We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Excellent Hotel but Duncan, the Concierge, is Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Plantage & the East)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #17 of 356 Hotels in Amsterdam
chicago
Level Contributor
105 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Almost Excellent Hotel but Duncan, the Concierge, is Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Intercontinental. I like the old world aesthetic and charm of the hotel. Check in was obviously done by a trainee. They need more seasoning at their position but that will hopefully come with time. Our Virtuosity Travel Agent had requested an upgrade for us from a Junior suite but he didn't seem to know what to do about that. I let it go as Room 301 was lovely. Very large with a view of the canal.
The bathroom was large as well with a separate tub, shower and toilet area. The overhead rain shower fixture was a dribble in what should have been a torrent. And only one sink in the bathroom. A bathmat didn't always appear when the maids did the room. Also, the newspaper was a no show one morning. The message light on the bedside phone in the room continually blinked red. We called the desk; they said it was a glitch in the system but would come up and check. A young woman fooled around with it, pressing buttons and seemed befuddled. My spouse finally said; look the other phone isn't blinking, it is a fault with this one, so just exchange it out with a new one. Training personnel to think for themselves is important as is their attention to detail. The area rug around the bed had stains and dirt embedded in it which housekeeping should notice. Also turn down service did not appear until 10 PM one night, much too late of course. All reasons why the hotel did not get an excellent from this reviewer.
At breakfast which is served on the canal level with waterside views which I love, the young woman who took us to our table never bothered to hand us the menu card or say that things could be cooked to order, in addition to the continental offerings on the buffet. A hot pot of boiling water was brought to the table without any cover on the handle which was too hot to touch. Again, another example of semi trained personnel.
When we checked in we were given a voucher for either a three course dinner in the Brasserie, two courses in the upstairs dining room or a wine sampling. We chose the Brasserie. On arrival we told the host that we had a voucher. He said we could have the three course fixe price or we could exchange anything on it for the a al carte side of the menu. No mention was made of any price limit of the voucher, nor was there any monetary limits written on the voucher. When the bill arrived, it had a 69 euro charge. It turns out that the voucher is good only for 36 euros per person. Anything over that was to be paid by the customer. The next morning I talked to the manager about his and he agreed that either they had to rewrite the voucher to express a monetary amount or have the host explain the monetary value of the voucher when seating the guests. The manager graciously deleted the charges from our bill.
As for Duncan, the concierge, he was wonderful. One of our airline tickets had been deleted from the KLM system for some unknown reason and after much effort, he got the ticket reinstated. Bravo Duncan!
I would definitely stay here on future trips to Amsterdam regardless of all the small things that had to be addressed. The staff is friendly and I love the location and ambiance.

Room Tip: Get a room with a canal view like #301, but make sure they have fixed the shower head.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are very glad that you appreciated the interior and the charm of the hotel. Concerning the check-in, we would like to thank for your patience towards the trainee. The front office department is a very complicated department and it takes a lot of time to learn everything. They all benefited from a training recently so they are all well trained now.
Concerning the area rug around the bed which had stains, we want to apologize ourselves for this matter and assure you that we will solve this problem in the future. Stains on the carpet are difficult to remove, so we are considering a renovation of the carpet. Regarding the late’turn down service’, we will certainly pass this on to the housekeeping department and indicate them that this used to happen early in the evenings.
Regarding the breakfast we will inform the breakfast staff about your review and make sure that they pay attention to this in the future. We would like to apologize ourselves for the inconvenience. About the brasserie vouchers, these are normally used for a 3 course diner which costs 36 euros per person. I agree that the monetary value should be indicated on the voucher and I am very happy to read that the manager solved this in a very decent way. We know Duncan all as a very helping man who is always in a good mood and who helps everyone. It didn’t surprise us that he fixed the problem in no time.
I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    90
    36
    10
    14
See reviews for
77
250
41
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

We've stayed in many Amsterdam hotels, but the experience at the Amstel is unique. From its beautiful Atrium with views of the canal where high tea is a world-class experience, to the well-appointed rooms and service, it is the kind of experience that let's you know that you are in Amsterdam's most rarefied hotel. The staff seemed to all know our names, a feat only achieved successfully at the Beverly Hills Hotel, and Hong Kong's Peninsula...all others try, but they fall far short.

We found even the food prepared for room service to have the hallmarks of utmost care, and our children enjoyed spending their mornings at the atrium, watching the boats along the canal. The paparazzi at the main entrance were managed so well that the celebrities were not delayed coming in or going out, something that is not always the case in other hotels of this caliber.

