We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely adorable-- PENTHOUSE SUITE is a must!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #24 of 343 Hotels in Amsterdam
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 107 cities Reviews in 107 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Absolutely adorable-- PENTHOUSE SUITE is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

They really treat their Royal Ambassador members here well-- upgraded to the Penthouse Suite! The room service left a bit to be desired, but there is so much food within walking distance no real need! Great wi-fi, and highly recommend taking their boat out with Captain Roderick in the canals! Also easy peasy bike rental to go explore for some brunch! Thanks IC Amstel!

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for calling our Penthouse Suite adorable, we are very happy to read that you appreciated the room upgrade and the romantic design of the Penthouse Suite. We are also very delighted to hear that you enjoyed the boat tour with Captain Roderick on the Amstel river and through the canals of Amsterdam. You’re very welcome, we are happy that we could contribute to the fact a wonderful stay. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    77
    34
    9
    14
See reviews for
71
209
37
98
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nassau Bahamas
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

To say the hotel is 5 star, is cutting it short. The view, the staff, the food. Anything I asked for magically happened. The driver that picked us up, Duncan the concierge, the doorman Marcos. All were like they came from central casting. I called for a bucket of ice, and within 4 minutes, it was at my door. It is a lively hotel on the weekends, and lots to watch from your balcony window. Beautiful rooms, and anything you need or want avaliable. There was a wedding on Saturday evening, and our room was just over the patio by the canal, so for a few hours it was noisy, but the view made up for that. And on Sunday we got a parade of constant locals on canal boats having a great time enjoying The spring weather with us.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the great compliment that you think that we are a beyond 5 star hotel. We try to deliver the best service possible to all our guests and are pleased to hear that the staff did fulfil all of your wishes in a magically way during your spring stay. We are also very delighted to read that you loved to watch the view from your balcony and that you enjoyed the parade of canal boats on Sunday. I assume you were staying in the hotel on King’s day, this is a major event in the Netherlands which honours the royalties. It’s a custom to celebrate this event on the water or close to the canals of Amsterdam. The hotel is a coveted place during the festival and we are glad that you were able to witness this spectacle. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another magical stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

This is one of the finest hotels in Amsterdam. Brilliant suite and exceptional service from all the staff. The hotel is in a great location, situated on the Amstel River with impressive outdoor restaurants overlooking the river.
High standards throughout the hotel. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for calling us one of the finest hotels in Amsterdam. We are very delighted to hear that you loved the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed the Amstel view from our restaurants. We are striving to deliver the best service possible to our guests and are very happy to read that you call our service exceptional. We take great pride in this compliment. Furthermore, we are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the suite you stayed in. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another lovely stay with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a very large suite ...beautifully decorated. The location was good, the view of the river was lovely. The service was excellent - very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and dinner. Hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review about our hotel. We are very delighted to hear that you loved the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed the Amstel view. We are striving for perfection when it comes down to the service that we want to offer to our guests and are very happy to read that you think the service was excellent. We take great pride in this compliment. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another lovely breakfast and innovative culinary dining experience. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Amstel is an impressive combination of style, comfort, excellent food and welcoming service. The staff a are quietly friendly, keen to help and English-speaking. Rooms are well and attractively furnished; the beds very comfortable. It says a lot about the high performance standards of the hotel that the only faults experienced in a 3 day stay were the absence of a napkin on the breakfast trolley one morning, the presence of an empty jam pot among the selection of full ones presented, and clean but unpolished lavatory floor tiles.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive memory of your stay and that you were impressed by the hotel, the quality of the food and the hospitality of our staff. We are also very delighted to hear that you had a great night rest and that you appreciated the interior design of the room. Regarding the high performance standards you mentioned, we are trying to deliver the best service possible to all our hotel guests and are striving for perfection. Little faults can always occur but we try to let all guests leave the hotel with a smile and a good feeling. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Spent 5 nights recently. For a major European city hotel it's location is exquisite and outdoor restaurants and bar are outstanding and view from the bedroom was a bonus. The wi fi was rather insipid but that's a minor quibble. Service is first rate.

Room Tip: Request a room with water view. Floor level does not matter as nothing blocks your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your bedroom view. We are also very pleased to hear that you adored our wonderful location. Regarding the internet, we recently installed a dedicated internet line to improve our wireless internet service. I will definitely share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend on a wedding anniversary. It is well located on the edge of the old city centre - just outside but within walking distance. The hotel overlooks the river and has a terrace which is lovely on a sunny day.

This is an excellent old grand traditional hotel. It has a large lobby with gilt and chandeliers, large public areas serving afternoon teas, a bar with terrace overlooking the Amstel river, two restaurants (a michelin starred grand restaurant and a less formal brasserie).

The room was spacious, very comfortable and well equipped, with a large bathroom. The decor was a bit kitsch but it fitted with the hotel style.

We ate in the brasserie which had an interesting menu and was high quality lovely food. We had breakfast in our room one day which was fabulous and felt very decadent.

Service was efficient and polite but was a little formal, stiff and starchy. The bar service was particularly slow and inattentive, and we did get told off one day for sitting on the wrong part of the terrace. On the other hand, the concierge and doormen were helpful and friendly.

Its a very good hotel and it makes a very good upmarket base to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive memory of the Amstel view. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the comfortable spacious rooms of the hotel with a large bathroom. It’s a true honour to read that you adored the menu of the Brasserie and that you think we serve high quality food is something where we take great pride in. Concerning the A Bar service, we will check this and make sure that the staff is more attentive in the future and that orders are served more quickly. We would like to apologize ourselves for this matter and assure you that we will do our very best to avoid this in the future. We would also like to thank you for the lovely compliment about the doormen and the concierge, they will be very happy to read this. I will share your compliments and your remark about the a bar team with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#25 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.