We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Amsterdam ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Very efficient and friendly staff. One of the best hotel restaurants ever. I strongly recommend it very cosy wit a great view of the canal Will definitely come again. The rooms are comfortable and classy. Although I arrived very late the reception was very efficient.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your warm review which instantly put a smile on our face. We take great pride in the compliment that you think our restaurant is one of the best hotel restaurants ever and that you think our personnel was very efficient and friendly. It’s also a pleasure to read that you had the chance to enjoy the view on the Amstel river and that you adored your room. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again in the future for another stay with us.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    67
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
61
181
33
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

As you can tell from the title of this review, we really enjoyed our stay at the Amstel. The hotel is unlike most Intercontinentals--it's a small historic property full of charm. The public spaces are welcoming and the rooms large and comfortable. We enjoyed having drinks on the lovely terrace overlooking the river. I also highly recommend the hotel's river cruise on a beautifully restored historic boat. Though a bit pricey, it was far more intimate and interesting than a cruise on one of the large commercial boats.

While the hotel staff were unfailingly courteous and helpful--unlike the staff at the Park Hyatt in Paris where we had stayed just before our arrival in Amsterdam--I would like to single out the concierge staff for their extra attentiveness. They made and changed numerous reservations for us and always fulfilled our requests with grace.

Food at the hotel is expensive but there are a couple of pleasant cafés just steps from the front door. Tram and subway stops are also nearby

My only complaints about the hotel have to do with the inconsistent housekeeping staff. They were small things like the dirty dishes that were not removed or the laundry list that was not replaced after sending out laundry on the first day, even when we left the empty folder out, or the turndown service that was done for only one person on two nights. These things did not mar our stay but I did expect better of a hotel of this quality.

In any event, we are already planning our return trip to the Amstel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Firstly, we would like to thank you for your compliment and feel very honoured that you call us ‘your new favourite hotel’. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you think we’re unique from all the other Intercontinental Hotels. It’s great to read that you were able to explore our Amstel terraces with view on the lovely river and that you enjoyed the historic boat tour through the city with one of our own boats. Furthermore, I am very proud to read that the concierges were very helpful and attentive during your stay. Regarding the food, we solely work with local and fresh products and try to deliver a high quality of food which is also visible in the price of the food.

Concerning your complaints about the housekeeping department, we will pass on your review to them and point out that we can no longer afford this in the future and make sure that this matter won’t occur again. Nevertheless, we would like to apologize ourselves for the inconvenience.

I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us so that we can show you the improvements of the housekeeping department. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Just arrived home from a fantastic long weekend here. Every member of staff treated us like royalty. So attentive and friendly, smiling enjoying their jobs with a smile and smartly dressed always.
Reception especially helpful. We used the brassiere restaurant each evening, excellent service from Walter, reserved a table with river view. Each meal was top class, we chose different each night. Could not complain about a single item. The same goes for breakfast.
Our room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Every comfort you could wish for was provided. The room was luxury, so were the facilities. A joy to sit on the terrace and watch the many boats go by. The hotel has its own boat and has one hour trips on most days leaving at 10.30am, booking if essential. An excellent boat captain and guide to talk you through the history of buildings as you pass them.
Venue is not in the city centre, in a quiet area for relaxing.
Hope we can get back again.

Room Tip: Stay here to relax and enjoy the ambience and whole experience of feeling like royalty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Primarily, we would like to thank you for your warm review that instantly put a smile on our face. We are very happy to read that you had a great long weekend at the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you felt like a true royal during your stay. We work with people who are passionate by the hospitality industry and are happy you have noticed this while staying with us. Furthermore, we are happy that the personnel met all of your expectations and that the dishes in the Amstel Brasserie could enchant you every single day of your stay. We are also very pleased to read that you enjoyed the location and were able to explore the city by one of our lovely boat tours. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Ankara, Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Roughly 23 days ago I stayed at this hotel with my friend.As soon as I came in, hotel interior was very awesome at all costs. No matter hotel and all rooms were very big, the most significant thing it is nearer to Red light district and city centre. In addition, breakfast is very variable and u can eat everything what u want. I recommend everybody stay this awesome hotel if u have available budget. Also, I recommend to stay in King Bed Executive Room. Everybody working this hotel was very pleased and genial.