Room Tip: Get a room with on the canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review about the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. We take great pride in the fact that you call our hotel “unique” and are very proud that you compare our hotel to the ‘Beverly Hills Hotel’ and the ‘Hong Kong’s Peninsula. We try to make the difference by approaching the guest on a more personal way. We are very glad that you appreciated these gestures. Furthermore, we are happy to read that you enjoyed the room service dining experience and that your children adored the view of the Amstel River with the floating boats passing by. I will share all of your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Now I know why this hotel is rated as one of the best in Amsterdam. It is situated on the canals of Amsterdam. From stepping into the lobby we were treated so warmly. It look a few minutes for check in,and while waiting we were offered coffee. Lovely touches with jars of sweets and bottled water. The hotel bar has the most beautiful view. We're taken up to our room,it was a canal room view. Beautiful sunny large room with a bath an desperate shower. Bathroom very luxurious with lovely amenities and huge fluffy towels. A large comfortable bed. The room has a coffee machine and a kettle. Will return and highly recommend it

Room Tip: Guess anything facing the canals. Maybe higher up. We were on 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you on behalf of the whole team for your warm review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the location of our hotel and that you had the chance to explore the A Bar terrace. Furthermore, the concierge and the doormen were very pleased with your comment about the warm welcome because this is something that they attach great value to. We genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another “out of this world’ stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Last Sunday high tea in this hotel, this was really "high" .
Everything was really very good,and the people who are working there are one of the best.
You really get a lot for your money.
This we do again when we are in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you adored the deluxe suite and the luxurious furniture in it and the spacious bathroom. We are also very glad to read that you enjoyed the breakfast with a view on the Amstel River. We are happy that we could contribute to the fact that you had a lovely stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us and maybe for a great dining experience in our Restaurant La Rive as well. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Sadly, we had a bad experience at this hotel - we booked our reservations well in advance and even called overseas to personally speak to the hotel to guarantee we had the room we requested. We were assured (guaranteed) that we would have a corner suite with views of the Amstel Canal. We arrived early and were told as soon as the room was ready we could check in early. After two hours, we decided to walk around for a while. Two more hours elapsed and we were back at the hotel well AFTER their published check-in time. Still no room. We decided to get a meal at the hotel since we had waited so long and were then told that there was no room in the restaurant - at all. The Manager offered to "get me a pancake" and suggested I take it and eat it while I walked around some more! We were clearly getting upset at this time and he then said he did have our room ready. We were escorted to a tiny room with a sliver of a canal view that was not a suite. He then proceeded to tell us they were fully booked, even though we had a guaranteed suite reserved in writing. The room he showed us had a king sized bed that was only 12" off the ground and lumpy. The carpet was gray with dirt and generally it looked as if all the mismatched pieces of furniture were stored in this room! This is so unlike the standards of Intercontinental. We refused the room and left. On a positive note, the concierge, Mr. Peter Moos, was wonderfully helpful and tried hard to help us out in any way he could. He had booked us tours and dinners which he transferred over to the hotel we eventually ended up checking into. Extremely disappointing experience.

Room Tip: I have nothing to offer as we were guaranteed a corner suite in writing and got what appeared to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

I very much regret that we did not succeed in delivering you the perfect service and therefore, I offer you our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I discussed the situation and your entire story with all the staff members involved, to make sure that similar situations will not occur again in the future. I kindly ask you yo contact me through amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me. For this, I thank you very much in advance.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tetbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

One night in the hotel and it leaves me wanting more. The hotel is a really nice old fashioned style IC,the staff are friendly and the public areas are both smart and elegant.
We were upgraded to a suite which was a nice surprise. Needless to say the suite was excellent with antique style furniture giving it a really classy feel. Little extras such as coffee machine added to the style.
Well done IC,wish I could stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review about our hotel. We are very happy to read that you appreciated the room upgrade to a suite and that you adored the antique furniture in it. We are happy that we could contribute to the fact that you had a lovely stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

They really treat their Royal Ambassador members here well-- upgraded to the Penthouse Suite! The room service left a bit to be desired, but there is so much food within walking distance no real need! Great wi-fi, and highly recommend taking their boat out with Captain Roderick in the canals! Also easy peasy bike rental to go explore for some brunch! Thanks IC Amstel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for calling our Penthouse Suite adorable, we are very happy to read that you appreciated the room upgrade and the romantic design of the Penthouse Suite. We are also very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the boat tour with Captain Roderick on the Amstel river and through the canals of Amsterdam. You’re very welcome, we are happy that we could contribute to the fact a wonderful stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Red Light District (De Wallen)
De L'Europe Amsterdam
De L'Europe Amsterdam
#16 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 356 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,827 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 356 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Plantage & the East , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.