We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #26 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A lovely experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My first surprise was the upgrade upon my arrival. The room was big and well appointed. I had a view of the canal. I loved the free mini bar, the large bathroom with separate shower, the robes, the friendly service of the staff. I had my meals in the little bar cafe, perfect for a lone traveller. They made me feel very welcome. The location is right in the middle of the tourist travel areas,walked to the canal boats, the hop off-hop on bus, the local coffee shop, and central station. The staff was very accommodating and interested in my well being. I am glad I found and stayed at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences with us. It is a great pleasure to learn that you had a truly remarkable stay with us and that you feel you received attentive service. I will share your nice compliments with our staff members. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

456 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    69
    33
    9
    13
See reviews for
63
190
33
92
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Amstel is one of the best hotels in Amsterdam and Europe for a reason. They know service like no other. From Anita Bos the GM all the way down to the Housekeeping staff this property is run like a true world class hotel should be run. The guest is always right! Place this world class customer service in a truly grand historic building on the banks of the Amstel River and you have and oasis and for this guest home away from home.

Room Tip: Top floor corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear guest,

My entire team is joining me to thank you very much for your nice compliments and review on the hotel. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received high standard service. It’s something we take great pride in. We all are looking forward to welcome you back in your home away from home. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

This hotel is a true gem! Fabulous setting, excellence fro start to finish - from greeting, check in rooms, dining, meeting rooms, bar, setting, to check out. A short walk from the centre is not much of a price to pay for this lovely setting on the river. The services for meetings and guests were world class. This hotel may be old but it's standards and fixtures are up to date. The new bar area is very contemporary and comfortable.

Room Tip: The sound proof in in this hotel was outstanding. I never heard any outside noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you love the setting of the hotel. We are very proud of our new bar area and are pleased to learn that our guests share this experience. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in, I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Hessen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam is truly my favorite place to stay at during my regular visits to A'dam. The Amstel hotel is a classic hotel on the banks of the Amstel river, being the only classic and 'royal' hotel left in Amsterdam. This hotel features all you need during a weekend break away in Amsterdam or even when you are traveling on business. The Health Club has the perfect scene and facilities to relax and recover after a long day of walking through the city. Also the fitness center is fully equipped with all that you wish for. Once you finished a good work-out you can relax in the steam bath or sauna.
We all know Amsterdam has lots of great restaurants and bars, but you might fancy grabbing a cocktail in the hotel bar. The new bar is a total added value to the hotel and the staff is very attentive. The drinks are made with local products and with flowers/spices and greens grown on the terraces of this hotel. Then there is the opportunity to enjoy the best Afternoon Tea of the Netherlands in the Lounge with great viewings over the Amstel River, or snap some dinner in the informal Brasserie. One of the highlights is La Rive, the only Restaurant in Amsterdam being in the top 10 Restaurants in the Netherlands. All in all, a hotel with great amenities and facilities, a must to stay at when coming to Amsterdam. The staff is lovely and very welcoming, from Concierge to Reception and Housekeeping to Security.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

We highly appreciate that you took the time to share you experiences with us. Thank you so much for the nice compliments. We are happy to learn that you experienced the different facilities throughout the hotel and that you enjoyed them. It is our pleasure to make your stay in Amsterdam each time a memorable one. We are really proud of our new A bar, and it is a great pleasure to learn that you share this feeling. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service, it is something our staff takes great pride in and I will pass your compliments on to them. Again thank you for your nice compliments and we hope we may welcome you back in Amsterdam.
In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The hotel has been redone and is certainly in the modern age but with old world charm. The front desk is hit or miss, there were some folks who were outstanding and some who were cold and indifferent. The room was large and well appointed but the mattresses needs replacement desperately. The view of the river was outstanding. The Brasserie was good but somehow whenever you walk in, the staff informs you that there may or may not be a table available, even if almost every table is empty. The concierge was very helpful with cars and resturant reservations but be careful if you seek out a guide of the city, we ended up working with a very nice man who was basically a driver, limited information on the city or it's history. The best group was room service, ordered breakfast everyday and delivery took less then 10 minutes, was hot and perfectly presented. Well done. The Spa was excellent and the massage was outstanding.

Room Tip: Get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your information on your stay in our hotel. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we regret that not every team member did succeed. We will discuss your comment with our front desk staff. Also our concierge will have a good look into the guides we advise to our guests.
We kindly ask you to contact us at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. It would be great if you could provide us with the room number so we can check and replace the mattresses This would be very much appreciated by me. We all hope we may welcome you back in Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suwanee, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I want to sincerely thank the entire staff at the Intercontinental Amsterdam Hotel for a truly amazing anniversary stay. The customer service and attention was nothing short of phenomenal!

Upon arrival to the hotel we were greeted by a fantastic bell staff who immediately handled our luggage. Then stepping into the hotel, my wife and I were in awe of the beautiful entry and lobby. Quickly we were met by the front desk/reception who already knew us by our names. Check-in was a pleasure as we sat at the desk and talked about our journey. From there the concierge met with us and provided outstanding recommendations on shopping and made dinner reservations for us. When brought to our hotel room, we were overwhelmed by the room upgrade we were given that was fit for a King and Queen. There was fruit, drinks, welcome letter, etc…. that even more made our visit very personalized. We had champagne in the lounge area (behind the lobby) and lunch overlooking the canal downstairs with friends, and everything was perfect!

What separated this visit from the many hotels I stay at was the pure beauty of the hotel and the exceptional customer service and personalized attention. In MBA classes about customer service, they typically use Harvard Business Review examples of the Ritz Carlton. I can tell you from my many stays at the Ritz, that the Intercontinental Amsterdam Staff level of service is even better. Perhaps they should write a “new book” on providing excellent service!

I want to point out to the readers that I’m in many travel programs with several different hotels. I highly recommend you join the Intercontinental Ambassador Program prior to your visit as I’m sure you will find it well worth the membership fee.

To the entire Intercontinental Amsterdam Hotel Staff, I say “thank you, thank you, thank you”!!! You made our 28th Wedding Anniversary a lifetime fantastic memorable stay! My wife and I can't wait to return!

Room Tip: I recommend you join the Ambassador Program and get your upgrade to a room overlooking the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your exceptional nice compliments. We are delighted that our guests appreciate our delivered service so much, that they even write such a lovely review about our hotel. It is a great pleasure to learn that we could help to make your 28th Wedding Anniversary a memorable one. We all hope we may welcome you back for your 29th Anniversary next year. I will share your compliments with our team, delivering personalized and attentive service is something they take great pride in. Again thank you for your compliments and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have the joy to stay at The Amstel again for the fourth time.
As we already know what a great hotel this is, we even more looking forward to our stay again.

We can't wait to explore the new bar and the renovated Spa, wich is always great to great to relax after a long day of sightseeing Amsterdam.
As we are going to stay here on jan 2 for two nights, what a great way to start 2014!

See you in a few months time.

Kind regards,
Tonny van Zelm

Room Tip: We upgraded to a junior suite, these suites are big and have a great view on the Amstel river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your nice compliments. It is a great pleasure to learn that you will return to the hotel. If we can be of any service to you for you upcoming stay, or anything we need to be aware of, please let us know through amstel@ihg.com. We are delighted to welcome you again in the hotel and will roll out the red carpet for you with much pleasure, to make your start of 2014 a perfect one. Thank you again and we are all looking forward to welcome you again on the 2nd of January.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#11 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#15 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#18 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Despegar.com, Expedia, Reservation Counter, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.