We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For a Grand view of the Amstel River and Historic Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #29 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sofia, Bulgaria
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For a Grand view of the Amstel River and Historic Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

The InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam hotel in Amsterdam is one of the few hotels in the world that look like more like a government secretariat building than a hotel. The location on the banks of the Amstel River gives a feeling of a very large floating cruise boat. The amenities are top of the line befitting a good five star hotel. The defining elements of the hotel are the decorations depicting the styles of the Victorian era and a fabulous restaurant sporting a terrace from where diners can enjoy a grand view of the river. The hotel has a rich legacy having started n the year 1867. Several restaurants and bars are available on-site that provide excellent Mediterranean fare and choice of wines along with great views of the river and the historic city of Amsterdam. The location is just right with the Royal Palace, Dam Square and Leidse Square as well as the museums close by.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your very detailed review. We are very pleased to read that you had a great experience at the Amstel Hotel and that you appreciated our restaurant with Amstel view and the gorgeous location of our hotel. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam to enjoy our rich legacy with us and we are glad that you have enjoyed your stay.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    67
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
61
187
33
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

This is a place which fullfills perfectly my imagination of truly old world luxury travel. But with all the up to date amenities. Impressive. Small scale, quiet, perfectly located on the Amstel river with gorgeous views from both our rooms over it. Smooth checkin and service good through whole stay, including very helpful concierges with all reservations and arrangements. Rooms spacious and well appointed with dutch patterns. Big bathroom with full amenities. Food good in the hotels restaurants. Perfectly recommendable if luxury experience in Amsterdam is on the schedule. We have fully enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for your lovely review. We are very pleased to read that we fulfilled your imagination with our Dutch residence. Delivering high standard service is something our staff takes great pride in and I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam for another luxury experience with us and we are glad to you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel in March 2014 for a business trip.

Hotel is beautifully situated on the Amstel river. The building is old with a classic french style. I'm not usually into that style but they pulled it off perfectly in this hotel.

The staff were wonderful, friendly, and very helpful.

Location was not bad. It was walking distance from most of the attractions in the area (Heineken Brewery, Van Gogh Museum, and Red Light District). But make sure to bring your walking shoes because you're going to walk a lot.

Room was lovely and very spacious. So was the bathroom.

Didn't try the restaurants or room service so I can't comment on those. The breakfast was very good.

Would I stay there again? Probably not...But wouldn't complain if I did. Personally, I prefer hotels with more of a modern chic vibe and younger crown.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the river (looking west)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your positive and extensive review. It is a great pleasure to read that your stay in Amsterdam was a pleasant one and that we were capable to meet your expectations. We hope you enjoyed the Van Gogh Museum and the rest of Amsterdam. Furthermore I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in February 2014.

As an Intercontinental card holder, I was lucky to be upgraded to a suite. The room itself was excellent, with a view over the Amstel river and Amsterdam. During the day, there was a little noise from the tram clunking its way across the river bridge, but nothing to disturb my sleep as the room was double glazed.

The room was large, well equipped and spacious. Free wifi was available - an excellent addition. The bathroom was clean, tidy and everything had a touch of luxury that fitted well with the quality of the room. The hotel itself is a decent walk from the centre of town, but frankly, the centre of Amsterdam isn't the nicest anyway, so it's probably a good thing!

The only downside to this stay is simply the price. The hotel isn't cheap by any stretch, but charging €9.50 for a bottle of Heineken is starting to push into the "unreasonable" category. The same with breakfast - very nice and very tasty, but €26 for croissant, bread and jam is a bit steep. I didn't drive (the metro is within 5 minutes walk of the hotel) but €60 per night to park means I'd REALLY have to want my car nearby to stay here!

If you have the money, I highly recommend this hotel - it really is beautiful and the staff are welcoming and friendly. If you're looking for value for money, maybe this isn't the best place for you.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street will have some disturbance from passing trams
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Many thanks for your nice and detailed review. It is a great pleasure to learn that your stay in Amsterdam was an enjoyable one. I will discuss the prices you mention with our Management Team. Regarding the parking in Amsterdam; on the streets the rates vary from 3 to 4 Euro per hour. Furthermore I will pass your compliments to the staff members involved and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelburne Falls, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Great older building that is beautifully maintained and impeccably staffed. The service here was excellent, and while some spaces can seem a bit tight (as is typical for older hotels), other areas such as the gym far surpass what you would expect to find. We had both of rooms upgraded to suites (a nice touch seeing as they were only obligated to upgrade me as a Royal Ambassador, not my colleague), which were very spacious and well appointed.
Best of all is the location. Just around the corner through the Frederiksplein park is a nice street full of good bars and restaurants. It's an easy walk through the city to the flower market or city center, yet you're just far enough away that you don't have the crowds/drunks that fill up the red light district at night.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review and even tips for other travellers to Amsterdam. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for the compliments. I will of course share them with the team. We all are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We picked this hotel based of the recommendation we read from Tripadvisor. It was a nice stay and we got a great service and experience. The room is extremely spacious , the amenities are excellent and it's very close to centrum where the real Amsterdam located. 150 m from the hotel there is a tram station . i strongly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to thank you for the compliments. I will of course share them with all staff members. We all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed just 3 nights at the Amstel Intercontinental, and wished it could have been more. The service was impeccable, and we couldn't have asked for a friendlier, more knowledgeable staff. As an older, historic hotel, it is beautifully maintained. The staff is proud, happy, and willing to do anything to make your stay a good one. Our room had a river view, and it was stunning indeed. It was luxurious, comfortable and welcoming. We spent a lot of time away from the hotel because we wanted to see the area, and every time we arrived back, we were greeted warmly and happily. There are many beautiful touches in the rooms as well as the common areas, and all beautifully done. Our stay was in January, but the flowers were stunning and creatively arranged. You cannot go wrong here, as this hotel staff works very hard to make it good for you. You cannot beat the location as it is central to many attractions. There is very easy transportation to and from the hotel from the airport, via Connexxion, and that service is very affordable, quick and easy to find at the airport. We plan to go back to this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received friendly welcoming service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#20 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, HotelsNL, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.