We will pass your compliments to the staff members involved and we all are looking forward to welcome you again soon in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    69
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
63
190
33
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

We have just returned from another spectacular visit to The Amstel. While we enjoy our stays there year round, we wanted to mention to those still considering a summer visit to Amsterdam that this is the BEST place to enjoy the summer scene in the city. After a busy day touring, we relaxed on the pool terrace chaises adjacent to the canal, waving to the pleasure boaters motoring by. Before dinner we enjoyed the canalside A Bar terrace upstairs for a cocktail before heading out to dinner.
It is the best spot in the summer, hands down!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that you stay in Amsterdam was a great success and that you would recommend our hotel to anyone considering a summer visit. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed the different facilities of our hotel, like the A bar, restaurant and Health Club. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is the best Intercontinental I know: despite their luxury branding I generally find them somewhere between 4 and 4.5, never quite 5 but Amstel is a true luxury hotel. Very historic hotel, classic rooms (love the blue wallpaper), great food and service. Love the location on the river, very centrally located. I'm a bit bored with protracted michelin star dinners so didn't try their main restaurant but it's hard to find a better spot on a sunny day than river-facing Amstel Terraces. If you want classic luxury no need to research further, this is the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the lovely review about our hotel. It is wonderful that you, as a valued guest, describe our hotel as the best InterContinental you know, and as a true luxury hotel. Furthermore, it is a great pleasure to read that you loved the history of the hotel, the rooms and the service. Thank you very much for the compliments with regards to our terraces; it is something we take great pride in. I will definitely share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The quality and extreme comfort of this hotel starts from the moment you walk up the steps into the entrance. Anyone staying in Amsterdam for business or a quality break must seriously consider this hotel. Do not stay here if you are looking for low cost or the dark side of Amsterdam. Perfect for people who enjoy quality and ideal for a romantic break.

If your budget will stretch to it, include breakfast in the package as it is a real treat. Also go for a water side room if you can as the city view is nice, but not so interesting.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you experienced great service immediately after you walked up the steps. We are also very pleased that you would recommend the hotel to anyone staying in Amsterdam and that you describe the breakfast a ‘a real treat’. I will definitely share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We spent three days at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, and were treated like royalty during our entire stay. We arrived at 7 a.m. on a Thursday fully prepared to leave our bags and check in later in the day, but they already had our room ready and waiting for us. Everyone was very helpful and accommodating, which we especially appreciated after having spent a day flying to get there. Our room was very comfortable and quiet. We would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Our room was on the street side, not the water side, but we didn't mind at all. We were on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great stay at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you felt like a true royal during your stay. We work with people who are passionate by the hospitality industry and are happy you have noticed this while staying with us. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Intercon Amstel is a true 5 stars hotel not only because of the history of the building, but also the details we found in everywhere within the hotel. The hotel deco is classic & luxury. The room we stayed was executive room, the size of bedroom & bathroom is very big & extremely comfortable. Staff was very friendly & helpful especially, their Concierge. In room dinning was also very good. Overall we had a wonderful stay in Intercon Amstel & Amsterdam. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that you really enjoyed every aspect of the hotel and that your stay with us was a big success. Furthermore, I am very proud that our whole staff was friendly and attentive. I will share all of your compliments with our team. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again in the Amstel hotel, in the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Amsterdam was the last stop on our trip. The Intercontinental Amstel is an historic hotel that is very well maintained. Sitting by the river, the views are beautiful. Our room was large and the bathroom was oversized and well appointed. The staff was extremely helpful. The check-in process was slow as you are seated with a staff member who eventually escorts you to your room. This was a nice touch but really makes the process long. Check-out is similar but a little quicker. Our stay was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, a great city!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great last part of your trip at the InterContinental Amstel. Furthermore, we are happy that the personnel met all of your expectations. We are aware of the fact that our check-in process takes longer than average, however we hope this actually is an added value in comparison to other hotels. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.