We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Hotel, room we had not adequate” 2 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, Amsterdam 1018 GX, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 340 hotels in Amsterdam
Pacifica, CA
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old Hotel, room we had not adequate”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is old and beautiful, the history is fantastic, location is great in Amsterdam.

It is nice to read all these reviews about 'large rooms', they must have paid a fortune. because the Executive room pre paid price was 444eu per night with a canal view. (ouch) The room we received was so small and not adequate even for a 3 night stay. There was absolutely NO drawers or shelves for anything to unpack. The closet was so small, and the hangars so big the door was not able to be closed, this was a challenge because the light will not turn off unless the door is closed. Our suitcases were blocking our walk way to the bathroom, the chair by the desk had to be moved into the little foyer, which blocked the door, which was a fire hazard and a safety issue if there was any evacuation necessary. The bed was incredibly saggy which ruined the beautiful comfort of the lovely sheets. The bathtub and shower were great, however it is not easy to find any electrical outlet in the bathroom, so I had to dry my hair near the desk, wall outlet.

When room service brought our meal, they brought a tray and since there is no table to sit around, eating on our laps was ridiculous, at a 5 star hotel, not even a rolling table?

The room had not been completely serviced there was an empty bottle of Scotch and realized the amenities were not restocked by the time we checked in. Additionally, we were charged for the replacement of these items, I checked the bill twice prior to check out and have them refund items that we did not use. The accounting for the room was also not done correctly so we had to (also) correct them on this. Everything worked out in the end, but for the price of these rooms and the 5 star rating, we were not impressed, at all.

I could have stayed at a Best Western or Holiday in and had a larger more comfortable room. Overall, this was a 3 star experience, I am sorry to say. Now, I can say, I stayed at the Amstel, and will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear guest ,

Thank you very much for your information on your stay. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that we did not succeed. Please accept our sincere apologies. We appreciate the feedback and we will discuss them with all departments involved to make sure that this will not happen again in the future. We will make the necessary adjustments. Please also contact us at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me. I thank you in advance for contacting us.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    275
    61
    31
    8
    11
See reviews for
53
157
33
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reigate
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

A romantic break to Amsterdam was ruined by the receptionist at this supposedly top Dutch hotel.

I booked the much more expensive executive "river view" room to spoil my wife with our stay in Amsterdam.
Also to mention this is low season with low occupancy in mid November

The receptionist allocated a room next to elevator on 1st floor with a "view" of the river blocked by roof of an extension room below us, and our room position on top op their club disco, which has bass drums booming into our room until very late.

I am a loyalty programme member of this hotel chain.

Reception could not have chosen to put us in a worst position in this hotel.

My question is "Why"

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your information on your stay in our hotel. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that you are not completely satisfied. We offer you our sincere apologies for the situation that has occurred and kindly ask you to inform us on situations like this during your stay in order to give us the opportunity to find a proper solution. However we appreciate your feedback and we have discussed the situation with our front desk. Whenever I can be of any service to you please contact me via amstel@ihg.com.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Very helpful staff particularly the Concierge staff who organised trips for us. The trips on the canals both in the day and the night time dinner cruise on the hotel boat were a highlight. Great restaurant. Very comfortable rooms. Particularly appreciated the espresso machine in our room. We were attending a Seminar in the hotel as well and the hotel did a great job. We can highly recommend. The provision of treats in the lobby was a nice touch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both the canal trips were a great success. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights after returning to Europe from Australia, and it was a lovely place to recover from Jetlag.
The rooms are just beautiful, I loved the toile wallpaper, and the bath was a joy, and it really did fill in less than 2 minutes.
The staff here were super helpful, and the room service orders came promptly and correct everytime.
The breakfast was delicious, and the view from the restaurant was stunning. I wish I'd had time to use the pool, which also looked devine.
A winner on all counts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experiences with us. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, I will share them with our staff members involved. It is a great pleasure to learn that your stay in Europe was a success, and that you recovered nicely from the jetlag. Again thank you for your nice compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Hopefully the next time there will be time to use the pool!

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in a large, quiet room overlooking a canal. Lovely room, tall ceiling, lovely bathroom. Excellent and very helpful concierge. .Excellent breakfast in the hotel. Dinner in the hotel bistro was mediocre. Great location. Would recommend this hotel without any qualifications.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For Amsterdam one can not beat this location, rooms, staff at this hotel. Definitely a
recommended experience, especially with Amsterdam's old Architecture meaning such small rooms in many other Amsterdam Centre hotels.

From here just 10min by tram to Leidseplein, or 10minutes Metro to Central Station, but so nice and quiet as away from noisy night time party crowds, yet you are not isolated.

Another great stay once again, but different room type this time, a Penthouse Suite, over 2 floor levels to highest room in hotel, kind of 5th Floor attic space, with interesting balcony area to stand and look around outside which provides a really great view.

Living room, TV, work desk, soda, minibar on 4th floor, with w+c room, stairs to 5th floor bedroom and bathroom, usual bath and separate rainfall shower room, sofa, chairs, table, and 'hidden' flatscreen TV at foot of the bed.
Although slightly bigger than 2-room Exec Suite I usually stay in, on balance due to 2-floor layout, stairs, on balance I like the convenience of my usual single floor normal Exec Suite.

If you have not stayed recently, a nice new bar opened in April 2013 on ground floor, bar is now closing 1am instead of midnight which is better on weekends. Still have brasserie on lower floor for nice food + beers, ground floor tearoom/lounge, and outside terrace running alongside the Amstel river. On lower ground is also a nice fitness facilitiy and pool.

Usual great, polite helpful staff, as always a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for River View side Room (30euro or so) over City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. We all are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. It was a great pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel and it is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our different facilities. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is realy something special and all your expectations will be fullfilled for sure!!! When we arrived the bellboy greeted us friendly and took immediately care of our luggage and showed us were to check in. During the check in a coffeebreak in the lobby took place and it was very loud but the reception handled that. The rooms are beautiful and everywhere you will see that they keep an eye on the detail. The Spa area is located on the river area and provides you beautiful views its fully equiped and the staff takes care about you.
Don´t miss the breakfast! The food is freshly prepared and the service is fast and efficient. Breakfast is served in the la rive restaurant with canal view! The Amstel brasserie is also worth a visit excellent service and the food is awesome! Also they have a new bar - The A-Bar which is highly recommended very intreresting cocktail creations and a great assortment of whiskey!
This hotel is outstanding and you should not miss to visit this Grand Hotel it will be a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received attentive service. Our staff takes great pride in this and I will pass your compliments on to them. Next time you decide to stay in Amsterdam please inform me through Amstel@ihg.com. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel
Intercontinental Amsterdam
Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, Amsterdam 1018 GX, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#16 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, HotelsNL, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.