We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Wonderful hotel and staff. Doesn't get much better than this. From a pool canal side to the quiet, comfortable rooms and excellent service, this hotel is a stunner. Albeit pricey, with all of the ametities you'd expect and a few unexpected. Grab the canal boat for a private tour of the canals. The hotel staff will fill the boat with lunch, drinks, anything you want. Complete service win, ask for anything and the concierge will be more than happy to help. Will be back soon. Slight distance from the old city center, be ready for about a 2 km walk.

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room in the place. Ask for one facing the canal for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking the time to write such a nice comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive memory of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the comfortable rooms of the hotel and that you loved the view from your room. It’s a true honour to read that you think that it doesn’t get much better than the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam. I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    72
    34
    9
    14
See reviews for
65
194
33
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jaca, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Five star quality and service. Immaculate hotel with quality furnishings and fixtures. The staff bends over backwards to serve. The view from our room was fantastic (facing the river). Near the tram (by your multi-use ticket at the service desk). We bought our tickets to the Van Gogh Museum at the hotel service desk and saved a long wait in line. Parking is somewhat expensive, but that's normal for Amsterdam. Overall, our experience at this hotel was memorable and we will use it as a yardstick to measure other hotels in the future. Definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for all of your beautiful compliments about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you appreciated the interior design of the hotel and loved the view from your room. It’s a true honour that you will use our hotel as a yardstick to measure other hotels and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for a romantic weekend. It is a historical landmark hotel with a modern twist, beautiful grand entrance, valet parking, lovely fresh flowers everywhere. Beautiful gym looking over the Amstel river. Walking distance from the fantastic Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum and shopping area.
We had a small but very comfortable room, decorated with a Dutch twist. Very good bed and bed linen, large bathroom, great towels, fantastic minibar. Dinner at Restaurant La Rive was also good. Breakfast was outstanding.
Personnel at breakfast and dinner was young and not that experienced, but very kind, to us it was refreshing. Breakfast floor manager was openly concerned about the performance of young colleagues. Not so elegant and no need for. Overall personnel was very friendly, but did miss a bit of extra charm that would fit this historic hotel.
A cool bar would be a welcome addition to this old grand lady.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated the interior of the hotel with a little modern twist. We are also very pleased with the fact that you had a great night and that the beds and the linen lived up to all of your expectations. We are a little bit afraid that you didn’t find our contemporary A Bar, which we opened last year a specially for the reason you mention in your review. Furthermore, I will share your compliments and comments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us and to discover our cool A Bar this time. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is in a very old building, yet it feels so new and perfect. The rooms are very spacious and elegant in a very nice way. Staff was more than helpful and extremely friendly and supportive. Location is good although not directly in the center but few minutes walking. Overall a good place to stay in while in Amsterdam

Room Tip: My room was in the forth floor and it was very spacious, almost a studio apartment, bath is clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our spacious and elegant rooms. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Weekend break with my mother and sister in Amsterdam. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated like Royalty. We couldnt fault a thing, the service was faultless and the rooms beautiful, our suites were on the 3rd and 4th Floor. The breakfast buffet had everything that you would could wish for, with the hot items served a la carte. The Spa was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours on a wet afternoon after some sightseeing. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit together with your mother and sister to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance and memory of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you had a wonderful relaxing time at our Health Club and that you had the possibility to unwind from all the sightseeing. We would like to thank you for all your compliments and are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My Partner and I recently dined at the Amstel during our stay in Amsterdam. From the minute we entered to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. Chris particularty enthralled us all. He was personable, attentive and very knowledgeable. He made our evening a total joy, and the food was good too!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our dining facilities. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit. Of course I will share your compliments with Chris who will be very honoured to read your compliments. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at this grande dame hotel several times over the last 10 years. We scored some wonderful rooms and the IC Amstel had the best mini-bars in the world, if you were a RA, anyway. It sits slightly outside the fall out range generated by the red light district and Nieumarkt. Great dutch bar snacks and sublime breakfasts... Just a nice place.

Room Tip: Great value for priority club point bookings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your very nice review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed all of your stays in the Amstel Hotel and that you have a very positive remembrance of your visits. We are also very honoured to read your compliment about the mini-bars. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us to have another sublime breakfast and to enjoy our bar snacks. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#30 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.