We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra deluxe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Kansas City USA
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Ultra deluxe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We had a very large suite ...beautifully decorated. The location was good, the view of the river was lovely. The service was excellent - very friendly and helpful staff. Lovely breakfast and dinner. Hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review about our hotel. We are very delighted to hear that you loved the location of the hotel and that you enjoyed the Amstel view. We are striving for perfection when it comes down to the service that we want to offer to our guests and are very happy to read that you think the service was excellent. We take great pride in this compliment. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we genuinely hope that we may welcome you again for another lovely breakfast and innovative culinary dining experience. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    67
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
61
187
33
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Amstel is an impressive combination of style, comfort, excellent food and welcoming service. The staff a are quietly friendly, keen to help and English-speaking. Rooms are well and attractively furnished; the beds very comfortable. It says a lot about the high performance standards of the hotel that the only faults experienced in a 3 day stay were the absence of a napkin on the breakfast trolley one morning, the presence of an empty jam pot among the selection of full ones presented, and clean but unpolished lavatory floor tiles.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive memory of your stay and that you were impressed by the hotel, the quality of the food and the hospitality of our staff. We are also very delighted to hear that you had a great night rest and that you appreciated the interior design of the room. Regarding the high performance standards you mentioned, we are trying to deliver the best service possible to all our hotel guests and are striving for perfection. Little faults can always occur but we try to let all guests leave the hotel with a smile and a good feeling. I will share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Spent 5 nights recently. For a major European city hotel it's location is exquisite and outdoor restaurants and bar are outstanding and view from the bedroom was a bonus. The wi fi was rather insipid but that's a minor quibble. Service is first rate.

Room Tip: Request a room with water view. Floor level does not matter as nothing blocks your view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your bedroom view. We are also very pleased to hear that you adored our wonderful location. Regarding the internet, we recently installed a dedicated internet line to improve our wireless internet service. I will definitely share your compliments with the whole team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend on a wedding anniversary. It is well located on the edge of the old city centre - just outside but within walking distance. The hotel overlooks the river and has a terrace which is lovely on a sunny day.

This is an excellent old grand traditional hotel. It has a large lobby with gilt and chandeliers, large public areas serving afternoon teas, a bar with terrace overlooking the Amstel river, two restaurants (a michelin starred grand restaurant and a less formal brasserie).

The room was spacious, very comfortable and well equipped, with a large bathroom. The decor was a bit kitsch but it fitted with the hotel style.

We ate in the brasserie which had an interesting menu and was high quality lovely food. We had breakfast in our room one day which was fabulous and felt very decadent.

Service was efficient and polite but was a little formal, stiff and starchy. The bar service was particularly slow and inattentive, and we did get told off one day for sitting on the wrong part of the terrace. On the other hand, the concierge and doormen were helpful and friendly.

Its a very good hotel and it makes a very good upmarket base to explore Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice and detailed comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive memory of the Amstel view. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the comfortable spacious rooms of the hotel with a large bathroom. It’s a true honour to read that you adored the menu of the Brasserie and that you think we serve high quality food is something where we take great pride in. Concerning the A Bar service, we will check this and make sure that the staff is more attentive in the future and that orders are served more quickly. We would like to apologize ourselves for this matter and assure you that we will do our very best to avoid this in the future. We would also like to thank you for the lovely compliment about the doormen and the concierge, they will be very happy to read this. I will share your compliments and your remark about the a bar team with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

If you are lucky enough to snag a river-front room, prepare to spend a good deal of time staring out of the window. The traffic on the Amstel River is lively, varied, and fun to watch. And whether or not your room has a riverfront view, go to the bottom floor and have a bite in their very pleasant bistro with an astonishing, on-the-water view. If the weather permits, sit outside the bistro on the little terrace right at the water's edge, particularly delightful at night. The hotel itself is luxurious, clean, well-furnished, and the staff respond fast and graciously to just about any request. However there are a few slips here and there -- a restaurant reservation promised but not made, room service breakfast menus forgotten again and again -- but the great majority of requests were fulfilled promptly and well. Rooms are quiet, beds comfortable, and the tub fills in less than 2 minutes!

Room Tip: Try for as high a room as possible to get a sweeping view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your room view. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the comfortable rooms of the hotel and the bath tub which filled quite quickly. It’s a true honour to read that our staff responds fast en graciously to most of your requests. Concerning the forgotten room service breakfast menus, we will take this matter into account and will do our utmost to make sure that this won’t occur again in the future. I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wonderful hotel and staff. Doesn't get much better than this. From a pool canal side to the quiet, comfortable rooms and excellent service, this hotel is a stunner. Albeit pricey, with all of the ametities you'd expect and a few unexpected. Grab the canal boat for a private tour of the canals. The hotel staff will fill the boat with lunch, drinks, anything you want. Complete service win, ask for anything and the concierge will be more than happy to help. Will be back soon. Slight distance from the old city center, be ready for about a 2 km walk.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room in the place. Ask for one facing the canal for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive memory of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the comfortable rooms of the hotel and that you loved the view from your room. It’s a true honour to read that you think that it doesn’t get much better than the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaca, Spain
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Five star quality and service. Immaculate hotel with quality furnishings and fixtures. The staff bends over backwards to serve. The view from our room was fantastic (facing the river). Near the tram (by your multi-use ticket at the service desk). We bought our tickets to the Van Gogh Museum at the hotel service desk and saved a long wait in line. Parking is somewhat expensive, but that's normal for Amsterdam. Overall, our experience at this hotel was memorable and we will use it as a yardstick to measure other hotels in the future. Definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all of your beautiful compliments about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the interior design of the hotel and loved the view from your room. It’s a true honour that you will use our hotel as a yardstick to measure other hotels and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#17 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.