Room Tip: KIng Bed Executive Room or Executive City View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for writing such a lovely review about our hotel and the staff. We are very pleased to read that you adored the interior of the rooms and the location of the hotel. Furthermore, it’s pleasant to read such a warm review and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Intercontinental. I like the old world aesthetic and charm of the hotel. Check in was obviously done by a trainee. They need more seasoning at their position but that will hopefully come with time. Our Virtuosity Travel Agent had requested an upgrade for us from a Junior suite but he didn't seem to know what to do about that. I let it go as Room 301 was lovely. Very large with a view of the canal.
The bathroom was large as well with a separate tub, shower and toilet area. The overhead rain shower fixture was a dribble in what should have been a torrent. And only one sink in the bathroom. A bathmat didn't always appear when the maids did the room. Also, the newspaper was a no show one morning. The message light on the bedside phone in the room continually blinked red. We called the desk; they said it was a glitch in the system but would come up and check. A young woman fooled around with it, pressing buttons and seemed befuddled. My spouse finally said; look the other phone isn't blinking, it is a fault with this one, so just exchange it out with a new one. Training personnel to think for themselves is important as is their attention to detail. The area rug around the bed had stains and dirt embedded in it which housekeeping should notice. Also turn down service did not appear until 10 PM one night, much too late of course. All reasons why the hotel did not get an excellent from this reviewer.
At breakfast which is served on the canal level with waterside views which I love, the young woman who took us to our table never bothered to hand us the menu card or say that things could be cooked to order, in addition to the continental offerings on the buffet. A hot pot of boiling water was brought to the table without any cover on the handle which was too hot to touch. Again, another example of semi trained personnel.
When we checked in we were given a voucher for either a three course dinner in the Brasserie, two courses in the upstairs dining room or a wine sampling. We chose the Brasserie. On arrival we told the host that we had a voucher. He said we could have the three course fixe price or we could exchange anything on it for the a al carte side of the menu. No mention was made of any price limit of the voucher, nor was there any monetary limits written on the voucher. When the bill arrived, it had a 69 euro charge. It turns out that the voucher is good only for 36 euros per person. Anything over that was to be paid by the customer. The next morning I talked to the manager about his and he agreed that either they had to rewrite the voucher to express a monetary amount or have the host explain the monetary value of the voucher when seating the guests. The manager graciously deleted the charges from our bill.
As for Duncan, the concierge, he was wonderful. One of our airline tickets had been deleted from the KLM system for some unknown reason and after much effort, he got the ticket reinstated. Bravo Duncan!
I would definitely stay here on future trips to Amsterdam regardless of all the small things that had to be addressed. The staff is friendly and I love the location and ambiance.

Room Tip: Get a room with a canal view like #301, but make sure they have fixed the shower head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very glad that you appreciated the interior and the charm of the hotel. Concerning the check-in, we would like to thank for your patience towards the trainee. The front office department is a very complicated department and it takes a lot of time to learn everything. They all benefited from a training recently so they are all well trained now.
Concerning the area rug around the bed which had stains, we want to apologize ourselves for this matter and assure you that we will solve this problem in the future. Stains on the carpet are difficult to remove, so we are considering a renovation of the carpet. Regarding the late’turn down service’, we will certainly pass this on to the housekeeping department and indicate them that this used to happen early in the evenings.
Regarding the breakfast we will inform the breakfast staff about your review and make sure that they pay attention to this in the future. We would like to apologize ourselves for the inconvenience. About the brasserie vouchers, these are normally used for a 3 course diner which costs 36 euros per person. I agree that the monetary value should be indicated on the voucher and I am very happy to read that the manager solved this in a very decent way. We know Duncan all as a very helping man who is always in a good mood and who helps everyone. It didn’t surprise us that he fixed the problem in no time.
I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We've stayed in many Amsterdam hotels, but the experience at the Amstel is unique. From its beautiful Atrium with views of the canal where high tea is a world-class experience, to the well-appointed rooms and service, it is the kind of experience that let's you know that you are in Amsterdam's most rarefied hotel. The staff seemed to all know our names, a feat only achieved successfully at the Beverly Hills Hotel, and Hong Kong's Peninsula...all others try, but they fall far short.

We found even the food prepared for room service to have the hallmarks of utmost care, and our children enjoyed spending their mornings at the atrium, watching the boats along the canal. The paparazzi at the main entrance were managed so well that the celebrities were not delayed coming in or going out, something that is not always the case in other hotels of this caliber.

Room Tip: Get a room with on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. We take great pride in the fact that you call our hotel “unique” and are very proud that you compare our hotel to the ‘Beverly Hills Hotel’ and the ‘Hong Kong’s Peninsula. We try to make the difference by approaching the guest on a more personal way. We are very glad that you appreciated these gestures. Furthermore, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the room service dining experience and that your children adored the view of the Amstel River with the floating boats passing by. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Now I know why this hotel is rated as one of the best in Amsterdam. It is situated on the canals of Amsterdam. From stepping into the lobby we were treated so warmly. It look a few minutes for check in,and while waiting we were offered coffee. Lovely touches with jars of sweets and bottled water. The hotel bar has the most beautiful view. We're taken up to our room,it was a canal room view. Beautiful sunny large room with a bath an desperate shower. Bathroom very luxurious with lovely amenities and huge fluffy towels. A large comfortable bed. The room has a coffee machine and a kettle. Will return and highly recommend it

Room Tip: Guess anything facing the canals. Maybe higher up. We were on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your warm review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you had the chance to explore the A Bar terrace. Furthermore, the concierge and the doormen were very pleased with your comment about the warm welcome because this is something that they attach great value to. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another “out of this world’ stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.