We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A grand hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A grand hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Very helpful staff particularly the Concierge staff who organised trips for us. The trips on the canals both in the day and the night time dinner cruise on the hotel boat were a highlight. Great restaurant. Very comfortable rooms. Particularly appreciated the espresso machine in our room. We were attending a Seminar in the hotel as well and the hotel did a great job. We can highly recommend. The provision of treats in the lobby was a nice touch.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that both the canal trips were a great success. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    69
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
63
190
33
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights after returning to Europe from Australia, and it was a lovely place to recover from Jetlag.
The rooms are just beautiful, I loved the toile wallpaper, and the bath was a joy, and it really did fill in less than 2 minutes.
The staff here were super helpful, and the room service orders came promptly and correct everytime.
The breakfast was delicious, and the view from the restaurant was stunning. I wish I'd had time to use the pool, which also looked devine.
A winner on all counts.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took the time to share your experiences with us. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, I will share them with our staff members involved. It is a great pleasure to learn that your stay in Europe was a success, and that you recovered nicely from the jetlag. Again thank you for your nice compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. Hopefully the next time there will be time to use the pool!

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed in a large, quiet room overlooking a canal. Lovely room, tall ceiling, lovely bathroom. Excellent and very helpful concierge. .Excellent breakfast in the hotel. Dinner in the hotel bistro was mediocre. Great location. Would recommend this hotel without any qualifications.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved your room. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service especially from the Concierge. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

For Amsterdam one can not beat this location, rooms, staff at this hotel. Definitely a
recommended experience, especially with Amsterdam's old Architecture meaning such small rooms in many other Amsterdam Centre hotels.

From here just 10min by tram to Leidseplein, or 10minutes Metro to Central Station, but so nice and quiet as away from noisy night time party crowds, yet you are not isolated.

Another great stay once again, but different room type this time, a Penthouse Suite, over 2 floor levels to highest room in hotel, kind of 5th Floor attic space, with interesting balcony area to stand and look around outside which provides a really great view.

Living room, TV, work desk, soda, minibar on 4th floor, with w+c room, stairs to 5th floor bedroom and bathroom, usual bath and separate rainfall shower room, sofa, chairs, table, and 'hidden' flatscreen TV at foot of the bed.
Although slightly bigger than 2-room Exec Suite I usually stay in, on balance due to 2-floor layout, stairs, on balance I like the convenience of my usual single floor normal Exec Suite.

If you have not stayed recently, a nice new bar opened in April 2013 on ground floor, bar is now closing 1am instead of midnight which is better on weekends. Still have brasserie on lower floor for nice food + beers, ground floor tearoom/lounge, and outside terrace running alongside the Amstel river. On lower ground is also a nice fitness facilitiy and pool.

Usual great, polite helpful staff, as always a very comfortable and enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for River View side Room (30euro or so) over City view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear guest,

My staff is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. We all are very pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay. It was a great pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel and it is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed our different facilities. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

This hotel is realy something special and all your expectations will be fullfilled for sure!!! When we arrived the bellboy greeted us friendly and took immediately care of our luggage and showed us were to check in. During the check in a coffeebreak in the lobby took place and it was very loud but the reception handled that. The rooms are beautiful and everywhere you will see that they keep an eye on the detail. The Spa area is located on the river area and provides you beautiful views its fully equiped and the staff takes care about you.
Don´t miss the breakfast! The food is freshly prepared and the service is fast and efficient. Breakfast is served in the la rive restaurant with canal view! The Amstel brasserie is also worth a visit excellent service and the food is awesome! Also they have a new bar - The A-Bar which is highly recommended very intreresting cocktail creations and a great assortment of whiskey!
This hotel is outstanding and you should not miss to visit this Grand Hotel it will be a lifetime experience!

Room Tip: River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received attentive service. Our staff takes great pride in this and I will pass your compliments on to them. Next time you decide to stay in Amsterdam please inform me through Amstel@ihg.com. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

The hotel is quite gloriously situated on the banks of the main Amsterdam Canal, whose name espcapes me, perhaps a little far from the museums, if this your particular enthusiasm, for comfort but one really should not be too picky. The rooms are quite glorious, the beds reach a new superhuman level of comfort and the staff have that very Dutch quality of treating you as a member of Planet Earth without ever straying into too intimate a relationship. Breakfast is marvellous, the swimming pool breathtaking and the entrance hall a throwback to the ancien siecle. As General Macarthur pointed out, 'I'll be back'.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments, it is a great pleasure to learn that your stay in Amsterdam was a great success. Delivering high standard service is something our staff takes great pride in and I will definitely pass your compliments on to them. I would be delighted to welcome you again in our hotel on the banks of the Amstel. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My first surprise was the upgrade upon my arrival. The room was big and well appointed. I had a view of the canal. I loved the free mini bar, the large bathroom with separate shower, the robes, the friendly service of the staff. I had my meals in the little bar cafe, perfect for a lone traveller. They made me feel very welcome. The location is right in the middle of the tourist travel areas,walked to the canal boats, the hop off-hop on bus, the local coffee shop, and central station. The staff was very accommodating and interested in my well being. I am glad I found and stayed at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is a great pleasure to learn that you had a truly remarkable stay with us and that you feel you received attentive service. I will share your nice compliments with our staff members. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Otel, Venere, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.