We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #28 of 345 hotels in Amsterdam
Ruthin, Wales uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Surprise Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for the weekend organised by my daughters for my birthday. The hotel was everything you
could wish for. The rooms were large with nice furnishing, and the bathroom was superb and big. We found the staff very friendly and helpful and the bartender very knowledgeable when it came to choosing what gin to drink. We didn't eat at the hotel, only had snacks before venturing out, but we did use the spa. I had a fabulous massage, and drinks and fruit were available, so you could help yourself. A weekend to remember in a lovely old hotel, well located for visiting the sights. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to visit Amsterdam.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to put such a nice review of our hotel on tripadvisor. I am pleased to learn that your birthday was a great success and that you enjoyed being in Amsterdam. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Thank you again for your nice compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    311
    67
    32
    9
    13
See reviews for
61
181
33
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had an amazing weekend stay in this very beautiful hotel. Magnificent entrance/reception with a grand staircase. The staff were absolutely brilliant from arrival to departure, nothing being too much trouble.

Chardonnay and Keshia took really good care of us at breakfast. Lovely French toast and bacon, Eggs Benedict also recommended. The rooms are spacious by European standards with all the amenities you would expect from an Intercontinental. We loved the decor in our by.pink room and there were lots of special little touches throughout the hotel that we appreciated. Spent some time on the terrace basking in the sunshine and watching boats pass by, very relaxing.

We didn't have time to utilise the spa which was unfortunate. The hotel is within walking distance of a lot of the sights and attractions.

Highly recommended, very special hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experiences with us. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the decor from the hotel. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, we will share them with our staff members involved. We are all looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam, hopefully you will have more time so you can also experience our spa!

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

A couple of days to revisit Amsterdam and a stay in the "Amstel" Hotel. Rooms top quality but the staff were even better. Nothing was any trouble and the trip on the Hotel boat with Captain Bart was well worth the experience. Will return again without a doubt. One of the best Intercontinental Hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooking the river is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your nice review on our hotel. We really appreciate your effort. I will pass your compliments through to our staff, providing high standard service is something we really take pride in. Also good to hear that you enjoyed your boat trip, in my opinion, it is one of the best ways to explore Amsterdam. Thank you again for you compliments and we are all looking forward to welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Kind regards,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

What a gorgeous hotel! Anyone who isn't taken aback by the fantastic interior architecture is jaded indeed. Truly glorious. Does the place need some TLC - yes. In out suite, the wallpaper was lifting on the bed well and the carpeting looked about a year away from needing to be changed. It's a huge hotel and I'm sure it must take a lot to keep up with the maintenance. But our room was probably double the size of the room we came from in Barcelona (in an equally impressive hotel) and I have to say, I loved having so much more space. La Rive and the Brasserie we spectacular. I loved the juxtaposition of the high modern bar against the gracious 19th century hotel! I would re-visit in a minute.

Room Tip: If you can afford it. get a room overlooking the canal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel, we really appreciate it. It is a great pleasure to learn that you enjoyed a truly remarkable stay. I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed the space of our rooms, it is something we are really proud of. With our new A bar we indeed have tried to give a modern touch to the hotel, the grand Dutch residence of Amsterdam. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam. In the meantime please let me know whenever we can be of any service to you.

