We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 350 Hotels in Amsterdam
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Amsterdam was the last stop on our trip. The Intercontinental Amstel is an historic hotel that is very well maintained. Sitting by the river, the views are beautiful. Our room was large and the bathroom was oversized and well appointed. The staff was extremely helpful. The check-in process was slow as you are seated with a staff member who eventually escorts you to your room. This was a nice touch but really makes the process long. Check-out is similar but a little quicker. Our stay was excellent and we really enjoyed our stay in Amsterdam, a great city!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great last part of your trip at the InterContinental Amstel. Furthermore, we are happy that the personnel met all of your expectations. We are aware of the fact that our check-in process takes longer than average, however we hope this actually is an added value in comparison to other hotels. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    84
    36
    10
    14
See reviews for
72
225
39
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was by far one of the best Intercontinental hotels we have ever stayed at.The building it itself is a piece of art,the service was impeccable,the little special touches in the room made our stay the perfect ending to our wonderful Dutch Holiday!Would go back in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Amstel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your compliment and feel very honoured that you call us ‘one of the best InterContinental hotels you've ever stayed in’. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think we’re unique from all the other Intercontinental Hotels. It’s great to read that you had a wonderful holiday here in the Netherlands and that you experienced excellent service. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Nederland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

I had a lovely high tea at InterContinental Amstel Hotel Amsterdam in July 2014, with guests, to celebrate my birthday.
Very friendly and helpful staff; the tea itself was accompanied by delicious pastries and
sandwiches, we got an explanation of every different tea served and in my case, having with one of my guests allergic to nuts, I got a special
Tray prepared only for this guest, nut free. The ambience is lovely, fantastic décor!
The hotel itself is very well located and easy access with transportation, besides easy parking and valet parking.
We had a fantastic afternoon at the InterContinental Amstel Hotel, I definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: A room to the Amstel River is a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, a word of thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review about your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam for a Royal Afternoon Tea. The Royal Afternoon Tea is definitely one of the things we take great pride in, and it is wonderful to read that you really enjoyed it. We are glad that we were able to make your birthday celebration just that extra festive. Thank you again for the lovely compliments and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

The accommodations at the Intercontinental Hotel were lovely. The room overlooked the canal and was beautiful, especially at night. The location is convenient and it is easy to navigate the city from this location.

Staff was professional, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: As an Intercontinental Ambassador member I receive excellent benefits from the brand. This hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you very much for writing this lovely review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you really enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt treated very well by our staff. Delivering excellent service is something we take great pride in, and we are happy that we succeeded. I will make sure that your compliments will reach our staff. We are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I got a weekend at the hotel as a reward from work in july 2013. And i enjoyed what i earned by working hard :-)

We were treated very well by the staff and our room was really big with an enjoyable view over the Amstel. Two things i really remember: the very comfortable bed and the extremely delicious breakfast.

However i was a bit surprised that the furniture of the room was a bit used. E.g there was a big water stain on the table. That gave me the feeling that this room was visited by a lot of other people...

This hotel is nice if you want to celebrate a special occasion!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed your visit, and that you felt treated very well by our staff. Delivering excellent service is something we take great pride in, and we are happy that we succeeded. I will make sure that your compliments will reach our staff. We would like to thank you for your compliments and are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us, maybe for another special occasion. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GB, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We had a lovely stay here. Everyone was friendly, the room was nice, the canal view was wonderful. We loved the location as everything was within walking distance or a white-knuckled bike ride away. Would definitely recommend & return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you appreciated our elegant rooms, the canal view and the unique location on the banks of the Amstel river. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Samui, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Though for only a night stay, I had a very great time with IC Amstel. With a century rich history, the entire building was a interesting wonder to admire both on the exterior and interior. I have never been a big fan of hotels set in historic buildings with Victorian theme, but this hotel has changed my view completely. Especially love the alfresco dining and drinks by the terrace, especially so in the summer's heat.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit, although you were here only for one night. We are also very pleased to hear that you were positively surprised by the interior and exterior of the hotel, it is great to know that we were able to change your view on historic buildings with Victorian theme. We would like to thank you for all your compliments and are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#13 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#21 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.