We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool aristocratic historic hotel at superb location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cool aristocratic historic hotel at superb location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed for a romantic weekend. It is a historical landmark hotel with a modern twist, beautiful grand entrance, valet parking, lovely fresh flowers everywhere. Beautiful gym looking over the Amstel river. Walking distance from the fantastic Rijksmuseum and van Gogh museum and shopping area.
We had a small but very comfortable room, decorated with a Dutch twist. Very good bed and bed linen, large bathroom, great towels, fantastic minibar. Dinner at Restaurant La Rive was also good. Breakfast was outstanding.
Personnel at breakfast and dinner was young and not that experienced, but very kind, to us it was refreshing. Breakfast floor manager was openly concerned about the performance of young colleagues. Not so elegant and no need for. Overall personnel was very friendly, but did miss a bit of extra charm that would fit this historic hotel.
A cool bar would be a welcome addition to this old grand lady.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely comment about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated the interior of the hotel with a little modern twist. We are also very pleased with the fact that you had a great night and that the beds and the linen lived up to all of your expectations. We are a little bit afraid that you didn’t find our contemporary A Bar, which we opened last year a specially for the reason you mention in your review. Furthermore, I will share your compliments and comments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us and to discover our cool A Bar this time. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    72
    34
    9
    14
See reviews for
65
194
34
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel is in a very old building, yet it feels so new and perfect. The rooms are very spacious and elegant in a very nice way. Staff was more than helpful and extremely friendly and supportive. Location is good although not directly in the center but few minutes walking. Overall a good place to stay in while in Amsterdam

Room Tip: My room was in the forth floor and it was very spacious, almost a studio apartment, bath is clean an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely compliments about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our spacious and elegant rooms. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Weekend break with my mother and sister in Amsterdam. From the moment we stepped through the door we were treated like Royalty. We couldnt fault a thing, the service was faultless and the rooms beautiful, our suites were on the 3rd and 4th Floor. The breakfast buffet had everything that you would could wish for, with the hot items served a la carte. The Spa was a lovely way to spend a couple of hours on a wet afternoon after some sightseeing. Thank you for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit together with your mother and sister to the InterContinental Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance and memory of your visit. We are also very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and that you had a wonderful relaxing time at our Health Club and that you had the possibility to unwind from all the sightseeing. We would like to thank you for all your compliments and are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My Partner and I recently dined at the Amstel during our stay in Amsterdam. From the minute we entered to the minute we left we were treated like royalty. Chris particularty enthralled us all. He was personable, attentive and very knowledgeable. He made our evening a total joy, and the food was good too!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review about our dining facilities. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Amstel Hotel and that you will have a very positive remembrance of your visit. Of course I will share your compliments with Chris who will be very honoured to read your compliments. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, Ca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

I have had the pleasure of staying at this grande dame hotel several times over the last 10 years. We scored some wonderful rooms and the IC Amstel had the best mini-bars in the world, if you were a RA, anyway. It sits slightly outside the fall out range generated by the red light district and Nieumarkt. Great dutch bar snacks and sublime breakfasts... Just a nice place.

Room Tip: Great value for priority club point bookings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your very nice review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed all of your stays in the Amstel Hotel and that you have a very positive remembrance of your visits. We are also very honoured to read your compliment about the mini-bars. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam with us to have another sublime breakfast and to enjoy our bar snacks. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you or if you would like to make a reservation for next time.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Smooth check in and helpful staff. Nice upgrades for loyalty card holders. Charming rooms and old wood paneled elevators. Romance abounds. Only criticism is that the internet was absolutely awful during my stay. I assume this was just an unfortunate exception but the hotel should conduct a review of the wireless speeds at peak times.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your honest and detailed review. It is a great pleasure to learn that you appreciated our helpful staff and that you were charmed by our rooms and old wood panelled elevators. Regarding the internet, we are definitely aware of this problem and we are working on it to resolve this issue. Instantly, we are installing a dedicated internet line to improve our internet service for the future. Furthermore I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Last Thursday March 20 I have had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel. Both service as location were perfect. I had a business meeting at the Amstel A-bar where we had the opportunity to sit outside in the sunny terrace.
Later we went inside to the Amstel Brasserie for a dinner. Again also there perfect service and good food.
The Amstel hotel is definitely a nice venue to visit for business and private reasons!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

Above all, we would like to thank you for your lovely review and for your time to share your experience with us. We are very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our A Bar and our sunny terraces. Furthermore, I will share your compliments with the whole staff team and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam for another great business and sunny experience with us.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#14 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#29 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.