Sincerely,
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The InterContinental Amstel is a beautiful hotel. We have stayed at some of the finest hotels and resorts around the world and the Amstel fell short of our expectations for a hotel with the InterContinental brand name. We emailed the hotel to inform them that we would be arriving very early - understanding that there may not be a room ready but requesting any information in advance that may be helpful. We never had a reply. When we arrived we were told our room was not available - and the only option was another room over 200 euros more expensive. We understood that our room may not be ready but we were frustrated that no one every replied to us. The room was very nice, charming and large. However, the bowl of fruit was molded and remained unchanged for two days. I discovered the mold AFTER eating a piece of molded fruit. The night before we left we arrived at one of the bars. We were told it was not serving food but the bartender kindly escorted us to the other side of the hotel and said he would have a colleague serve us. We waited several minutes and when we were finally greeted the young man told us that food was not being served. We explained that the other bartender brought us there so that we could eat, saying that food was available at that location. We weren't upset - just hungry. He kindly took the initiative to assist us and informed us after taking drink orders that another colleague would take our food order. The other colleague never showed up (she was working the bar inside and was irritated and stated that "we don't serve food here now"). The second young man that assisted us and offered a food menu even though the section was no longer serving and he was very kind - and apologized profusely that the female bar attendant never showed up to take our order. Our evening ended well and the young man comped our first drinks. This was not something we asked for but it was a very nice gesture. On a good note, Minori in the spa/fitness facility was wonderful - she had impeccable service skills that were appreciated. All in all, the staff was very kind. The problem seemed to be that the entire staff didn't seem to share the same level of customer service or concern. This was noted in our different staff interactions. Considering the cost of our stay we felt that the value was certainly not there. Sad - because the hotel is beautiful and in a beautiful location.

Room Tip: Rooms are decorated in a more classical style, antiques. If you want a contemporary feel hotel this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your tripadvisor review on your stay. Our goal is to deliver the perfect service and we all very much regret that we did not succeed. I offer you my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.
We appreciate your feedback and will discuss them with all departments involved to make sure that this will not happen again in the future. Please also contact me at Amstel@ihg.com so we can discuss any additional details regarding your stay. This would be very much appreciated by me. Finally Midori thanks you for your nice compliment. I hope we will be in contact soon.
Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Overall, this is probably the best hotel we have ever stayed in.
The hotel occupies a great location on the banks of the river. With tram and metro stops within 100 yards there is easy access to the main tourist areas if you don't want a 15-20 minute walk.
The moment we walked in we were checked in very promptly by the very friendly receptionist. We were offered a glass of wine and then escorted to our fabulous room by the same lady. The quality of the bedroom and bathroom was superb. The swimming pool,health club etc is very nice and leads onto a lovely sun terrace with sun beds and complimentary tea , coffee, newspapers etc
Every member of staff was very friendly,helpful and professional. They all offered excellent service without being over bearing.
I am a platinum points holder so we were upgraded and probably wouldn't have stayed in an expensive hotel such as this without the benefit of the points. The only slight negative that I would comment on is the quality of food in the brasserie for the price charged. The main course which cost 27 euros, consisted of a fairly small piece of luke warm cod on some peppers and tomato. A bottle of water with the meal cost 8.50 euros. This comment with regards to the food did not detract from the overall enjoyment of our stay and would certainly love to return in the future.

Room Tip: Try and upgrade to a river view room as the outlook is fabulous and very sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. It is a great pleasure to read that enjoyed your stay with us. Also it is wonderful that you feel you received attentive service. It’s something our staff takes great pride in. I will pass your compliments on to them. Next time you decide to stay in Amsterdam please inform me through Amstel@ihg.com. It will be my pleasure to arrange a room with a view on the Amstel River for you. Again thank you for your compliments and we all hope we may welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riyadh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Splendid experience. The service is just perfect, the staff is courteous and very professional. The hotel is splendid, and the lounge with the terrasse is just great, We had a very nice drink on the terrasse along the river.. The hotel is also very well located, 10 mn walking distance from the city center...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anita b, General Manager at InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate the fact that you took time to share your experiences with us. Thank you very much for your nice compliments, we will share them with our staff members involved. We are pleased to learn that your visit was a succes. Thank you again and we all are looking forward to welcome you back in Amsterdam.

Sincerely
Anita Bos
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam

Address: Professor Tulpplein 1, 1018 GX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#8 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#12 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#19 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#31 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since the day the doors opened in 1867, InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam has been revered the world over for its palatial grandeur and residential warmth. Located where the financial, cultural and shopping districts converge, the hotel is a short walk from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, Spiegelkwartier and the Royal Carré Theatre. The Anne Frank House and the 14th-century Begijnhof are easy to reach by public transport or taxi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Amstel Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam
Intercontinental Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Amstel Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.